10 days self drive in Hokkaido

Victor68

Did a farm stay in Biei in a potato farm.

image.png.d4d3615cc931db93d2d9c88e2138df64.png

Every day they gave us potato to eat but it was always potato salad.

Why no fries and chips and wedges and rosti?

Actually the food was very good, the chef used to work in a 5 star hotel

and the rice they serve was the best in Japan. The potato farmer good friend grow very good rice that is not sold in shops and he buys it from him. I had 2 bowls of rice every meal.

But everyday it was European food and no Japanese food. Poatao farm what!

image.png.b0c54b290ab24096088aaf322bf1def0.png

image.thumb.png.d19ae59506e63522ad1b37b19f322c32.png

Day time they do cross country skiing tours.

image.png.c644f3d1b41a7cea763a904b388d7559.png

Wah James... gian already... saliva dripping...

Thank you so much!

Anyway hor... my wife loves beef... those beef meals... what's the damage? Can give rough estimates for the food?

Yakitori = ?

Ramen = ?

Donburi = ?

Hotpot = ?

I going one month lar... need to budget a bit... was hoping to eat their fantastic local inexpensive food...

Last time I was in Hokkaido in June 2015... I can't read or speak any Japanese... I remember driving into one city train station like 2pm... then can't find food... cos don't know which shop sell food... no open doors... everything closed... until I stumbled onto a shop that seemed to sell food... walk in then realise sell yakitori or something... hahaha... just look at pictures and order lor... also don't know how much... piangz... when the bill came, a bit stress... but it was not too bad...

The flaming red forest is incredible... that's on my to do list immediately... but not sure timing can or not... I am very restricted... only can go late Nov to late Dec.. maybe can stretch into first week of Jan... that ice floes thing... you mean really can step into the sea and step on the ice ah? Fall into the sea how? I very excited to try man...

I must really get all the advice from you... including renting cars... was initially thinking of using JR rentals cos buy JR bullet train pass I think got some discount is it?

Ramen 600 - 900

image.png.b145544bfbc2d06d9a35124909ef70c8.png

Donburi 700 - 1000

image.png.42ec7bd55f4447561ca3e83e6bbe93c0.png

Shabu shabu 2200 - 3800 yen depending on grade of beef

image.png.8c5c0b367cc14b563c554494407070e2.png

I went to a company dinner shabu shabu and it was US$ 100 

Of course they used me as an excuse because the local staff want to eat in the high end restaurant as said must take guest there.

The following month two of my staff went for training and they took them to the same restaurant and both are buddhist that cannot eat beef.

:grin:

Japan also got alaskan crab buffet and that's like $80 a person

image.thumb.png.756415f87796eaf72abb317d1dec1502.png

On 1/15/2021 at 7:22 PM, teomingern said:

Wah James... gian already... saliva dripping...

Thank you so much!

Anyway hor... my wife loves beef... those beef meals... what's the damage? Can give rough estimates for the food?

Yakitori = ?

Ramen = ?

Donburi = ?

Hotpot = ?

I going one month lar... need to budget a bit... was hoping to eat their fantastic local inexpensive food...

Last time I was in Hokkaido in June 2015... I can't read or speak any Japanese... I remember driving into one city train station like 2pm... then can't find food... cos don't know which shop sell food... no open doors... everything closed... until I stumbled onto a shop that seemed to sell food... walk in then realise sell yakitori or something... hahaha... just look at pictures and order lor... also don't know how much... piangz... when the bill came, a bit stress... but it was not too bad...

The flaming red forest is incredible... that's on my to do list immediately... but not sure timing can or not... I am very restricted... only can go late Nov to late Dec.. maybe can stretch into first week of Jan... that ice floes thing... you mean really can step into the sea and step on the ice ah? Fall into the sea how? I very excited to try man...

I must really get all the advice from you... including renting cars... was initially thinking of using JR rentals cos buy JR bullet train pass I think got some discount is it?

Fall into the sea won't drown one.

It happened to my MIL and to my disappointment till today she is still around.

:grin:

image.png.f1c584d7565cc2fc3f91fde4f9fd89c4.png

image.png.3eece3dcb880c6d2744794de6a285c64.png

image.png.194d47a47cfe49e08860feae8cf19d76.png

The worse that could happen is forget to pick up MIL and the boat goes off.

But that didn't happen too as the Japanese count very properly

even thought I keep walking back and forth on the boat hoping they would count me twice.

Feeding kids can be very cheap in Japan.

Feed them all the cheap things so they adults can tuck into the expensive things.

Can take the kids to a raman restaurant and get them a ramen for 650 - 700 yen

and ramen shops allow a second helping of noodles and soup with each bowl of raman free.

2 bowls of hot steaming noodles and the kids will be stuffed.

Take them for dinner at about 6 and them let them digest and then take them for an ice cream at about 8 pm and by 9 pm they would have been knocked out in the hotel.

Ramen 700 yen

image.thumb.png.ab72c0979f44139ab7eb16d6feb8360d.png

Ice cream 300 yen and 1000 yen and the kids will be very full.

image.thumb.png.503f15d911af3a258d8649669ed31824.png

Breakfast book the hotels with the buffet breakfast and stuff the kids until they are bloated.

When no one is looking get the MIL to stuff all the break rolls with ham or eggs into her handbag.

image.png.ff48fab6da1904b8523ada54ae631fa8.png

image.png.93d45cbd946e1203e762b6b3e8f8f212.png

image.png.679243378609627506b5763cc899c828.png

image.png.a0f723e379e06a4ee377d82f3f5894e5.png

image.png.c45f4583808c74c36bfcfc368d701042.png

Breakfast book the hotels with the buffet breakfast and stuff the kids until they are bloated.

When no one is looking get the MIL to stuff all the break rolls with ham or eggs into her handbag.

Look at that innocent face and notice the big handbag

That's not the one with all the food in it. The real one is under the table with all the tubbleware containers and the very useful lock and load.

image.png.18c7bdf39ed0d3b1d28c37bcbab93a15.png

Then for lunch just stuff the kids with street food.

All that flour and given the lots of water to drink after them the kids will just ballon up

image.thumb.png.d34059d20c40f9602369d7b0bb3c1e61.png

Cheap and very filling.

Inside is fried soba noodles. An over dose of carbos.

Keep the kids going all day.

image.png.d4e147e09f85d142a1d8f05890456879.png

Take the kids to those cheap carosel sushi restaurant 

and love see the plates of food go round and round.

image.png.1e467431482ac74889b4439be6883398.png

And when the kids are fast asleep back in the hotel take the wife out for the premium hand rolled stuff.

I went to a one star michelin sushi restaurant in Hokk 12 piceces for S$30 or S$35 per person.

No carosel so the kids wouldn't enjoy it. They make it and serve you and the wife one sushi at a time.

The taste is totally different to the carosel restaurants.

Looks the same but taste different

image.png.a13123527f7bdbd1dbe6131a73af0a21.png

image.png.7b41bb56f3cbfaf70cccd8bc3c4a2fe3.png

image.png.1f7efadb1c03b7040ec456e8ddeb014e.png

image.thumb.png.1c6007e1132efc3038b109f3e6124adf.png

image.png.fb49da9dc9fb8244133ca44f90a75c43.png

image.thumb.png.132037283b40a41e95aacd34c8e1f165.png

image.png

One of the things the kids love is potato croquettes

Cheap and very filling.

image.thumb.png.3d62d446660a8ebf966232b7ef65293d.png

Some meals in Japan for kids is rice, salad and 2 croquettes with teriyaki sauce.

Its cheap and fills up the kids

image.png.e58b40579995de54507f5b77e53e177a.png

Get the kids some pork cutlet where the pork cutlet is as big as the plate and free flow of rice and salad.

image.thumb.png.025b6696e9a470aa9450dbffba2ad250.png

image.png.deab05b86d47169f43a4e473ae939047.png

image.png.8f01dc7bb4e58534ae5731b8399d427a.png

image.png.cd1b53aa4f90dd6f9652b26db4df9e2e.png

If money is tight then take the kids to yoshi

Its totally different taste to the ones here, its taste a lot better and feed the kids for under 500 yen

Kids love it and never complained.

image.png.ea3e3d3b1fdae0f752a94595f5d67328.png

There are a few other chains and the kids will be filled for bwteen 500 - 700 yen

image.png.e386ce3a1d1295b652bddc9dfcfd0da2.png

image.png.65f93babcd8d6eab22c95a9a27d15767.png

image.png.61eeb0b2fb3f3c2acba365db3c2bf1b1.png

Some come with rice and side of noodles

No one goes out of the door half full

image.png.121be2eb929a36c4c49e0e8e5230f1cc.png

image.thumb.png.6aacd541b35a2193ba0a33a9ac673eb8.png