Exercising and losing weight

ODC

14 hours ago, Giordanogavin said:

My turn to share my run this evening.

Ran 4K. Nothing to shout about is not near HM or FM levels.

First time measure and time the distance of my usual running route during CB. Not the best timing I could have. Come across a giant monitor lizard on my trail path and have to stop to chase it away. Muddy and slippery path after earlier rain does not helps either.

Will run 5K and time it next.

9DF7FF1E-8467-4F62-A8F9-5E4039270CD1.thumb.jpeg.cef9a30b209b4d2c99daf0f7f105cb4a.jpeg

wah so fast....

😱💪

15 minutes ago, Ender said:

I think public can go in for a fee.

Can borrow a card? I am sure many SAFRA members have a under utilised card. 

I kee chiu!!!:XD:I definately under utilise my SAFRA card. I am using my ActiceSG credits at public swimming pool instead.

But looks like I will go back SAFRA swim since the restriction on public pools.

Err public pools vs safra pools. No brainer leh.
public pools << Safra pools... 

U can stay in a nice condo and go to a safra pool and say it's not too bad. I go public pool is like ... it's functional and once I'm done i will immediately leave. Seriously from the time i stopped swimming lessons in 1990s till now, no change...

The only public pool that is nice is Tampines Hub.

If a public pool is within 5 mins drive. And a Safra pool is 20mins drive. I will drive to the safra pool.

2 hours ago, Aloe111 said:

Wah, I'm restricted only to evening hours to use the pool. Damn, can't work on my tan.

Swim at East coast or bare body run.

I checked hometeam and Sandra website cannot find any update on pool use.

Edited by TangoCharlie

47 minutes ago, Enye said:

wah so fast....

😱💪

Give chance lah...  i am also old unker club liao 🤣

Having gone through serious knee injuries previously nowadays if can run outdoor whether slow or fast i am happy just able to run.

The feel of wind, breeze and sunlight on your face by running is a blessing!

2 hours ago, Lala81 said:

Err public pools vs safra pools. No brainer leh.
public pools << Safra pools... 

U can stay in a nice condo and go to a safra pool and say it's not too bad. I go public pool is like ... it's functional and once I'm done i will immediately leave. Seriously from the time i stopped swimming lessons in 1990s till now, no change...

The only public pool that is nice is Tampines Hub.

If a public pool is within 5 mins drive. And a Safra pool is 20mins drive. I will drive to the safra pool.

Wah safra pool is so nice ah, I haven't visited any before.

My nearest public pool is just 700m away. Nearest safra probably 30mins drive.

I'll wait for Phase 2A or 3 😆

8 minutes ago, Aloe111 said:

Wah safra pool is so nice ah, I haven't visited any before.

My nearest public pool is just 700m away. Nearest safra probably 30mins drive.

I'll wait for Phase 2A or 3 😆

U swim very often. So convenience trumps.

I've visited quite a number of activesg swimming pools before. Bishan, Yishun, tampines hub, jurong east, clementi.
Either for myself or bring my kids.

The ActiveSG swimming pools are really nostalgic though. It's probably the part of SIngapore that has changed the least in the last 30 years... I really can't tell any difference. KNN the toilets ... [:p]

Would i bring my kids there? 
Other than tampines Hub, JE one which has the lazy river which is really unique in sg pools. Nope.
https://www.myactivesg.com/facilities/jurong-east-swimming-complex

Day 4 of S&S, etc etc.  It's interesting that i'm not really feeling fatigued yet despite doing it every day. When i wake up in the morning my left hip/glute/upper butt feels sore and stiff because i've got an old injury there, but by the time i finish the warm-ups it's cleared up and ready to go. Also starting to realise that the volume adds up, i've already done 400 KB swings this week and if i stay on target of doing the workout 6 days a week then that's 2400 swings a month.

3 hours ago, Giordanogavin said:

Having gone through serious knee injuries previously nowadays if can run outdoor whether slow or fast i am happy just able to run.

wah boss...i havent even ask you for 10 lamppost head start, u ask me pang chance ah?

with trail running and slippery muddy conditions, this still not your fastest pace yet

oh ya...still need to stop and fight off a dragon some more

😱😵 

Edited by Enye

2 minutes ago, Matoonia said:

Who's gg to gym tmr? 😂

I have 2 friends who have booked their HIIT classes for tomorrow. I don't have a commercial gym membership so I can't go also.

6 hours ago, Giordanogavin said:

You and 165kg @Enye so damn fast. My 2.4 pace can't even reach Enye's 12km pace. 

I am also lao unker. Govt deems me a senior citizen too.

This is my lao unker experience so far. As I creep up to the lao unker stage with every year, I need to cross train more than ever, even within the same week. Repetitive sessions on the same exercise whatever it is, will definitely wear out joints, muscles, tendons, ligaments at an accelerated pace. 

I've also realised how inflexible I have become over the last 2 decades. I think flexibility in our joints, esp the hip, hamstrings, trunk etc, deserve a special mention.

But downside is that with limited time, I will not get to "excel" in any 1 exercise (say cardio, or strength or flexibility or balance). It will just be an elevated overall physical state but when compared to other "specialists", my performance will just hover on the average.

The COVID period allowed me to explore other forms of exercises to be better where I am very bad at, eg flexibility. I will prob continue with cross training even when it goes back to the new normal.

53 minutes ago, Kxbc said:

You and 165kg @Enye so damn fast. My 2.4 pace can't even reach Enye's 12km pace. 

I am also lao unker. Govt deems me a senior citizen too.

165kg can run in this pace is amazing. How @Enye did it is beyond me. 

I am only 60kg. Every kg counts in running 😀

2 hours ago, Aloe111 said:

IMG-20200618-WA0001.jpg

Swimming in public pools so high risk? Worse than casino (pple shouting picture), movie theater (2 hours enclosed), eating indoor (2-2 hours enclosed? Hmmmmm...

Just now 8pm run along the SK/Punggol PCN, NPark has already removed the tape around the fitness corner. Already see a few youngster doing pull up and dip.

Today, i did my 1st ride for the week.  The traffic along Bkt Timah/Dunearn around 7am is definitely busier than previous weeks.