Electrician lobang?

dcb

What's the recommendation to minimise tripping caused by lightning?

Every time heavy thunderstorm I have to reset the elcb one or 2 times.

My contractor install surge protector into my mcb

When touching the DB box, its imperative to turn the mains off. Mine is outside in the corridor.

Yeap, of cuz, turn off incoming mains outside my flat. [:p]

ELCB is prone to tripping bcuz when lightning strike, it spike usually on one line, then it will trip.

RCCB design works on 2 lines.So when surge on 2 lines then it will trip, like a real short circuit.

So it's less likely to trip during a thunderstorm.

I'd recommend you look up HDB website for recommended contractor. Cost maybe about $60~$80.

If you really have to DIY, I bought the RCCB, I think only $16.

Yeap, of cuz, turn off incoming mains outside my flat. [:p]

Then why would it still be dangerous??

ELCB is prone to tripping bcuz when lightning strike, it spike usually on one line, then it will trip.

RCCB design works on 2 lines.So when surge on 2 lines then it will trip, like a real short circuit.

I'd recommend you look up HDB website for recommended contractor. Cost maybe about $60~$80.

Nowadays, its all RCCB liao. ELCB no one selling liao

When touching the DB box, its imperative to turn the mains off. Mine is outside in the corridor.

before switching off the main board must switch off all electrical appliances.

beware the surge of electricity current.

avoid lightning and thunder weather.

did you overload any multiple plug?

the set up for your aircon and water heater. individual?

Edited by Kopites

Then why would it still be dangerous??

I'm trained in electronics/electricity but I don't have a licence to practice like LEW [:p]

So I'm considered dangerous.

When I worked on electricity mains, I like to find out all the safety aspects, like thickness of wire, length of exposed wire, free play, for insertion into the MCB, RCCB, or maybe they have some tightening torque I'm not aware of, and.. etc.

I'd switched off the mains before any work, and make sure no one switched it back on, undetected, while I'm still working.

I might leave a light switched on, if it suddenly comes to live and lit, I'd know electricity is back on.

But after all this, I'm still considered dangerous. [laugh]

Don't advise him to diy electrical switch board.

water can diy.

electricity unless certified better don't diy. I don't dare to touch any electrical switch board. only tube, lamp, plug I dare to diy.

Edited by Kopites

I'm trained in electronics/electricity but I don't have a licence to practice like LEW [:p]

So I'm considered dangerous.

When I worked on electricity mains, I like to find out all the safety aspects, like thickness of wire, length of exposed wire, free play, for insertion into the MCB, RCCB, or maybe they have some tightening torque I'm not aware of, and.. etc.

I'd switched off the mains before any work, and make sure no one switched it back on, undetected, while I'm still working.

I might leave a light switched on, if it suddenly comes to live and lit, I'd know electricity is back on.

But after all this, I'm still considered dangerous. [laugh]

you are like James may!

I am more like Jeremy..hahahaha

youtube and goggle

Don't advise him to diy electrical switch board.

water can diy.

electricity unless certified better don't diy. I don't dare to touch any electrical switch board. only tube, lamp, plug I dare to diy.

Totally agree

Be safe than sorry

I would think the rating on the elcb is 15mA and it is too sensitive

to be tripped easily on any thunderstorm.

Check with your town council for advice maybe to increase to 30mA

which is also recommended only if the electrician confirms is safe.

Top floor usually has the tripping problem as the earth cct at times

is just directly above your ceiling roofing.

Testing the elcb once a month is a good way to make sure it is working

just in case any fault occurs.

I would think the rating on the elcb is 15mA and it is too sensitive

to be tripped easily on any thunderstorm.

Check with your town council for advice maybe to increase to 30mA

which is also recommended only if the electrician confirms is safe.

indeed. I hardly see any RCCB with 15mA though. Mostly 30mA for most homes

yes most are 30mA, coincidentally mine was 15mA as discovered and

kept tripping very times and decided to call in for a solution.

Engaged the electrician to save the day again.

What happened?

Engaged the electrician to save the day again.

What happened?

Door bell no sound and I can't open the cover. So contacted my favourite electrician to do the job. Thanks to @Othello for the intro really. Used Santos a few times liao.  :a-m1212:

What happened?

Door bell no sound and I can't open the cover. So contacted my favourite electrician to do the job. Thanks to @Othello for the intro really. Used Santos a few times liao. :a-m1212:

Wah biang, door bell you also call electrician, i thought it is usually ply open?

My door bell button was damaged a few months ago, I bought a legrand brand from an electrical shop and replaced it myself.

post-84721-0-01565200-1566314878_thumb.jpg

Edited by Ct3833

Yeah usually is ply opened but it was stuck. I never like to DIY.

Good for you.

Wah biang, door bell you also call electrician, i thought it is usually ply open?

My door bell button was damaged a few months ago, I bought a legrand brand from an electrical shop and replaced it myself.