Loan for COE Renewal?

MyCarMykar

Hi guys,

just a quick question and discussion.

Is it common to take up loan for COE renewal ? 

Well i understand that some may say words like

"if you need to loan for COE renewal, you might be better off taking public transport" 

but well, just trying to find out here, afterall this is my father's car and he has retired and doesn't need the car anymore, thus everything is on me now.

I googled for some financial institute that does loan for COE, cheapest i saw is 3.2% for 7 years repayment.

Just wondering if you guys have other suggestions or recommendations. 

Feel free to comment bros.  Sorry if this post is not suppose to be here, as you can see, newbie here  [wave]

Edited by MyCarMykar
↡ Advertisement
  • Praise 4

Cheapest you saw 3.2% but may be BS.. most coe loans are around 3.8%. Assuming 40k COE..

You loan 30k

3.8% x 30k x 7 = 7980

7980/30000 27%

Your interest alone is 27% of your loan amount

Total payable is 47,980

Is it worth it for a 10 year car?

Why not save the $50,000 for:

1. Scrap your car, get back parf

2. Wait for coe to drop to buy new car (interest lower as well)

3. Or invest in your education, children, family and take public transport.

Don't waste your $50k

Edited by Perspectivism
  • Praise 3

Here are some questions that I would ask myself if I were in your situation:

1. Are you planning to loan the full amount of the COE?
  2. How much would you be able to fork out on your own to reduce the loan (and liability)?
  3. Are you certain that your father's existing car can last for another 5-7 years?
  4. Why do you want to keep the car, as opposed to scrapping it, collecting the PARF and using that to get a used car with 3-5 years left?

Hope that helps.

• Praise 3

Here are some questions that I would ask myself if I were in your situation:

1. Are you planning to loan the full amount of the COE?
  2. How much would you be able to fork out on your own to reduce the loan (and liability)?