COE Bidding – 2nd Round of May 2018

Carbon82

I was considering for quite long and can't make the decision, until one day my car was breakdown at Jb evening before enter Jb custom, I decided to buy new car.

My 7+ year old car started to need repairs.  Had to replace alternator, engine housing and air-con compressor.  My mileage was around 120 000 km.  Is this reasonable wear and tear for a car this age and mileage?  I am told that the radiator pipe is showing some cracks.  

I could not decide to renew or get a new car.  It is cheaper to renew COE but a friend warned me that one problem with keeping an old car is that it may breakdown suddenly just like Selanking's experience.  Also the same advice mentioned in this forum about free servicing, warranty etc with a new car.  

If one decides to renew the COE, what parts should be replaced to prevent a sudden breakdown, especially if one drives to Malaysia pretty often?  Is there a problem with rust with cars that are 15 years or more?

My 7+ year old car started to need repairs. Had to replace alternator, engine housing and air-con compressor. My mileage was around 120 000 km. Is this reasonable wear and tear for a car this age and mileage? I am told that the radiator pipe is showing some cracks.

I could not decide to renew or get a new car. It is cheaper to renew COE but a friend warned me that one problem with keeping an old car is that it may breakdown suddenly just like Selanking's experience. Also the same advice mentioned in this forum about free servicing, warranty etc with a new car.

If one decides to renew the COE, what parts should be replaced to prevent a sudden breakdown, especially if one drives to Malaysia pretty often? Is there a problem with rust with cars that are 15 years or more?

What car you driving? Alternator usually around 100-120k Mark due to carbon, housing possible -depending how you go over the road hump, aircon compressor too due to wear and tear - if not cold then have to change and not long your aircon coil need to replace too, and the radiator leak is common too due to hot weather and likely your car maker uses plastic radiator parts so change early or else engine overheat siao liao. Gone are days where Manufacturer uses sturdy stuff.

You probably have to repair the aircon and radiator before u can trade in anyway. Alternator usually 600-800 I think so or else battery goes flat soon. Depends on the total costs of repairs for your car make, you might be better off repairing all and should be able drive till 10 years then decide again.

Edited by retrozz

What car you driving? 

Vios 2010.  Toyota cars are supposed to be durable.  I wasn't sure whether alternator, compressor and housing breaking down after 110 000 km is considered fair wear-and-tear for a Toyota.  Looks like it is fair.  I wonder if these parts in a MIJ car will last longer than those in a tom yam car.  Wah! If I have to replace all these in an "old" car before I go on a "long" road trip, it will cost quite a few $K!

Mine is Mitsubishi Lancer currently exceeded 250,000km. Still on original alternator and air compressor.

Radiator I did replaced at around 180,000km due to leaking at the plastic top manifold. But there were sign of leakage and not an immediate failure, so can plan when to get it replaced.

Other than the radiator I also replaced the engine mount and shock absorber. Shock absorber probably was not necessary because can't tell the difference 'before' and 'after', I replaced it simply based on time and not symptom. No leaking on the old shock absorber.

For the engine mount the mechanic told me there is crack in one of them, but I also didn't notice any symptom. Replaced it anyway and indeed can see one of the mount cracked.

Used to drive a Mitsubishi too. Somehow the alternator also didnt need to replace so early like the Toyotas. Maybe that time not dating so no need to wait while leaving the engine running. Haha. That's why mileage might be hard to gauge - your engine may be running while tires not moving. Compressor i think is heng-sway. My current Toyota still running on original compressor. @Sling you might want to check with aircon specialist or a second opinion if it's the compressor or aircon coil not working - the symptoms can be similar. 

Radiator replacement i think does not depend on mileage. Likely due to aging, maintenance level and where you park under sun. The parts are "plastic" so will leak over time so i noticed it is usually in the 8 years onward if often under sun. i had a Toyota which radiator lasted till 11 years i think i parked under shade all the time

Housing - replacement depending on the build. How much did you pay, replace all? My Camry engine is held by the top housing so i only replace the top one for $250, no more viration noise after that. The bottom ones i didnt bother to change. IF it is the AD workshop, likely ask me change all. LOL

Edited by retrozz

Vios 2010. Toyota cars are supposed to be durable. I wasn't sure whether alternator, compressor and housing breaking down after 110 000 km is considered fair wear-and-tear for a Toyota. Looks like it is fair. I wonder if these parts in a MIJ car will last longer than those in a tom yam car. Wah! If I have to replace all these in an "old" car before I go on a "long" road trip, it will cost quite a few $K! ð¤¦ð»ââï¸

Just heng suay bro.

I drove a 2008 Vios until almost 160000km and never replaced the alternator and compressor.

Only changed the Aircon compressor bearing before.

Just heng suay bro.

I drove a 2008 Vios until almost 160000km and never replaced the alternator and compressor.

Only changed the Aircon compressor bearing before.

agreed it's heng suay, mine 220000km vios, only changed air-con magnetic clutch about $300. 

Haha, sorry it’s the magnetic clutch. The name suddenly refresh my memory. Not the bearing.

To add on the rest are wear and tear items, eg. drive shaft, engine mount, suspension top mount etc. If Toyota car replacement in fact is not expensive. Edited by Dafansu

Housing - replacement depending on the build. How much did you pay, replace all? 

The engine housing and alternator total slightly more than $3K at BM!  The engine housing was detected during routine servicing so had to get it replaced.  1st time so I stupidly agreed.  A few days after the servicing, the alternator died.  I didn't know.  I thought something wrong with the servicing so I brought back to BM & they told me alternator died.  Emergency, safety problem, must replace.

A month or two later, the compressor died.  This time I went outside.  It cost about $600+.  The mechanic told me my radiator pipe has cracks and I should ask BM to replace it at the next servicing & it will cost me more than $1K.  Or I could go back to him and he will charge me a little more than half that.  

Maybe bad luck.  See so many old Vios's on the road.  The owners seem to keep them long.  

The engine housing and alternator total slightly more than $3K at BM! The engine housing was detected during routine servicing so had to get it replaced. 1st time so I stupidly agreed. A few days after the servicing, the alternator died. I didn't know. I thought something wrong with the servicing so I brought back to BM & they told me alternator died. Emergency, safety problem, must replace.

A month or two later, the compressor died. This time I went outside. It cost about $600+. The mechanic told me my radiator pipe has cracks and I should ask BM to replace it at the next servicing & it will cost me more than $1K. Or I could go back to him and he will charge me a little more than half that.

Maybe bad luck. See so many old Vios's on the road. The owners seem to keep them long.

A lot of old Vios on the road meh?

My personal take is that if u want to buy a Toyota .. choose a global model.

Like Altis. Harrier etc. Cars like these have to penetrate tough and competitive markets like US. Europe. Their QC , quality and all better.

Another example. Suzuki swift Vs Suzuki ciaz.

A lot of old Vios on the road meh?

My personal take is that if u want to buy a Toyota .. choose a global model.

Like Altis. Harrier etc. Cars like these have to penetrate tough and competitive markets like US. Europe. Their QC , quality and all better.

Another example. Suzuki swift Vs Suzuki ciaz.

I drive a Camry MIJ somemore, about the same same lei. haha.

Maybe heng suay. Can also depends on how you drive and where you park.

I drive over hump quite fast and get a few knocks before so my housing wears out faster in year 6. 3-4 housing parts about $250 each

I park under the sun coz no shelter carpark in my workplace and home, so the radiator also wears out at the plastic parts in year 8. $650

I leave my car aircon on while waiting on road side so the alternator keep charging. It died in year 7. $650

Now i try to change my driving habits

Quite close to @Sling Vios leh  :a-bang:  but i learnt smarter from BM experience - get a second opinion ouside as they may be correct but not the cheapest so repair outside if not a critical component. Like CPU board, which i was forced to repair at BM because controlled item. $1,200! For a item that looks like a $300 harddisk! So higher end car also got higher end problems. [:p]

Edited by retrozz

The engine housing and alternator total slightly more than $3K at BM! The engine housing was detected during routine servicing so had to get it replaced. 1st time so I stupidly agreed. A few days after the servicing, the alternator died. I didn't know. I thought something wrong with the servicing so I brought back to BM & they told me alternator died. Emergency, safety problem, must replace.

A month or two later, the compressor died. This time I went outside. It cost about $600+. The mechanic told me my radiator pipe has cracks and I should ask BM to replace it at the next servicing & it will cost me more than $1K. Or I could go back to him and he will charge me a little more than half that.

Maybe bad luck. See so many old Vios's on the road. The owners seem to keep them long.

Vios easy to do repair/replacement outside, no need go back BM, it's much cheaper Edited by Dafansu

One last weekend for those getting their COE by June before the VES 2.0 kicks in. I see road shows almost every other mall last weekend. This weekend should be no different as they clear their stocks.

Regarding getting a new car / renewing COE, I have been given different advice:

1) buy a good car, renew the COE and keep it for 20 years

2) buy a car keep for 10 years, then another car for another 10 years

3) change the car when the warranty ends, not paying for repairs is cheaper

4) keep the car until the remaining loan is less than the re-sale value of the car, then sell.  You get some extra cash to pay for the new one

5) over 20 years, have 4 cars keeping each about about 5 years

What is your strategy.  What if the "fundamentals" change e.g. new VES tax being implemented? Would you change 5year+ car to beat the new tax?

4) keep the car until the remaining loan is less than the re-sale value of the car, then sell. You get some extra cash to pay for the new one

What is your strategy. What if the "fundamentals" change e.g. new VES tax being implemented? Would you change 5year+ car to beat the new tax?

No right or wrong strategy, it depends on your propensity to stomach depreciation, a function of your annual income vs. car’s depreciation and operating costs, and the value of hassle-free motoring with minimal breakdowns.

Some people earn more than $500K per annum, they feel paying $80K for a Korean car is preposterous.

Some people earn less than $100K per annum, they would stretch and get the new BMW 5 series.

4) keep the car until the remaining loan is less than the re-sale value of the car, then sell. You get some extra cash to pay for the new one

What is your strategy. What if the "fundamentals" change e.g. new VES tax being implemented? Would you change 5year+ car to beat the new tax?

Ask your wallet or your financial controller. If money no issue, buy new lah.

Going by the lack of interest in the 1st round of bidding in June, I reckon either flat or slightly lower.