Car air-con

Discoburg

On 9/8/2020 at 2:18 PM, Kxbc said:

4.5 year old qasqhai aircon started giving problems around Jul. Getting less cold and finally one day, loud hissing sound. I suspected a leak.

So search here for reviews and went to L & Kim at Ubi. The boss tested out by topping up gas as it is a cheap diagnostic option. If still cold in next 6 months, then likely not a leak. If not, then sian liao since other parts might be leaking.

Unluckily, went warm again within 2 weeks so no choice have to change the coil which was leaking (boss showed me a bubble test when I went to collect - If one is cynical, can say spoilt coil might not be from my car but I will have to take his word for it). 1-day job. Close to $800 damage. Seems like working ok now. Still got a bit of soft hiss (when deadly quiet in the car cabin) so monitoring to see if it will get worse. 3 month warranty.

Boss seems earnest during interaction.

Only bad thing is not easy to find the workshop location the first time. But google map is accurate.

3 months warranty only? Might as well dun do with them 

22 hours ago, RogerNg_185295 said:

3 months warranty only? Might as well dun do with them 

So based on your knowledge, what is the typical warranty period? And maybe also share with us which reliable workshop provide it? Thank you so much. 

On 6/1/2018 at 5:05 PM, Fcw75 said:

Sorry once again.

I won't recommend to anyone liao. 

When the aircon was down, I went to Tomika and without checking anything just tell me to do aircon flushing with the machine.

After that I went to Kim and the boss himself took the trouble to check and pinpoint the problem. He said machine aircon flushing is not necessary. 

So anyone if ever want a aircon shop, can give New Luck recommended by bro kb27 next time. 

just read this thread cos it is bumped up.

I went to Kim twice and found them to be very good.  Much better than the more famous and popular aircon shops that I had very bad experiences with.

I also went to Kim after seeing some recommendations online so as long as we are sharing our true experiences, it should be good to share.

First visit to Kim was because my compressor was noisy and he adjusted the belt.  said nothing need to change.  In the process his mech dropped a screw driver and took a long time to retrieve it....and he didn't charge me a single cent.  I was surprised as that was my 1st visit and I wasn't his regular customer.

Second visit was after a famous shop quoted me almost 1k for changing the compressor and the evaporator.  Went to Kim for alternative opinion and he said only evaporator need to change.  Since my ride only left 2-3 years he helped to save cost by changing a new OEM one for less than 300.

Hope this is helpful to others looking for a shop.  

Edited by BoneStock

9 minutes ago, BoneStock said:

I went to Kim twice and found them to be very good.  Much better than the more famous and popular aircon shops that I had very bad experiences with.

I also went to Kim after seeing some recommendations online so as long as we are sharing our true experiences, it should be good to share.

First visit to Kim was because my compressor was noisy and he adjusted the belt.  said nothing need to change.  In the process his mech dropped a screw driver and took a long time to retrieve it....and he didn't charge me a single cent.  I was surprised as that was my 1st visit and I wasn't his regular customer.

Second visit was after a famous shop quoted me almost 1k for changing the compressor and the evaporator.  Went to Kim for alternative opinion and he said only evaporator need to change.  Since my ride only left 2-3 years he helped to save cost by changing a new OEM one for less than 300.

Glad you had a good experience at Kim. I still go back there when I have aircon issue as I trust him.

Hope your car aircon last till you scrap.

53 minutes ago, Fcw75 said:

Glad you had a good experience at Kim. I still go back there when I have aircon issue as I trust him.

Hope your car aircon last till you scrap.

No chance to find out cos I chg ride after 1 year 😂

1 hour ago, BoneStock said:

Which famous and popular shops you visited?

Ok.  Went to komoco today to get my aircon looked at cos it blow hot air again.  Apparently the thermister is faulty.  So now they replaced it.

Not really sure what thermister is.  It's kind of related to thermostat but it's not.

Anyway it's fixed and to make up for the inconvenience I went to drink three cups of their coffee.... :D

Oh and it's still under warranty so no charge .. but I still take the coffee :D

Edited by Philipkee

3 hours ago, Philipkee said:

Ok.  Went to komoco today to get my aircon looked at cos it blow hot air again.  Apparently the thermister is faulty.  So now they replaced it.

Not really sure what thermister is.  It's kind of related to thermostat but it's not.

Anyway it's fixed and to make up for the inconvenience I went to drink three cups of their coffee.... :D

Oh and it's still under warranty so no charge .. but I still take the coffee :D

Only have machine kopi? No food/snacks?🍮

On 2/29/2020 at 4:15 PM, katoshka said:

Hi all, 

A little update on this. So 1 week back upon heeding the advice of the helpful kakis here I brought my car to Kim Aircon at Ubi for servicing.  

Was greeted by Kim himself - very friendly albeit soft spoken. He opened the bonnet, checked the engine area, and immediately spotted leakages on the hoses. 

Quoted me a reasonable price on the spot( a considerable fraction off what I was quoted elsewhere) and promptly agreed to it. Waited at a cafe nearby for about 2.5hrs before heading back to collect. Since that day, aircon’s back to normal. No hissing sound and it’s cold as the arctic, just like the good old days.

Definitely recommend to other kakis here for a straight-up no nonsense diagnosis by an experienced specialist. Hope any kaki out there  clueless about car air con (like I was before) would find this piece of info somewhat useful. Cheers!

May I know the exact workshop name to Google ?.. need to have a look at mine as well.. thanks

On 9/8/2020 at 2:18 PM, Kxbc said:

4.5 year old qasqhai aircon started giving problems around Jul. Getting less cold and finally one day, loud hissing sound. I suspected a leak.

So search here for reviews and went to L & Kim at Ubi. The boss tested out by topping up gas as it is a cheap diagnostic option. If still cold in next 6 months, then likely not a leak. If not, then sian liao since other parts might be leaking.

Unluckily, went warm again within 2 weeks so no choice have to change the coil which was leaking (boss showed me a bubble test when I went to collect - If one is cynical, can say spoilt coil might not be from my car but I will have to take his word for it). 1-day job. Close to $800 damage. Seems like working ok now. Still got a bit of soft hiss (when deadly quiet in the car cabin) so monitoring to see if it will get worse. 3 month warranty.

Boss seems earnest during interaction.

Only bad thing is not easy to find the workshop location the first time. But google map is accurate.

@KxbcBro, any problem with your aircon and cooling coil after the repair?

Edited by Fcw75