Game Over: LTA cuts vehicle growth rate to 0

flashbang

My colleague's wife from china. Didnt want to get citizenship and prefer to be a PR yet they still paying subsidized fees cos husband is Singaporean. Fair?

It's not don't want lah ... but more so to retain an "escape route", to enable them to return to China in future ... as long as one spouse is of Chinese nationality!

Nearly all the China FTs in my company who became SG citizens, are one-parent China citizen!

Yes agree ... the school fee differential for foreigners in SG, between international and public schools is way too wide a spread!

You do know the numbers that guy posted for foreigners is wrong... I think foreigners pay 600 now for primary school

You mean me? My numbers are from this article.

+++ I agree. For me, I prefer to look at my capabilities first before blaming.

Yay....we have a cscbbcb or ccccbbb (ah whatever) por lam pa soh here leh. Yalor...the capability is none other than por lam pa lor.  [laugh]

For the record I do not disagree with what cscbb said about self reflection and do more instead of just govt bashing.

I just do not like it when he took it upon himself to assume many things which are wrong about me, and for insisting that I am a govt basher, and that I incited others to do the same.

I challenged him to prove his allegations, and time and again he avoided it and instead continue to bark using the same insults time and again.

I don't run away when my integrity is at stake but I realise that my exchanges have disrupted the goodwill of this forum and strayed very off topic in this thread. Reading back, I find myself rather childish.

That said, I apologise to everyone here, except for cscbb, for "disturbing the peace".

I old liao, must Zen more.

CA4B50A5-1F3E-4740-9721-2DBDC236212C.jpeg

Very good then. Please don't be a garmen basher.

They did great for Singapore!

Flawed? Over 70% of your countrymen don't think so.

All the problems we face today are well deserved. Property and cars are going to rise rise rise as well.

Cars still ok, cus in Singapore it is not an asset and a money waster.

But property is directly correlated to ones store of wealth.. our future generation can go into a sardine can at new estates while the big freehold homes will be passed on generation to next generation and only purchased new/resale by rich foreigners or high income locals to the likes of SAF scholars/CEO/ministers.

We'd need to maintain a clear and distinct differential between the rich & elite, the middle class and the not rich.

Landed freehold CCR houses, with multiple cars on one end, against mass-market condos & HDB, with a single car or BMW on the other.

If this fine balance is ever tilted or "managed", we'd turn into a democratic socialist replublic (again?), if not a communist state on the extreme.

Or should we shift toward true blue laissez faire instead?

• Dislike 1

I want to mod my car also i bo lui.....oh.....wrong mod!ðððð

Want to be mod, don't scared. Want scared, don't be a mod.

Urm, wait a minute, what mod are we talking about? [laugh]

I thought i could do some leisure reading on these threads but it seems that they are just hotbeds for arguments..

Gotta chill guys.. Lets promote some positivity in our lives.

There is always another loan scheme out there to circumvent restrictions.

The only feasible way is mandatory lifespan imposed on COE cars.

I agree, there will always be another fool too but try my method and see if the car population will drop or not....heeeeheee

COE must be paid in cash in full.

Car loans up to half of car price, max tenure being half of COE life.

So if one buys a 4 yr old car, max loan tenure is 3yrs.

If someone chooses to take a personal loan at high cost to buy a COE, thats his call and his consequence to bear.

Wah....you all lim kopi and sit together but all staring at the hp ah??

No we all use our own Ipad.

I agree, there will always be another fool too but try my method and see if the car population will drop or not....heeeeheee

COE must be paid in cash in full.

Car loans up to half of car price, max tenure being half of COE life.

So if one buys a 4 yr old car, max loan tenure is 3yrs.

If someone chooses to take a personal loan at high cost to buy a COE, thats his call and his consequence to bear.

No we all use our own Ipad.

Cannot la. Then coe values will plummet. It’s a well known fact that loans help to prop up the value and encourage a higher coe.

How can you suggest this which will rob our coffers!

The Car population will also not change as it is determined by the quota and not the price.

coe $10k

coe $100k

coe $200k - CLSA says one

the number of cars on the road is EXACTLY THE SAME

because the no of coe = no of cars

the question is whether the coe price is a, b or c only

obviously ah gong want to engineer to b and c

where do ah gong make money?

of course from tax collection

ARF, VES and COE are the TAX cash cow

all eyes are on these to increase the revenue