Jaguar XF 2.0t/2.2D(2012) vs Lexus GS450H (2010)

jonbaekis00

hola my first new topic here on MCF 

currently considering these 2 (or rather 3) cars but really having difficulty deciding between another.

i have test drove only the Lexus GS450H among this, unless including the '08 XF 3.0 v6 petrol.

First of all just listing some of my opinions on the cars,

LEXUS GS450h (2010)

-SUPERB SUPERB Torque and power (254Kw) , Non-stop acceleration until there is not enough numbers on the speedometer

-AWESOME handling even at high speeds (+sports suspension works)

-The seats are far more comfortable and better feeling than on the Jag XF (maybe cause asian body?)

-Easier to use infotaintment system than on the XF

-crystal clear Mark levinson sound system

dislikes

-brand (aka face value) still bit of a setback on this. Some people say lexus for uncle lexus is expensive toyota .....

- interior not as posh as on Jag XF. bit boring la basically

-boot space (yes, hybrid batteries... but not that important)

Jaguar XF 2.2D /2.0T (2012 facelift)

- aircon vents and gear knob elevation ( every jag owner knows (: )

-POSH super luxurious interior, slightly less dated compared to Lexus

-ITS A JAG

- Diesel efficiency of 1000km full tank (2.2D)

dislikes

- the infotainment system seems a lot more complicated and difficult to use than on the Lexus

- engine specs nowhere near the lexus for both the 2.0 or 2.2 ( lexus really no fight in this segment )

- seats (as mentioned above)

- diesel clatter and pumping together with lorries and vans (for 2.2D)

- 100hp less but drinks more than lexus (2.0T)

anyone owns one of these cars can give an opinion? 

cheers bros, safe driving :)

Hi i dont own either but my dad used to drive the old lexus GS450H that you mentioned before trading in for the new GS450H in 2012.

Basically horsepower plus acceleration wise the Lexus is a clear winner.

Comfort wise lexus has the edge too.

He had to change the batteries once though expensive if getting from borneo

think he was quoted almost 10k . Luckily he extended the warranty to 5 years and the battery gave way just before the warranty was over.

Other than the battery, no issues to report reliability wise.

Should be fuss free motoring other than normal wear and tear servicing

Cant comment on the jaguar other than i think jaguar has more snob and badge appeal than Lexus even though the specs cant match the lexus.

Hi i dont own either but my dad used to drive the old lexus GS450H that you mentioned before trading in for the new GS450H in 2012.

Basically horsepower plus acceleration wise the Lexus is a clear winner.

Comfort wise lexus has the edge too.

He had to change the batteries once though expensive if getting from borneo

think he was quoted almost 10k . Luckily he extended the warranty to 5 years and the battery gave way just before the warranty was over.

Other than the battery, no issues to report reliability wise.

Should be fuss free motoring other than normal wear and tear servicing

Cant comment on the jaguar other than i think jaguar has more snob and badge appeal than Lexus even though the specs cant match the lexus.

Battery for 10k?! [shocked]

my friend changed his around 7k last time can't remember... too long ago already...

anyone able to give more advice? making the decision today....... :( hope i down regret my choice

my friend changed his around 7k last time can't remember... too long ago already...

anyone able to give more advice? making the decision today....... :( hope i down regret my choice

You have stated more pros than cons for Lexus than for the Jaguar.

Maybe you already have the answer.

But take note the Lexus is using a hybrid drivetrain and make sure you have a secured a warranty for the battery in case the battery fails, given the car is already 8 years old.

if u have budget for jag repairs and a second car, i say buy a jag if it brings you more driving pleasure. but if u want similar, a stinger 3.3 rwd could be a winner 

You have stated more pros than cons for Lexus than for the Jaguar.

Maybe you already have the answer.

But take note the Lexus is using a hybrid drivetrain and make sure you have a secured a warranty for the battery in case the battery fails, given the car is already 8 years old.

It seems like lexus is a slightly more sensible choice to IMHO...

im gonna view the 2 cars today.. will update ...

not too sure about FC of the 2.0t and the gs450h too

Drive high powered CC cars no need see petrol lah.

Just floor and pay for the gas.

if no need see petrol i get XF supercharged v6 petrol already lor... but i drive a lot leh one day at least 40-80km mileage... lag jialat if go JB

Seems like you want good FC and some power and some luxury.

Try to find a BMW or Audi 3.0 Turbodiesel then?

So what's your decision today?

got a jag 2.0t 

was actually quiet set on lexus but the 3 units i viewed today all had quite bad condition as the cars are like all 8+ years old

the jag 2.0T 240hp engine actually quite decent , but comfort and power really no fight to lexus.

but not regretting, next car definitely will be lexus, by then cfm sian of the cat car

got a jag 2.0t

was actually quiet set on lexus but the 3 units i viewed today all had quite bad condition as the cars are like all 8+ years old

the jag 2.0T 240hp engine actually quite decent , but comfort and power really no fight to lexus.

but not regretting, next car definitely will be lexus, by then cfm sian of the cat car

Congrats on your new ride and enjoy.

if no need see petrol i get XF supercharged v6 petrol already lor... but i drive a lot leh one day at least 40-80km mileage... lag jialat if go JB

Why go jb lagi jialat? Thought its better? Cheap petrol and the jag has a huge tank.. Make your trip sibeh worth it to go in..

i was saying the mileage in Jb la bro haha.. but petrol cheap so..

if me, dun need think,

lexus hand down..

gs450 almost the top level for normal lexus on the road liao??

and xf2.0 is like entry level for jag? just to sell brand only??

anw. i sit in both before. even a 8year old 450 is much more quiet and refine and comfortable then xf.

my friend XF only 30k about 3years old, sit inside engine feel damn rough,virbation, noisy .

(maybe its just me, or the xf that i sit in is poorly maintain [;)] )

if me, dun need think,

lexus hand down..

gs450 almost the top level for normal lexus on the road liao??

and xf2.0 is like entry level for jag? just to sell brand only??

anw. i sit in both before. even a 8year old 450 is much more quiet and refine and comfortable then xf.

my friend XF only 30k about 3years old, sit inside engine feel damn rough,virbation, noisy .

(maybe its just me, or the xf that i sit in is poorly maintain [;)] )

bobian. the interior conditions on the units i viewed were all quite bad... so just tahan awhile with the jag first... now the car sent for inspection before purchase.. if the car has issues then need to consider again...