Exercising and losing weight

ODC

1 hour ago, Aloe111 said:

A few more days before my stiches come off, and i can slowly start exercising again. 

Have totally stopped for a month, just wondering how much have my state of fitness regressed. 🤕

U will feel much less conditioned for first few sessions to few weeks at most. Very fast get back one. Of course subject to individual, I take a long time to regain back. 

11 hours ago, 13177 said:

Just now went to a brisk walk for about 35 mins, clocked around 2.5km. Trying to increase the intensity of my walk slowly. 😂

I think walking is the best way to start with. Just try to walk as much as possible. I did nothing in 2 weeks just walking 16k steps daily on a crap diet and lost 2kg. But in SG is difficult as I found out as it is so warm. I will suggest slowly working up to 10k steps a day, which is the recommended by our health authority too. Maybe try walking 20mins in the early morning ideally fasted, then another walk in the evening (before dinner) will help tremendously. This shd give you around 5k steps. So the rest of the 5k steps will be your normal daily walking point a to b.

Can follow these tips too

https://www.healthhub.sg/live-healthy/991/how-to-get-to-10000-steps-a-day--the-easy-way

12 hours ago, 13177 said:

Sort of pre-diabetes, i hear liao now quite worry. 😓 I have told doctor my diet not very heavy but i think i have eat too much noodles, bread, rice and potatoes. But if i cut down on these food, i really dont know what to eat liao? Lol. Wait in the end no diabetic but ended with malnutrition?! 

Think even now i walk everyday also no use if i did not increase my intensively of my workout. Now i can achieve at least the duration of my walk but maybe need to walk faster or start to do some jogging to make my heart pump, if not maybe also not much use in reducing my sugar level if i do strolling walk.

First up is do you have any serious medical condition? Will you die if your heart beats above 70% of your max heart beat?  If Yes, then please speak to your doctor first, if No, then you got hope. Provided  you are prepared to "hope" the hope lor. 

KNN, in our current stage of life, ppl die of over nutrition rather than malnutrition lah,  getting not enough daily nutrition is tougher than tio toto with the food we are eating. Even if you eat just 1 egg a day, the nutrition in your stored fats can last you pass 365 days at least.

If you are not ready to start jogging, then start walking a little faster than usual. Taking a stroll in the park and walking to exercise is same same but different hor, you will have to at least get your heart beat to at least 65%-70% of your "max heart rate" to enjoy any benefit. And although any walk is better than no walk, you will need to keep your walks to at least no less than 35 min. 

To increase the intensity without having to go a lot faster, consider walking with some form of added weight. The easiest is to backpack water bottles. Get a simple backpack, throw in 1 or 2 of those 1.25L bottle fill with water, and walk with them, increase the weight whenever you are not feeling it anymore. Your heart rate will increase when you walk with extra weights.

New year Resolutions are just plain bulls**t to me lor. We can set goals anytime, no need to wait for new year resolution, and the first 2 letters of the word GOAL is GO, so to achieve your GOAL, you will first have to make a GO for it. 

So just get going, at least you have ppl here willing to nag at you like their life depends on your health. If you still cannot even make time to do the walks, then you can only sing "神啊救救我吧!"...[laugh][laugh][laugh]

40 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Lol thought u have some cancer scare. Or was it this? 

Ya, GP worried it was lung cancer after seeing my chest xray. But specialist say it pneumonia. Scare the shit out of me for a few hours. It was also in hospital they told me i was pre diabetic. 

1 hour ago, Lala81 said:

Yeah u are a low added sugar person. Honestly unless u work in cbd, ain't many choices out there for a healthier meal. Mixed rice with little or minimal rice is probably the more accessible option. 

Type two diabetes is due to insulin resistance mostly in your muscles. 

Don't set vague goals like that. Get the habit going first. Psycho yourself into having an identity of doing exercise X amount of times per week is what you are. "I am a person who does a b c d e etc..." 

New years resolutions are an excellent example of the wrong process in meta cognition. Setting the goal without setting the habit. Of course if you are motivated, u get around to doing it. Often the resolutions are bit half hearted anyway and not really imbued with inner driven motivation. 

Of course u need to be motivated (now that the wakeup call is here).

I'm also less motivated on diet compared to you. But at least getting my ass off the bed is something I managed to overcome for the last two years. 

Keep it going. Show up. If it's going to rain in ten mins time, walk ten mins then hide under hdb... 

Many HDB blocks are now linked by shelters linkage. The other day, it started raining after my first km, just when the kick starting kicking, and the feeling to have to  stop was just damn lousy. 

I ran into the HDB void deck and ran blindingly under the blocks, manage to run 3 km going a few rounds slowly. It was like treasure hunt on the run, and yah, have to remember turn right or turn left ...[laugh][laugh][laugh]

5 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

Many HDB blocks are now linked by shelters linkage. The other day, it started raining after my first km, just when the kick starting kicking, and the feeling to have to  stop was just damn lousy. 

I ran into the HDB void deck and ran blindingly under the blocks, manage to run 3 km going a few rounds slowly. It was like treasure hunt on the run, and yah, have to remember turn right or turn left ...[laugh][laugh][laugh]

Weather turned warm and sunny again. I managed to do a slow 3km this morning with my dog. Have to stop and let her poop also + cleanup. 

That's the problem with running with a dog. 

Yes if it's raining. I will run one circuit around the hdbs. Can usually get quite close back to my home totally sheltered in case it rained. 

19 minutes ago, Ender said:

Ya, GP worried it was lung cancer after seeing my chest xray. But specialist say it pneumonia. Scare the shit out of me for a few hours. It was also in hospital they told me i was pre diabetic. 

Lol I seldom use the word Cancer lightly unless I want to prevent the pt from ignoring advice. Usually I will say go check in case "growing something"... 

12 hours ago, 13177 said:

What simple carbs should i cut down le? If cook at home, usually would use whole grain noodle or rice and also many veg, so not much problem. The thing now is when i eat outside and also the tea break i eat at work. I find i eat noodle and bread almost everyday. Although i seldom eat cakes now, dont take ice-cream and sweet drinks. Even i drink soya bean milk outside usually is less sugar or no sugar.

Looks like my 2020 resolution is to exercis as much as possible even a stroll walk of 20 mins also must do. Hopefully my next checkup, my sugar level will go down. 😂

"As much as possible" in this case is as good as nothing.  It is not quantify. You need to put a number to it to ensure you have something to keep you moving. How much is much?  "As much as possible" is just saying "i will do it when I feel like it", you not going anywhere with such mindset lor.

Put a number to it, and commit to that number, even if it means just doing 2 walks of 30 min a week, and getting your heart rate to 70% of your max heart rate in those walks. So die die you must do that numbers, anything more is bonus, and then you slowly increase that number.

Thats how you need to start. Easy formula everyone knows,  just that we like to pretend it is hard to understand, because it is always hard to start...[laugh][laugh][laugh]

Reporting for 2019:

• 53 runs totaling only 240km
  • No HIIT sprints since May due to painful knee tendons which still have not recovered
  • 131 resistance sessions
  • Maybe some bits of improvements here and there but overall, it is more of maintenance to prevent downhill slide in health
  • Health report will only be out in Jan 2020 so fingers crossed

Resolution for 2020:

• Each run to be > 5km every time, slower pace is ok as long as distance is done (after listening to the TED talk someone posted)
  • Continue with resistance sessions
  • Continue to eat sensibly - Reduce carbs, up protein and good fats

On 12/29/2019 at 10:39 PM, Lala81 said:

Daisy ridley compilation of workout videos she posts. Lots of really good exercises here for combination of weight training and functional strength. 

Lean mean jedi machine. She doesn't have much of a chest but very swee nonetheless. 

That's why you have Emma Watson as your nickname profile also. 😁

16 minutes ago, Enye said:

ok... burnt off 10 slices of ba kwa first....to be replaced back by cny

😅🤣

A1884351-8A65-46EF-A61B-F8A137974D2F.jpeg

Speaking of bak kwa, I bought a pack of LCG bak kwa yesterday. No queue.[:p]

5 minutes ago, Adrianli said:

Speaking of bak kwa, I bought a pack of LCG bak kwa yesterday. No queue.[:p]

I bought back 6 packs of 贵妃肉 bak kwa from 龍记 in KL 10 days ago, all gone liao within a week..[laugh][laugh][laugh]

2 hours ago, Lala81 said:

Lol I seldom use the word Cancer lightly unless I want to prevent the pt from ignoring advice. Usually I will say go check in case "growing something"... 

My chest xray was cloudy. One big white patch. Somehow the specialist from the Xray can be pretty sure it was pneumonia.

1 hour ago, Enye said:

ok... burnt off 10 slices of ba kwa first....to be replaced back by cny

😅🤣

A1884351-8A65-46EF-A61B-F8A137974D2F.jpeg

Your posts always awe-inspiring. Must learn.😱

2 hours ago, Theoldjaffa said:

Wow sifu u 165kh run faster than me 98kg 

jin ho 👍

I think he 265kg also can run faster than me.