COE Bidding – 2nd Round of June 2018

Carbon82

I think not yet of a concern until there's a clear pic of certain companies buying big fleet of vehicles for PHV purpose. 

agreed. the number of drivers are also dwindling. who's gonna drive the extra PHVs

LTA in panic. Based on car population pool, 9-10 years car is 81,000. 11-14 years are 77,000. From jan to June, 34,500 coe are issued. In 2018, 60,000-65,000 coe will be issued which are not able to cover 81,000 9-10 years car and 77,000 11-14 years car.

https://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/ltaweb/corp/PublicationsResearch/files/FactsandFigures/MVP01-3-1_Cars_by_age.pdf

When Coe was about 10k to 20k, average car age was only about 7 years, used car market was bad and car scrap early.

Gov wanted to earn more revenue, pushing Singapore car junk at age to 9-14years with Low quota and high coe price In the past.

so Long as the 9-14 years car is not clear in the market, coe will drop continually till falling within 20-30k range to balance the car market up.

Medium car expenses for 10 years is 150-180k or 15 to 18k per year. If consider medium household income is 9k per month 108k per year, after cpf deduction is 86k. Car expenses is 17% of household income. With the commitment of house loan, easily hit more than 30% of household income.

wow, i actually saw this durian.

you are very sharp, can spot the phv sticker while i cant.. [thumbsup]

i never own an auto before hence can't comment much.

i guess the main reason is auto = more relaxing car?

my daily route is 2 hrs and always in the jam

For manual, also have own share of headaches.

difficulties in engaging gear 1 and 2..

lucky, it was easily rectified when i send to workshop.

cause: lower gear shaft bush and adjustment.

i have been sending the car for repair almost every month in this year.

March, power steering sensor

April, gearbox issue

May, ignition coil went die

Last weekend, speed sensor..

I can feel u....

Conclusively, despite multiple repairs including overhaul of CVT gearbox, change compressor (3rd time) and radiator.... i decided to scrapped my 11.5yo latio (yes renewed 10yr COE) and bought a new car...

Dunno what will fall apart next....

think only in Singapore will owners always change cars within a few years :D

with regular maintenance, cars are supposed to last way beyond 10 years

Actually quite true.

Look at those W124 E class, E100 Corollas, EG Civics, etc, still running on the roads now.

But then still subject to availability of spare parts and maintenance costs of the model too.

But if there is no such thing as COE here, many people will keep their cars beyond 10 years.

wow, i actually saw this durian.

you are very sharp, can spot the phv sticker while i cant.. [thumbsup]

i never own an auto before hence can't comment much.

i guess the main reason is auto = more relaxing car?

my daily route is 2 hrs and always in the jam

For manual, also have own share of headaches.

difficulties in engaging gear 1 and 2..

lucky, it was easily rectified when i send to workshop.

cause: lower gear shaft bush and adjustment.

i have been sending the car for repair almost every month in this year.

March, power steering sensor

April, gearbox issue

May, ignition coil went die

Last weekend, speed sensor..

My 9 years old kimchi also.

End last year change engine mount, cam and crank sensor.

This year change fuel valve.

Still got clutch set, control arm bushing, aircon fan etc etc etc, to change.

Trying to tahan until get a new auto car to drive 10 years.

Old liao getting harder to drive manual.

I can feel u....

Conclusively, despite multiple repairs including overhaul of CVT gearbox, change compressor (3rd time) and radiator.... i decided to scrapped my 11.5yo latio (yes renewed 10yr COE) and bought a new car...

I remember someone mentioned before thst car are made to last longer than 10 yrs e.g > 20 yrs, 30 yrs.

With this mentality, renew coe is way to go. However, he never take into the account on what u have weighted

I remember someone mentioned before thst car are made to last longer than 10 yrs e.g > 20 yrs, 30 yrs.

With this mentality, renew coe is way to go. However, he never take into the account on what u have weighted

Yeah, cars definitely can last (although easier with lesser electronics in the earlier days) with regular maintenance and part changes due to wear and tear.

Renew COE on the whole is definitely cheaper than buying new, if diagnostic and changes is accurate and prompt. Else its a real chore to maintain a car thats over say 8 years when wear and tear set in.

Having said that. I hope this will be my last car and it can last 8-10yrs without major issues.

I can feel u....

*brother hug*  :D

parts should be easily available for Latio in SG, unlike mine.

I got to bring the car back to malaysia for repair/replacement, the only good thing that i enjoy is the low cost.

I tried to send to local but none seems to be keen in doing.

After all, they also got to order from Malaysia

So what car you bought?

I guess when you scrap, you only obtain the balance of COE aka paper value?

yeah, i guess we are just too lazy if that's the correct word to use?  [:p]

owners like myself, rather to spend time at home than workshop for repair?

My 9 years old kimchi also.

End last year change engine mount, cam and crank sensor.

This year change fuel valve.

Still got clutch set, control arm bushing, aircon fan etc etc etc, to change.

Trying to tahan until get a new auto car to drive 10 years.

Old liao getting harder to drive manual.

kimchi is good, got parts in SG and MY.

Since its turning 10 and you are on the ride of 30K COE, the timing is just nice.

for all you know, when it strike 10, you probably enjoying 20K coe

A lot of ppl also itchy backside. Change car every few years.

Not juz Singaporean.

Otherwise, a lot of factory close shop

*brother hug* :D

parts should be easily available for Latio in SG, unlike mine.

I got to bring the car back to malaysia for repair/replacement, the only good thing that i enjoy is the low cost.

I tried to send to local but none seems to be keen in doing.

After all, they also got to order from Malaysia

So what car you bought?

I guess when you scrap, you only obtain the balance of COE aka paper value?

yeah, i guess we are just too lazy if that's the correct word to use? [:p]

owners like myself, rather to spend time at home than workshop for repair?

kimchi is good, got parts in SG and MY.

Since its turning 10 and you are on the ride of 30K COE, the timing is just nice.

for all you know, when it strike 10, you probably enjoying 20K coe

Hi5

Although parts available, the car is not just built to last. My opinion rah... too many issues along the way. Gearbox and compressor being the most sianz.

Yeah. My last straw is the CVT gearbox which i sent for overhaul when we decided not to change new car last Nov... unfortunately the mechanic try to save by replacing a salvaged CVT for lesser amount... but end up problematic... then he have to overhaul again. The downtime really inconvenient my family.

I got an Elantra. The price now is really good. Can consider if you keen. Price is good and SE is decent, 2 colleagues also buy from him. I can pass ya his contact if u keen. Lol

Hi5

Although parts available, the car is not just built to last. My opinion rah... too many issues along the way. Gearbox and compressor being the most sianz.

Yeah. My last straw is the CVT gearbox which i sent for overhaul when we decided not to change new car last Nov... unfortunately the mechanic try to save by replacing a salvaged CVT for lesser amount... but end up problematic... then he have to overhaul again. The downtime really inconvenient my family.

I got an Elantra. The price now is really good. Can consider if you keen. Price is good and SE is decent, 2 colleagues also buy from him. I can pass ya his contact if u keen. Lol

Bro Kurty still waiting for the durian to drop la, Not easy for him to find the right durian.  [laugh]

Oh to add... someone actually approach me when i wanna dekit. So eventually sold off to someone with extra few hundred dollars on top of paper

my Latio is turning 9 years....

:scared:

my Latio is turning 9 years....

:scared:

CVT or 4AT? Change ur radiator, starter, compressor (2x? 3x?) Already? -.-

If feasible... try not to renew COE.... my 2cents... i paid heavy price for renewing.... lost parf and all those repairs