Car air-con

Discoburg

51 minutes ago, katoshka said:

Hi all, 

Thanks for your prompt responses. 

@RogerNg_185295 

it was from a direct owner. I did a general inspection of the car myself but didn’t manage to go so in-depth. On hindsight should’ve sent for a thorough inspection.

@Fcw75

thanks for the recommendation, will definitely shortlist them

@awhtc

Thank you, indeed. Seems in line with the diagnosis so far. 

Any kind kakis able to provide advice on whether 1-2k to fix this is justified. As far as I’ve read or researched thus far the max people have forked out is only about $500 or so. 

Thanks! 🙂

If the workshop can zoom into a specific part, then it might be just < $500 including labour and parts.  $1-2k might be for changing the entire system, which could be worthwhile since the car is already ageing and if you have the budget.

Hi all, 

A little update on this. So 1 week back upon heeding the advice of the helpful kakis here I brought my car to Kim Aircon at Ubi for servicing.  

Was greeted by Kim himself - very friendly albeit soft spoken. He opened the bonnet, checked the engine area, and immediately spotted leakages on the hoses. 

Quoted me a reasonable price on the spot( a considerable fraction off what I was quoted elsewhere) and promptly agreed to it. Waited at a cafe nearby for about 2.5hrs before heading back to collect. Since that day, aircon’s back to normal. No hissing sound and it’s cold as the arctic, just like the good old days.

Definitely recommend to other kakis here for a straight-up no nonsense diagnosis by an experienced specialist. Hope any kaki out there  clueless about car air con (like I was before) would find this piece of info somewhat useful. Cheers!

On 9/14/2019 at 3:18 PM, Lovemyride said:

Hello Discoburg, fellow Mz2 owner here.  

Had the same problem as you recently. Went to Mark Cool at Woodlands after reading reviews of various workshops. Ah Huat suspected it's the condenser after I described the problem and he hooked up the meter. Gave me a quote which I agreed. Then he started to remove the stuff to confirm if it's really the condenser. He showed me the oil leaks. Went ahead with the job, OEM condenser. Total damage $400 + gst, 3 hours. 

I might've been able to get it done a bit cheaper elsewhere but I was happy with the level of detail and friendliness.

He said parts don't last long nowadays. Only 3 years be it original or OEM. Many other makes are also like this but maybe it's true that Mazda parts are more expensive than other Jap brands.

Sorry to have replied you so late as I didn't know that you had made a post reply to me. Next time tag a member so they will know.

The price you paid is very good. I think I paid $500 so its around there.

9 hours ago, katoshka said:

Hi all, 

A little update on this. So 1 week back upon heeding the advice of the helpful kakis here I brought my car to Kim Aircon at Ubi for servicing.  

Was greeted by Kim himself - very friendly albeit soft spoken. He opened the bonnet, checked the engine area, and immediately spotted leakages on the hoses. 

Quoted me a reasonable price on the spot( a considerable fraction off what I was quoted elsewhere) and promptly agreed to it. Waited at a cafe nearby for about 2.5hrs before heading back to collect. Since that day, aircon’s back to normal. No hissing sound and it’s cold as the arctic, just like the good old days.

Definitely recommend to other kakis here for a straight-up no nonsense diagnosis by an experienced specialist. Hope any kaki out there  clueless about car air con (like I was before) would find this piece of info somewhat useful. Cheers!

Glad you had good experience there. Kim is a nice guy. Used to have a shop at geylang.

Shop is nothing fanciful but he get the job done. For me at least.

If you ask for discount, he always give $20 off....haha. $400 become $380, $300 become $280.

Edited by Fcw75

Can try Yigo Aircon @ Ubi. You can google them up quite good review. I went to regular workshop and diagnose the aircon problem, they quote me 1.4k and 3 days. I went to Yigo, $350 and 3 hours later job done. 

15 hours ago, onthehindsight said:

Can try Yigo Aircon @ Ubi. You can google them up quite good review. I went to regular workshop and diagnose the aircon problem, they quote me 1.4k and 3 days. I went to Yigo, $350 and 3 hours later job done. 

I see many of their sponsored ads in Facebook.

6 minutes ago, Discoburg said:

I see many of their sponsored ads in Facebook.

Yup. Advertising like mad!!!!

16 hours ago, onthehindsight said:

So what was your aircon problem?

if I'm not wrong, boss of Tomika & Yigo are brothers. Apparently after so long beh loon, so left to start own company (yigo). 

Edited by Othello

4 hours ago, Othello said:

if I'm not wrong, boss of Tomika & Yigo are brothers. Apparently after so long beh loon, so left to start own company (yigo). 

👏

Hi guys, was googling around for Aircond repair and found this post and went to Kim Aircond at Ubi for my Aircond problem. I would like to have a second opinion before I proceed further.

Btw I’m driving Toyota Allion and Aircond never had any problem before. 
Problem started cos my hand itchy and try to play around with the Aircond temperature, I tried to Max out the temperature hot air and boy it was really hot, blow for few mins and I switch back to my normal cold air temperature, Switch my engine off. Next day, I drove my car out to work realise that my car Aircond vent in the middle is blowing warm air but passenger and driver side is still cold as normal. Thinking this will go back normal, after 30 mins of driving still warm, so decide to Google for car Aircond WS and stumble upon this post and so happens Kim Aircond is opposite my house, I’m staying Bedok reservoir btw. Happily go and thought everything should be able to fix by them since it’s so highly recommended by the group. Upon reaching the boss himself and a worker looking around for the issue and found that the rotating motor that suppose to switch between releasing hot air and cold air stuck in between causing it to have hot and cold air mixture. So they open up the dashboard took out and change this small motor, they told me this rarely need to change and they happen to have a spare one around, also took out the cooling coil spotted some leaking oil on the coil and suggest me to change, didn’t think twice and trusted their opinions and go ahead with the change, even mention to me my compressor is working fine and no gas leak. Total damage $460 for the cooling coil and that stupid small motor with labour cost all in. All done, drive home happy with cooling aircon again. 

next day, new problem! While driving cold air suddenly became warm for a few mins and back to cold, thought this is fine and drive as per normal and the problem became more frequently, most of the time cold air then suddenly warm air again until afternoon when the sun hot as f**k. The warm and became longer than the cold air, cold air only blow for few mins and warm air most of the time! Really piss me off, call the Kim told the about the problem, ask me to drove back next day to check, boss was not there worker look around and tell me it’s the compressor giving up already. I was like WTF?! You told me it was okay yesterday!! Quote me a change of compressor around $600-$700. Then he suggest me he will release and top up the gas and oil for me to see whether it will cold.. no charges since I just went yesterday, Aircond back to normal I drove home then afternoon decide to drive out for meal and Aircond is warm again!! I’m not sure what to do beside forking out money again for that compressor which I also believe might be the problem. Thinking of going somewhere else to fix 

sorry for the Long post, appreciate all the suggestion I can get. Cheers

Though I am a supporter of Kim Aircon but I suggest you seek a second opinion elsewhere. 

Either Tomika along the same block or New Luck Aircon at Kaki Bukit as recommended by some bros here (I have never been there though).

14 hours ago, offwhite18 said:

Hi guys, was googling around for Aircond repair and found this post and went to Kim Aircond at Ubi for my Aircond problem. I would like to have a second opinion before I proceed further.

Problem started cos my hand itchy and try to play around with the Aircond temperature, I tried to Max out the temperature hot air and boy it was really hot, blow for few mins and I switch back to my normal cold air temperature, Switch my engine off. Next day, I drove my car out to work realise that my car Aircond vent in the middle is blowing warm air but passenger and driver side is still cold as normal. Thinking this will go back normal, after 30 mins of driving still warm, so decide to Google for car Aircond WS and stumble upon this post and so happens Kim Aircond is opposite my house, I’m staying Bedok reservoir btw. Happily go and thought everything should be able to fix by them since it’s so highly recommended by the group. Upon reaching the boss himself and a worker looking around for the issue and found that the rotating motor that suppose to switch between releasing hot air and cold air stuck in between causing it to have hot and cold air mixture. So they open up the dashboard took out and change this small motor, they told me this rarely need to change and they happen to have a spare one around, also took out the cooling coil spotted some leaking oil on the coil and suggest me to change, didn’t think twice and trusted their opinions and go ahead with the change, even mention to me my compressor is working fine and no gas leak. Total damage $460 for the cooling coil and that stupid small motor with labour cost all in. All done, drive home happy with cooling aircon again. 

next day, new problem! While driving cold air suddenly became warm for a few mins and back to cold, thought this is fine and drive as per normal and the problem became more frequently, most of the time cold air then suddenly warm air again until afternoon when the sun hot as f**k. The warm and became longer than the cold air, cold air only blow for few mins and warm air most of the time! Really piss me off, call the Kim told the about the problem, ask me to drove back next day to check, boss was not there worker look around and tell me it’s the compressor giving up already. I was like WTF?! You told me it was okay yesterday!! Quote me a change of compressor around $600-$700. Then he suggest me he will release and top up the gas and oil for me to see whether it will cold.. no charges since I just went yesterday, Aircond back to normal I drove home then afternoon decide to drive out for meal and Aircond is warm again!! I’m not sure what to do beside forking out money again for that compressor which I also believe might be the problem. Thinking of going somewhere else to fix 

Likely joints are not fixed properly which leads to leakage of coolant.

I have never been to Kim before, but what I want to say is ---> sometimes shit happens. Means you go to workshop with Problem A, then Problem B surfaces. Yesterday not spoil doesn't mean today wun spoil mah 😁 But it can also mean a lazy diagnosis lah, since Boss is not around. 

The AC system is a loop consisting of many many parts. I believe your car is a COE car, when was the last time compressor was changed ? 

I agree with FCW75, Ubi/Eunos area have a few A/C shops. Go for 2nd opinion and do not divulge recent works. See what they say. 

On 7/18/2020 at 7:12 PM, offwhite18 said:

Hmmm ........ Aircon got 2 coil lor.  One hot and one cold.  That little motor control the flap to switch between hot and cold lor.  

Bad compressor usually is noisy, is it noisy when switch on ?

When they change cooling coil, did they change expansion valve also ?  While not likely, I think, it is almost a standard practice to do so lor.  Or the expansion valve suddenly died lor.

Temperature control the expansion valve by thermal expansion limiting the pressure.  If jammed, it will trip the compressor.  Is tiktok offer......

Test Kim to evaluate your aircon AGAIN.  Don't always PAP lor....