GE2020: Singapore General Election - 10 July 2020

Picnic06-Biante15

guanxi?,,, hmm.... if this is a talk about equality and meritocracy, think it falls rather flat.. out of touch.

https://mothership.sg/2019/09/pm-lee-connections-singapore/

Extensive Q&A session

PM Lee kept his opening remarks brief and limited it to only 10 minutes, after which, he invited students to ask him questions.

In total, he answered more than 20 questions from the audience.

Do connections help?

One of the questions asked was the role connections played in helping one get ahead in Singapore.

This was one of the questions PM Lee spent one of the the most time answering.

His response lasted 3 minutes and 13 seconds.

You can watch PM Lee’s response here:

In essence, PM Lee said connections help open doors, but it is superficial as substance is more i
Here is a transcript of PM Lee’s reply in full:

I think if you join the government it doesn’t matter whom you are connected to you.

You’re going to be evaluated on your merits.

I think in many Singaporean companies that is also the case.

If you think you got connections and you want to use “guan xi” to get places, it may open you the first door to, but in Singapore it is a small place, people will straightaway know, behind the “guan xi” there is any substance or not.

I think what we want to make in Singapore is a society where your ability and your contributions count much more than your connections.

Connections do matter. If you grow up in Singapore, you have friends, you serve NS together with your buddies, you come to university, you have your university cohorts.

These are your networks growing up with you and entering the workforce and then rising into society with you, that’s important.

You know them, they know you. You get the measure of them. They also have a sense what you can contribute.

Each other’s strengths and weaknesses.

In Singapore, it’s a very small place, you cannot bluff one.

In another country, you come from faraway, wow, people think this is a famous man, he has a few billion dollars, at least he says he has a few billion dollars, maybe he is very good.

But in Singapore, you cannot run away, somebody will know you.

And you will know him, and therefore, it is possible for us I think to be more objective and we will build our system, and we have built our system to our maximum extent possible, to be fair and to assess the person on what he can do.

But I would say it is also a matter of the way the society and we ourselves interact with one another and react to one another.

I mean, a person who goes to a posh school overseas, for example, some Singpaoreans do.

They may come back with a posh accent or speak quite “atas”.

A few people do. I mean, it happens.

If you didn’t, your parents speak dialect at home, or nowadays don’t speak dialect, but they speak English to you — not quite the standard Mediacorp accent.

And you, therefore, don’t quite speak standard Mediacorp English, people may say what’s wrong with you and maybe the accent tells you something.

And I think that we should resist that, that (pause)… I wouldn’t say instinct, that temptation to look at somebody and say, “He looks not quite right, therefore, I mark him down.”

You must go beyond the looks, and the voice, and the polish.

Does he have the substance or not?

Is he an unpolished diamond, or is he a very beautifully polished piece of shining glass?

There is a difference and we have to know that.

You can read a summary of what PM Lee said here.

Edited by Playtime

His comments are generally accurate lah. Of course there are those where guan xi gets them the top job. I'd say spend more time making a living, more time with your family and living lah. :grin:

On 9/4/2019 at 8:11 PM, Wildfaye29 said:

i guess aft budget 2020

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/dec-april-may-dates-seen-as-likeliest-for-ge

December or April to May next year appear to be the two most likely windows for the next general election.
Political analysts say holding the election near the end of this year would give the ruling People's Action Party (PAP) enough time to mobilise its resources, while opposition parties would find it difficult to do the same.
Other observers reckon the election could be held later, in April or May, due to considerations like the availability of funds that can be tapped in next year's Budget to address concerns on the ground.
They were reacting to the Elections Department's announcement that the Electoral Boundaries Review Committee was formed last month. The committee's tasks include further reducing the average size of GRCs and creating more SMCs than the current 13.
Its formation is the first step in the run-up to the next election, which must be held by April 2021.
If the economy worsens, calling snap elections in December or early January would give the ruling party an advantage, said former PAP MP Inderjit Singh, who added that the opposition may not be ready.
Sharing the view, Dr Felix Tan, an associate lecturer at SIM Global Education, said: "There's the element of surprise. How prepared will the opposition be to enter the fray in December?"Political observer Derek da Cunha pointed out that December is generally a rainy period, which could affect turnout at election rallies.
Associate Professor Bilveer Singh from the National University of Singapore indicated three possible windows: October, January before Chinese New Year, and after the Budget - around end-April to May.
"The longer you wait, the worse it will get for the PAP. The global environment and economy is bad," Prof Singh said. "While there will still be support for the PAP in a bad economy, unemployment will still hurt them to some extent."
He added, however, that he did not think there would be a big difference for the PAP if the election were held this year or next.
Analysts said a post-Budget election in April or May would also make sense for the ruling party.
For one thing, the Government still has about $15 billion left to spend after this year's Budget. Money not spent before this term of government ends will get locked up in its past reserves.
Mr Inderjit said: "The Government will want to spend the surplus to cushion a possible recession."
Dr da Cunha said a May election would mean that next year's Budget could be turned into an election budget. May would also be a window in terms of precedent, as the 2006 and 2011 elections were held in that month, as were a number of by-elections, he added.
He noted, however, that it is ultimately the Prime Minister's prerogative to call an election at a time of his own choosing for the maximum benefit of his party. "Any number of factors could intervene that could either hasten or delay his calling an election," Dr da Cunha said.
Former Nominated MP Zulkifli Baharudin reckons the election could take place next year, as drawing up electoral boundaries "is not a straightforward thing".
For example, the committee has to factor in population growth in certain areas as it shrinks more GRCs and creates more SMCs.
"It could take months, even into next year," he said. In the past three elections helmed by Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, the committee has taken two to four months to do its work. Mr Zulkifli added: "The timing of the elections is a political strategy, but I think the PAP is already battle-ready once the electoral process begins."

LHL eating at a hawker centre? Mia lah, very costly to tax payers hor. Bomb squad and police need to sweep then NEA arrange to clean up. This is follow by body guards and blocking of roads. Cheaper to eat at a 5 star hotel lah. 

6 hours ago, Fu11thr0tt1e said:

actually... remove SDP, Chee from the video, let PAP supporters listen to the ideas, tell them its from some scholar minister.... and they will say PAP is the best.

in fact chee sounds more coherent than many ministers, if they even bother to speak out in the first place.... yet chee has been potrayed as some mad man.

esp the HDB price part... it was and still is a idiotic policy to use asset inflation as a policy .. it only passes the cost to our children, making them uncompetitive.

15 minutes ago, Kyrios said:

8k-10k-12k-14k to qualify bto

what does that tell us? [sly] 

does it mean 14k cannot afford restaurant liao? must choose between foodcourt and hawker?

I do not understand raising the limit to 14k and 16k has anything to do with ability to eat in restaurant. This is the upper limit, and lower limit to be able to buy. Before the raise already can afford, now can afford even more atas restaurants. . It is maybe more accurate to say that now those privilegde enough to be able to buy Posche is also able to buy a HDB flat, compare to Lexus from before.

Anyway it is common sight to see luxurious cars being parked in HDB carparks. Now can look forward to spot even more exotic models?

1 hour ago, Heartlander said:

I do not understand raising the limit to 14k and 16k has anything to do with ability to eat in restaurant. This is the upper limit, and lower limit to be able to buy. Before the raise already can afford, now can afford even more atas restaurants. . It is maybe more accurate to say that now those privilegde enough to be able to buy Posche is also able to buy a HDB flat, compare to Lexus from before.

Anyway it is common sight to see luxurious cars being parked in HDB carparks. Now can look forward to spot even more exotic models?

It meant private properties are way too expensive for 80% of Singaporeans. 

And many middle income group need to stay at public housing. 

168k PA/ 16k mthly household income go and fight with 4k monthly median income group or 8k per mth household income group on HDB BTO. 

Is this a way to bring down resale HDB pricing when BTO units are open to a wider pool of people?

3 hours ago, Atonchia said:

168k PA/ 16k mthly household income go and fight with 4k monthly median income group or 8k per mth household income group on HDB BTO. 

Is this a way to bring down resale HDB pricing when BTO units are open to a wider pool of people?

Could be a way to stimulate demand and prop up price?

Price go up but still More people can afford is a great election slogan.  

Edited by Playtime

Fair comment or wrong?

========

A man named Joshua Loke posted on the Facebook page of United Singaporean alleging People’s Action Party (PAP) for favouring foreign students by giving them easier exam papers compared to the locals for the University Entrance Examinations (UEE).

“So the PAPPIE Daniel Ng told me to look up the sample admission paper used to admit foreigners into our local universities. It’s called the UEE (University entrance exam). And I did that,” he wrote.

UEE is conducted to assess the suitability of selected applicants to pursue undergraduate courses in Singapore, and is open to selected or shortlisted international students from Indonesia and Vietnam who have not received their actual high-school graduation examination results. Students who would want to pursue courses like Law, Medicine, Dentistry, Nursing, Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Science will also be required to sit for UEE.

For those who takes UEE, they are required to sit for two compulsory papers, which are English and Mathematics, and a minimum of one elective subject based on the course that they would want to pursue.

In Mr Loke’s post, he attached a screenshot of National University of Singapore’s (NUS) UEE paper for Mathematics. He showed the sample questions to two current A-Level students and another one who just completed it.

To his surprise, he wrote that, “They unanimously agreed that the standard is O-Level. All 3 were shocked and horrified that this is the entrance exam given to foreigners, into university”.

As such, Mr Loke opined that “the implications are disgusting” because PAP has given the easier paper, which is O-Level standard, to A-Level students. On the other hand, local Singaporeans are given a much tougher paper to answer, he noted.

Comparing the situation to Singapore’s neighbouring country, Mr Loke also alleges Malaysia to set a tougher paper for the Chinese as they’re deemed as immigrant, as opposed to the Malays.

“If Malaysia discriminates against the Chinese by giving them the harder paper into University, because they’re ‘immigrants’, the traitorous PAP discriminates against native Singaporeans by giving us the harder paper!” he pointed out.

If that is not all, he also said that the same problem might be happening for the English paper as well.

“The same problem may be happening in English too – how do you explain the majority of PRCs in year 1 undergrads who cannot pass English – General Paper (GP)?” he wrote.

He added, “The rule clearly states that one needs to pass GP in order to enter university. So foreigners no need to have difficult math paper, no need to have difficult English paper?”

Therefore, Mr Loke claims that this whole situation is “clearly favouritism given to foreigners”.

On the other hand, a bunch of them also ridiculed Mr Loke’s claim. Some said that foreigners don’t actually compete with the locals because each of these groups compete among themselves. As such, Joel Wong noted “It doesn’t matter how easy or difficult their paper is. We are not competing with the foreigners.”

In addition, Desheng Chan also asked Mr Loke to provide “strong irrefutable evidence that the majority of PRCs cannot pass GP”, because if he can’t, then his post is “no more than blame shifting with a false narrative”.

On a separate note, we would like to know if you think the sample questions below are of A-Level standards in Singapore?

https://www.theonlinecitizen.com/201...s-it-the-case/

Edited by Playtime

4 hours ago, Atonchia said:

Are you talking sense?

Firstly private housing is for those earning more, not for the masses. Those new families should be gunning for hdb flats to be prudent.

Those earning 14k/mth are most likely not buying 3rm flats that the 4k/mth families are most likely to be buying lah. If these families are to enter the bto market, most likely they are aiming the bigger flats or EC lah. So your pitch is wrong,  Those earning 12k/mth could be feeling the heat, but do not think this policy change will have significant impact at all. Seriously do you think there are many 14k/mth families rushing in to grab the flats after this announcement haha?

9 hours ago, Wt_know said:

8k-10k-12k-14k to qualify bto

what does that tell us? [sly] 

does it mean 14k cannot afford restaurant liao? must choose between foodcourt and hawker?

I think that's going to be a reality. Cost of living keep increasing. Cost of eating out keep increasing. 

18 minutes ago, Heartlander said:

Are you talking sense?

Firstly private housing is for those earning more, not for the masses. Those new families should be gunning for hdb flats to be prudent.

Those earning 14k/mth are most likely not buying 3rm flats that the 4k/mth families are most likely to be buying lah. If these families are to enter the bto market, most likely they are aiming the bigger flats or EC lah. So your pitch is wrong,  Those earning 12k/mth could be feeling the heat, but do not think this policy change will have significant impact at all. Seriously do you think there are many 14k/mth families rushing in to grab the flats after this announcement haha?

good point. in that case, why set a limit since higher income family will not deprive lower income family to buy 3RM flats?

16 minutes ago, Heartlander said:

Are you talking sense?

I think will have. As not all choose for materialistic. Some are content with hdb flat. Maybe some use this hdb flat as an investment. So yeah..