The GST Thread

Throttle2

With ABSD raised by 5% , i reckon we wont need to raise GST to 9% already!

Yeah, whhooppeee.

Maybe can even cut GST to 5% ?

How does this impact you?

• Angry 1

Increase in GST already announce. Expect double whammy. Civil servants can expect higher bonuses from now.

• Angry 1

Increase in GST already announce. Expect double whammy. Civil servants can expect higher bonuses from now.

Got meh?

Boh lah.

Just prep only.

Havent chop stamp yet.

What no chop stamp?

HSK said already

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/singapore-budget-2018-gst-to-be-raised-from-7-to-9-sometime-between-2021-and-2025

Anyway, 15% ABSD is too much... not even HK has that high

Yah lah

Say only lah

Hvnt chop stamp lah.

15% absd is ok .

I think 20% is about right.

Edited by Throttle2

Yah lah

Say only lah

Hvnt chop stamp lah.

15% absd is ok .

I think 20% is about right.

YDCB [laugh] [laugh] You buy many already so ok for you lar

Boh lah, i only got many Rolexes.

Property, i only got Punggol HDB

With ABSD raised by 5% , i reckon we wont need to raise GST to 9% already!

Yeah, whhooppeee.

Maybe can even cut GST to 5% ?

How does this impact you?

Be patience, just wait till coming election over ... [sly]  

Today ST reported about 30,000 civil servants undergoing training as Election Officers starting from today .... [sweatdrop]

Be patience, just wait till coming election over ... [sly]

Today ST reported about 30,000 civil servants undergoing training as Election Officers starting from today .... [sweatdrop]

So desperate ah?

Last GE was only in 2015.

No more once every 5 years.

What no chop stamp?

HSK said already

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/singapore-budget-2018-gst-to-be-raised-from-7-to-9-sometime-between-2021-and-2025

Anyway, 15% ABSD is too much... not even HK has that high

The most they do is delay the GST increase.

They won't stop the increase.

Edited by DACH

GST Is Needed To Ease Burden On Younger Workers As Income Taxes May Not Be Enough: Indranee Rajah

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/gst-tax-ageing-population-indranee-rajah-13280840

someone please tell me how does this work ?

younger workers earn lower salary, but pay the same gst for any item they consume, same gst as richer older workers, as far as my small brain can understand.

37 minutes ago, Kb27 said:

GST Is Needed To Ease Burden On Younger Workers As Income Taxes May Not Be Enough: Indranee Rajah

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/gst-tax-ageing-population-indranee-rajah-13280840

younger workers earn lower salary, but pay the same gst for any item they consume, same gst as richer older workers, as far as my small brain can understand.

Got ABSD which is 5 times of before, not enough meh? 

How much is enough?

1 hour ago, Kb27 said:

Moreover survival consumption for basic necessity is a larger portion of their salary and they have far less savings therefore gst is a larger proportion of their salary too

This is why all economists call gst a regressive tax that hurts the poor

Only in lala land can it be spun into a tool for helping the poor

Edited by yishunite