New Electricity Service providers

Sdf4786k

1 hour ago, Almondbaby said:

@Voodooman I just switched back to SP tariff, thinking to sign fixed rate with OEM, any suggestion? I never monitor oil price and stuff.. dunno how to lol.

They are all within range of 23-26. Nothing interesting.

42 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

Yes, no cost to transfer to SP.

you mean no cost for consumer?

I was actually talking about the cost to the company. They close down, leave the consumer high and dry but they don't need to pay any penalties.

40 minutes ago, ToyotaShuttle said:

you mean no cost for consumer?

I was actually talking about the cost to the company. They close down, leave the consumer high and dry but they don't need to pay any penalties.

No cost to retailers. 

2 hours ago, Almondbaby said:

@Voodooman  I have a smart meter, for those who does not want to pay $40 to install, they have to submit monthly reading. 

I always thought that wholesale is priced based on half hourly wholesaler prices, hence if you are switching on your aircon at night, rate should be lower vis-a-vis using it during noon, which is peak demand.  To enjoy maximum benefits of wholesale plan, you will need a smart meter to record consumption at half hourly interval.  Maybe my understanding is not correct. If they are using average price, you end up paying more if you are not WFH.

Anyway, i always lock in fixed, don't need to think so much. 

Edited by Voodooman

2 hours ago, Almondbaby said:

@Voodooman  I have a smart meter, for those who does not want to pay $40 to install, they have to submit monthly reading. 

tip for you when submitting monthly reading.

If price drop during the month, submit lower reading and make up for it next month.

If price rise during the month, submit higher reading and next month submit lower.

20 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

Oil prices dropping... May want to consider no/shortest lock in contracts. 

Besides oil price, the other 2 key factors that move electricity prices are the availability of natural gas (both piped and liquified) and the stability of generation units.

If you watch the prices recently, huge swing due to curtailment of gas.

I'd think for us household consumers, forget about playing with wholesale plan, just pick either discounts off tariff or fixed.

Actually i recall Temasek did purchase a huge block in some Tanzania gas fields.

Would have come in handy for our own clean energy needs now.

Unfortunately geo-politics prevented the extraction of any LNG up to even now.     

https://www.spglobal.com/platts/en/market-insights/latest-news/natural-gas/041421-shell-equinor-urge-tanzania-to-act-now-to-conclude-lng-project-talks

Edited by Tedlhw

I used to be on discount off - never again!

I learnt my lesson and now on fixed price.

Oil price go up just a little bit and my bill went up a lot!

"Fuel use is a major component of electricity generation." Fair enough!

When oil went down to -US$37 a barrel my bill went down a bit only.

""Fixed cost is a major component of electricity generation."

Heads they win, tails we lose!

1 hour ago, Kopites said:

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/daylight-robbery-electricity-bills-wholesale-plans-shoot-more-double

'Daylight robbery': Electricity bills for wholesale plans shoot up by more than double

Went to koi farm this week. The boss really jin cham, all his water pumps old price about already 10k a month. Suddenly extra 20k, 30k. These are the SMEs that kena hit hard while energy companies (or genco?) laugh all the way to the bank. 

Edited by Volvobrick
  • Sad 1

On the flip side, and I’m just trying to stay positive…

the higher prices will us to think of ways to save, use more efficient gear, turn off our electronic items and perhaps turn off the Telly and exercise…

pin the same way that the lack of foreign labor forces us to hire more expensive locals or innovative and use less personnel for higher efficiency and streamline work processes…

Omicron will bring the price of electricity down.

If you haven't sign fixed contract yet

wait till Omicron hit jialat jialat and electricity prices come down

and then sign long long term fixed price contract!

Strike when Omicron is hot!

On 12/5/2021 at 1:37 PM, Jamesc said:

Omicron will bring the price of electricity down.

If you haven't sign fixed contract yet

wait till Omicron hit jialat jialat and electricity prices come down

and then sign long long term fixed price contract!

Strike when Omicron is hot!

Omicron is driving oil price higher leh. 

Brent at USD90/bbl, next Qtr all the fixed rate contacts are all going up.

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/energy-commodities/oil-climbs-on-lower-supply-and-post-pandemic-recovery

On 10/19/2021 at 2:05 PM, Jamesc said:

If they hedge they will buy high and when you ask them why never buy when price is low.

They will tell you how I know? I got crystal ball is it?

On 10/19/2021 at 2:07 PM, Jamesc said:

When oil was minus 37 dollars a barrel why never buy forward contracts for the next 5 years?

On 10/19/2021 at 2:10 PM, Jamesc said:

Stupid jamesc if I buy at minus $37 for the next 5 years what if oil falls to minus $60?

He will say me one.

I won't say them lah.

Buy anything at below zero I clap for them already.

Who still never sign fixed?

On 12/1/2021 at 7:47 PM, Jamesc said:

I used to be on discount off - never again!

I learnt my lesson and now on fixed price.

Oil price go up just a little bit and my bill went up a lot!

"Fuel use is a major component of electricity generation." Fair enough!

When oil went down to -US$37 a barrel my bill went down a bit only.

""Fixed cost is a major component of electricity generation."

Heads they win, tails we lose!

50 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

Who still never sign fixed?

Used to be with iswich,  now  back to SP, electricity bill alone inceased by more than $100 per month, bloody!

Edited by Ct3833