Makan in Thailand

steveluv

Someone brought me to a hidden gem for lunch this afternoon, pad thai. Its in the neighbouring province Patumthani. Why is this a hidden gem? Well its located under a big flyover. Not so easily accessible. (watch my video).

Its kindda like makeshift place

2EAWmQO.jpg

Kitchen

K51EKxv.jpg

nBrGOip.jpg

Meatball was really nice 

Zg2tnzk.jpg

Check out eh pad thai, and the prawns are soooo fresh

8GtI1oE.jpg

Ordered hoi-thod too (Fried mussels with flour)

ys6ohWh.jpg

Inside the hoi-thod has vegetables

dkaCmL3.jpg

I believe anyone who had visited Thailand will know krapow-moo-saab (Thai basils minced pork) rice is the favourite meal here in Thailand as its a simple dish with vegetable, meat and rice a full meal on a plate. 

Another favourite that can also be found almost everywhere is khao-ka-moo or braised pork knuckle rice. This morning a friend introduced me to a shop thats very popular at the vicinity around it. Was told this shop had been around for more than  50 years.

Can hardly find this shop thats hidden behind the plants

ING9NtW.jpg

Shop

gaCYuIH.jpg

Big pot of braised pork knuckles, smells really good

sUeBpEt.jpg

Owner working on my breakfast

f4Hya09.jpg

Ordered a seaweed soup

KIoIYP3.jpg

Here's the breakfast

6WUdO05.jpg

This is probably one of the best I've had in Thailand

Discovered a new restaurant by a lake in Bangkok tonight. Very beautiful evironment tables set by the lake, comfortable, relaxing and natural.

idEjF7H.jpg

UfdseeA.jpg

What surprises me is the delicious food

Started with the egg plant salad

bx8tpYA.jpg

Somtam

B63SV82.jpg

Fresh salad with tamarind sauce

LFwSTbA.jpg

Seafood salad

6H405WA.jpg

Beautiful salads

eqSgEHd.jpg

Fish meat with salted egg yolk fried

bMypk0u.jpg

5cuBo8P.jpg

Thai herb pork balls

wMVAQk1.jpg

Seabass fried with fish sauce and raw mango

UR01Pho.jpg

LhL7542.jpg

Seafood custard

MzjWpOE.jpg

Crab curry

OcFeM0M.jpg

The spread

JOKhWYA.jpg

Visited one of Bangkok's largest markets on Friday night - Liab Duan Night Market 

ISr1XW6.jpg

duDyqvh.jpg

NTNnNq0.jpg

RN0AccT.jpg

XyFvmIg.jpg

XlFaiIT.jpg

HAn1tyt.jpg

SrnHFyr.jpg

6U2zACj.jpg

9AH3ypc.jpg

1a6bfkf.jpg

YwqEmgK.jpg

More photos

KoGS3rh.jpg

GDuInRs.jpg

oDH45MW.jpg

j3RTvPp.jpg

Okz255f.jpg

O2zj1KK.jpg

jFz5cQc.jpg

Its time to eat

cX4lN1j.jpg

Ww9UNzJ.jpg

Seafood with on table and eat with your hands

AMOgfEW.jpg

rrUd3rR.jpg

Jim Jum (Chim Chum) is a clay pot hot pot dish found all over Thailand. Customers will order fresh meats and vegetables mix with egg and cook it in a broth. I always wonder why Thais living is a very hot country like to eat hot pot in this heat however when I eat it I can understand its comfort food that can be eaten with close friends and have fun socialising.

After work at 8pm went to a jim jum  joint located at a roadside open air restaurant

uRRjPUv.jpg

mGH4ltu.jpg

vu2CywC.jpg

The spread

vqzaznF.jpg

Side orders, chicken wings and

iZwOMRj.jpg

Seafood salad

RyWqoOc.jpg

Jim jum

0mlU6eq.jpg

Found a very nice cafe this afternoon that also serve authentic Thai cuisine at the north of Bangkok - https://goo.gl/maps/xowospUXrsK2

Took a video here

Coconut salad

wxvfDoW.jpg

Seafood salad

OYM3BXv.jpg

Green curry

DQTGQqE.jpg

Somtam seafood

WLZZEne.jpg

Somtam Thai

NsA5Ur9.jpg

Chicken wings

U01HsD4.jpg

Meatballs with Thai herbs

4crWF1g.jpg

Table full

wNXzAtp.jpg

Very nice spread

dR58JRz.jpg

Took an almost 6hrs drive to mid-north of Thailand this morning

post-235536-0-96450500-1554546117_thumb.jpg

Basically driving along Thailand inter-provincial highway, video taken almost reaching destination

Had a simple pit stop lunch before proceeding

Rice with egg and southern Thai pork

NPKfGQ5.jpg

Pork green curry

MKvw6NY.jpg

Chicken cooked in coconut broth

ltsdGq0.jpg

Meal that costs only $7

fktaLvY.jpg

Waiting for my dinner at this restaurant now

nice. Will check it out next time I go north.

how's the air in Tak? It's still quite bad in Chiang Mai...

Are you heading further north or going to Mae Sot?

I like exploring the old city ruins in Kamphaeng Phet.

nice. Will check it out next time I go north.

how's the air in Tak? It's still quite bad in Chiang Mai...

Are you heading further north or going to Mae Sot?

I like exploring the old city ruins in Kamphaeng Phet.

Restaurant is known as Pimgview - https://goo.gl/maps/9vUBZGdDdTw

Air is clear in Tak. Will spend some time here tomorrow and turn back to Bangkok tomorrow evening or Monday morning. 

Its a very nice drive as the expansion of the highway had completed some time last year.

Took a walk at the river Ping this morning

tI0icg8.jpg

QPfBVLz.jpg

The above yellow flowers are known as dok-khun Thailand's national flower.

bduh47C.jpg

alfMTfF.jpg

0deaAVi.jpg

mqrDotN.jpg

X4Y3hip.jpg

H6LBtU8.jpg

Tak Province is the 4th largest province in Thailand

But with a population of only half a million it’s 75th in terms of people density out of 76 provinces.

Many mountains here and a famous district of Tak Province is Mae Sot popular with tourists as there’re many hill tribes there. Being a gateway into Myanmar this district is also infamous for trafficking

In Thailand province has a capital city with the same name as the province but identified as Mueang which means city. Chiangmai province has a Mueang Chiangmai which most people are familiar with. Some cities like Chiangmai, Khon Kaen, Ubon etc are real cities but some capital “cities” are kore like a town like Mueang Tak. This is basically Mueang Tak