Singapore ranked best country for children to grow up in

Aaronlkl

I gotta agree to some extent..but that is...

provided you are rich and wealthy.... :D

I gotta agree to some extent..but that is...

provided you are rich and wealthy.... :D

Yes that what I wanna say. The journalist forgot to include the fact that Singapore is also one of the MOST EXPENSIVE city to raise a child. Just look at our birth rate. Statistics dun lie.  :D

True to an extent. I got a friend who refused to have kids here, not so much for the costs, but to avoid the kinds of pressures kids here deal with.

Cos your friend is an elite mah. :D

fully agreed with this paragraph.

but after grown up ... join the rat race

see car and property price ... beh ta han ...

all want to jump ship to angmoh land with the "high quality education" .. lol

post-7984-0-27739900-1527845088_thumb.png

Cos your friend is an elite mah. :D

His 3rm HDB does not even have sofa lor...

Car and property can buy in other countries if missed the sales in Singapore.

But HDB will always be affordable if not particular about location.

Edited by Showster

Thank you for sharing the article

Now have something to say when my friends say the quality of life in Australia was the best for the kids.

Singapore is the bestest.

2 more months to National Day.

Thank you for sharing the article

Now have something to say when my friends say the quality of life in Australia was the best for the kids.

Singapore is the bestest.

2 more months to National Day.

I think your friend is right. OZ is great place to live and raise children.

That's what I concur too initially,

But the report can't be wrong, especially from Straits Times.

Peace, economically ok, good place for children, tax rebates, paternity leave, maternity leave.....the rohingya's have none of these, but child bearing goes on ...

http://time.com/5280232/myanmar-bangladesh-rohingya-babies-births/

The U.N. children’s agency, UNICEF, said Wednesday that more than 16,000 Rohingya babies have been born in Bangladesh since the violence broke out in Myanmar’s Rakhine state in August last year.

Around 60 babies a day are taking their first breath in appalling conditions, away from home, to mothers who have survived displacement, violence, trauma and, at times, rape,” Edouard Beigbeder, a UNICEF representative in Bangladesh, said in a statement. “This is far from the best start in life.”

why not compare with those developed countries?

sibey jialat.... [shakehead]

i agree with you, singapore education system only objective is to churn out elites.

your kids in this system is definitely going to go thru pressure to excel and parents to have help manage this stress.

Singapore the best country for kids to grow up? no when the same education system is going to stay.

If you earn 10k a month, have children no problem.

$10k a month household income is barely enuff to live a normal decent life in $ingapore. Edited by Aaronlkl

Not sure if it is the best country to bring up children....but definitely one of the better places to do so. I find bringing up children here to be fairly affordable. Education is almost free & the quality is good. School also has various CCAs to develop other aspect of their students or help those who needed a bit more help with some subject (which teachers in some countries will not even spare the student a few mins after school.).

There many libraries with good selection of books, museums for them to visit, nature reserves to explore (I don’t like tho, cos of the heat), easy access to sports facilities, low crime rate, etc.

Tuition and enrichment classes may be expensive. But those are non essential most of the time.

Maybe I am old school-ish which is why I say it is affordable. My kids don’t watch TV, no personal iPad or PC, game console, etc. All they need are books, play with our dogs, neighbourhood cats, playground, cycle, swim, tennis, board games, cooking/baking, arts and crafts, etc.. Nothing expensive.

Edited by Silver_blade

Strikes again?

attachicon.gifv6.jpg

This bugger sure strike whenever I mentioned abt expensive city or his millionaire masters. :D  

Edited by Aaronlkl