10 days self drive in Hokkaido

Victor68

We went 2nd week of Dec for 2 weeks. Quite a bit of snow on daily basis and was pretty crazy a few days. On the expressway around Sapporo the snow is clear, but as you go north it gets very snowed in.

Few times around traffic lights it got sketchy because the car would just slide on braking and had to blow through orange/red light to be safe (ironically).

We got a CH-R for 2 adults one baby. The AWD isn't that important, just get a car with snow tyres (all rentals are fitted with snow tyres at that time). Don't need chains if you have snow tyres. The only time we 'utilised' the AWD action was when the snow was slushy in an empty carpark and I decided to have fun and spin around a bit.

I've driven in cold climates a lot and AWD/4WD is overrated compared to snow tyres. AWD/4WD only helps 10% of the time. 50% of grip is the snow tyres and 40% is wise and intelligent driving (ie driving to the conditions). For example, don't slam on the brakes, leave lots of space between cars, accelerate gradually, if oversteering use accelerator and steering (not brake) to regain control.

Don't know about Hokkaido but the use of snow chain is compulsory in many snowy countries when conditions are bad. I was stopped and forced to belt up once and I had snow tires and was driving a 4x4.

Not slamming/ using the brake in icy condition is common sense for you but for newbies from the equator, it is not a natural reaction and usually in emergency, your natural/ normal instinct takes over.

Yes, winter tyre should have metal teeth that will bite into the icy snow.

A AWD car is always a bonus.

Depends on country as studded snow tyres are illegal in many countries. They provide better grip, but destroy the road surface.

The tyres I had weren't studded.

As you sat, AWD or 4WD is good. But I think the general population think that it's the saviour of everything snowy. Reality is good driving and the right tyres is the biggest difference.

Don't know about Hokkaido but the use of snow chain is compulsory in many snowy countries when conditions are bad. I was stopped and forced to belt up once and I had snow tires and was driving a 4x4.

Not slamming/ using the brake in icy condition is common sense for you but for newbies from the equator, it is not a natural reaction and usually in emergency, your natural/ normal instinct takes over.

Would be interesting to know what country that is that requires snow chains and snow tyres.

Sorry for the analogy (it's the best I can think of). But based on my experience, doing that is like putting two condoms on at the same time. It might seem safer by doubling up, but in reality it's not.

In countries like New Zealand (where I spent several years driving) it's uncommon to have winter tyres, so they mandate chains in certain areas and conditions. So there is a rule that you must put on chains. No one actually checks the type of tyre you have, because "that's the rule".

Wow chim!

thanks all for the tips n insights!

i guess it would be safe to assume the hokkaido car rentals will provide the snow tyres being a snowy region!

Would be interesting to know what country that is that requires snow chains and snow tyres.

Sorry for the analogy (it's the best I can think of). But based on my experience, doing that is like putting two condoms on at the same time. It might seem safer by doubling up, but in reality it's not.

In countries like New Zealand (where I spent several years driving) it's uncommon to have winter tyres, so they mandate chains in certain areas and conditions. So there is a rule that you must put on chains. No one actually checks the type of tyre you have, because "that's the rule".

Just google snow chain and California or Europe (Switzerland, Austria, etc). The below is a common sign in California mountain country.

post-24635-0-01140200-1548575465.gif

Edited by Voodooman

Wow chim!

thanks all for the tips n insights!

i guess it would be safe to assume the hokkaido car rentals will provide the snow tyres being a snowy region!

Yes. Pretty much default snow tyres by December. AWD are pretty much standard too.

Hokkaido is huge so check the local weather and road condition constantly. Early December weather can change faster than my Grandmother (according to my BMT sergeant).

https://www.jma.go.jp/en/yoho/ - Japan weather dudes

http://northern-road.jp/navi/eng/ - Hokkaido road info

Don’t try to be too ambitious with the driving distance. Snow and ice can seriously slow u down. Also the food and stuffs along the way. Road closure are common in winter, have a Plan B. Stick to the major roads, they are usually open.

Edited by The_Bear

This year they forecast heavy snowfall in Hokkaido, due to large number of 雪虫 (snow bugs), heavy rainfall and good harvest of seafood.

But too bad can't travel due to Covid. Such is life..

• Sad 2

7 minutes ago, Weez911 said:

This year they forecast heavy snowfall in Hokkaido, due to large number of 雪虫 (snow bugs), heavy rainfall and good harvest of seafood.

Yeah forget Hong Kong

Let have a travel bubble with Hokkaido.

Cannot go Tokyo also never mind.

:grin:

14 minutes ago, Weez911 said:

😭😭😭 Can't go this year! 

• Sad 2

2 hours ago, Jamesc said:

Yeah forget Hong Kong

Let have a travel bubble with Hokkaido.

Cannot go Tokyo also never mind.

:grin:

👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍

On 11/18/2020 at 7:00 PM, Weez911 said:

It's recovery year for the environment lor...

5 minutes ago, teomingern said:

It's recovery year for the environment lor...

yeah ... i think this winter ... Hokkaido must be damn beautiful ... tip top condition with no tourist sabotage ... 

This is a very good plan. You must see the changing of the leaves in Autumn. Its like the forest is on fire with red and gold and orange leave. One of my favourite seasons.

image.png.dfa7b0600a48b9b49b8a175d99585755.png

Can use 2020 as a guide to the dates in 2021 when leaves change colour.

image.thumb.png.ae3fdd2e7719a7f0ce12e49be5124274.pngUse 2020 as a guide for 2021 on when the 

I would also use bullet trains to travel within Japan but if going from South to North then I would fly into Hokkaido.

Japan South to North is really far and Hokkaido have 12 airports.

The other favourite season is winter in Hokkaido. Hokkaido in Winter is simply spectacular.

Must go places in Hokk. One of the most romantic night views is Hakodate. Leave the MIL in the hotel to baby sit kids and take the wife for a romantic night out.

image.png.a01830263fc8369a297812f6861e740b.png

Day time take the kids to the star shape Fort

image.png.c525a9db4fa5d8cc7c204412a1e0c7c8.png

Go for the freshest seafood bowl

image.png.08e2b85348f6aa38649f49ed3d2e0816.png

Nice lunch of seafood bowl

image.png.33967242df5f56c239d9e98da1ea5ec2.png

Go shopping in their own Zouk warehouses. Kanemori Red Brick Warehouse 

image.thumb.png.df8be79891a939dbacc86676f9e9077e.png

Walk around their Marina Bay

image.thumb.png.5fc397a9f589080dd62f87812b3dbf29.png

Another must visit place is Otaru

image.thumb.png.4529f679936772778f0220340f919499.png

image.png.888b1ca4367667788c08ea27bcd6c9b3.png

If you like cheezy cakes they have great cheezy cakes there

image.png.fa28da55da0d1e5e492dfceba285ee31.png

Can buy at the tao place, where nice clothes there as the tao people are very atas.

image.png.73de0e0e23c5feda9d3f12ba0fccdb8f.png 

At night with snow walk along the canal sibei lomantic.

image.png.777cc37a1274dda57741ad5a80567a61.png

image.png.cf898d9ddc72e13ce3c0edad70cff1a9.png

image.png.f28e7c77f68fa194abb1f8c117748993.png

The countryside when it is snow covered is so different then during summer.

Summer in Biei

image.png.0bb2ce1e60bd247e598cf1c44fe594c6.png

Winter in Biei

image.thumb.png.9f76193c41f0307a3931cc476e1bbc06.png

Blue pond in Biei in summer

image.png.a2da4c0a518da09ac328d97216373bf4.png

In winter

image.png.ab25683b5409209e885599f68c00805b.png

image.png.ff2d6a41cf9e857ad2d8ef392c2f65b2.png

If you have an MIL from Hell you can take her home to the Akan national park with sulphur stinking the whole place up.

Best place to leave MIL and forget to pack her into the car.

image.png.9761d54bb407c1d8031a26e5a1cb82c6.png

Also must take MIL to see her relatives.

image.png.ab9f471cbf377aff4d29310c6d9d047b.png

image.png.bafe83be8cdb4992cf58b4b39c0049e0.png

image.thumb.png.2de589e90cbd0a9f59cf2aeb1e3a2911.png

Few other place I like in Japan

Must Go to SHIRAKAWA-GO

image.thumb.png.f3d107c1cce13e9c65b39abb112647cb.png

Osaka

image.thumb.png.db82eca6287888fbe9435100fc7f800b.png

Osaka is the cheapest place to stuff the kids with all the things they love.

image.thumb.png.116afcdbfb7dc971dfad02333a34e493.png