Makan in Thailand

steveluv

Took a drive to Jomtien yesterday to chill out at the beach. 

This is one thing good living in Thailand if one is bored in the city a good beach or mountain is just a 2hrs drive away.

24 minutes ago, steveluv said:

Took a drive to Jomtien yesterday to chill out at the beach. 

This is one thing good living in Thailand if one is bored in the city a good beach or mountain is just a 2hrs drive away.

nice! i always think the beach at jomtien is far nicer than at pattaya .. unless you go up to na kluea/wongamat where it is not so busy ..

or go over to koh larn .. beaches there are really nice .. though have to rent a motorbike there to get to the beaches ..

as an aside .. good to see you are enjoying singha instead of chang 5555

Edited by Mooose

Thailand is in ailing economy now, with daily spikes of new cases yet thinking of opening borders is a sure calculated risk not forgetting internal business has been affected badly with many shop & businesses has closed lately. Jobless and in danger of more uprising of lack of care by ruling party

We have received videos of thailand & such, not in good stage of mound to travel yet the video look promising. [laugh]

29 minutes ago, Meanmachine said:

Thailand is in ailing economy now, with daily spikes of new cases yet thinking of opening borders is a sure calculated risk not forgetting internal business has been affected badly with many shop & businesses has closed lately. Jobless and in danger of more uprising of lack of care by ruling party

We have received videos of thailand & such, not in good stage of mound to travel yet the video look promising. [laugh]

open borders soon?

even the original announcement has been back pedaled by different people including the announcer ..

think it is not so easy to do .. it is not as if one says virus disappear border opening and it will happen ..

the irony is that this third wave started at the end of march from krystal in thong lor .. where the hiso phuyai including influential govt people partied .. and then nothing substantial was done to stop the spread to all provinces when people travelled back for songkhran in april .. it is now almost 3 months from the start, and cases are consistently in the 2000 to 3000 mark daily .. cannot even ringfence or stop further spread to bring down the numbers in 3 whole months ..

if the numbers cannot be controlled in the past 3 months, how sure is it that it can be done in the next 3 months? 

shops and businesses have been hit long ago since last year .. iirc international tourism brings 12% GDP not to count the many associated benefits like F&B .. its all dead .. people are out of jobs since last year but these are the men in the street .. if you ask the hiso elites life is as pretty normal as it can be .. no vaccines, mai penlai .. can go to europe or USA to get vaccinated .. or pay at private hospitals .. otherwise vips can arrange queue jumping for vaccines (latest is the attempt by chang beer people to have pre-arranged vaccination slots which was announced to be cancelled when news got out, but many still suspect that it will be done but more discretely now) .. instead of going to those who really need it .. 

dont believe? if you know the right people you are ok .. just see the red bull case .. was to have been dropped but reopened months ago due to public outcry .. but up to now, not a shred of anything concrete being done to bring this to justice .. or the convicted drug dealer who is the number 2 man in the ruling party and the number 3 man in the whole gov ..

gov announcement is for show only .. they have nothing to lose - they already have 250 senators handpicked by the junta who will not vote against the ruling party .. can it really open? let us see how well the phuket sandbox does .. 

Edited by Mooose

7 hours ago, Mooose said:

open borders soon?

even the original announcement has been back pedaled by different people including the announcer ..

think it is not so easy to do .. it is not as if one says virus disappear border opening and it will happen ..

the irony is that this third wave started at the end of march from krystal in thong lor .. where the hiso phuyai including influential govt people partied .. and then nothing substantial was done to stop the spread to all provinces when people travelled back for songkhran in april .. it is now almost 3 months from the start, and cases are consistently in the 2000 to 3000 mark daily .. cannot even ringfence or stop further spread to bring down the numbers in 3 whole months ..

if the numbers cannot be controlled in the past 3 months, how sure is it that it can be done in the next 3 months? 

shops and businesses have been hit long ago since last year .. iirc international tourism brings 12% GDP not to count the many associated benefits like F&B .. its all dead .. people are out of jobs since last year but these are the men in the street .. if you ask the hiso elites life is as pretty normal as it can be .. no vaccines, mai penlai .. can go to europe or USA to get vaccinated .. or pay at private hospitals .. otherwise vips can arrange queue jumping for vaccines (latest is the attempt by chang beer people to have pre-arranged vaccination slots which was announced to be cancelled when news got out, but many still suspect that it will be done but more discretely now) .. instead of going to those who really need it .. 

dont believe? if you know the right people you are ok .. just see the red bull case .. was to have been dropped but reopened months ago due to public outcry .. but up to now, not a shred of anything concrete being done to bring this to justice .. or the convicted drug dealer who is the number 2 man in the ruling party and the number 3 man in the whole gov ..

gov announcement is for show only .. they have nothing to lose - they already have 250 senators handpicked by the junta who will not vote against the ruling party .. can it really open? let us see how well the phuket sandbox does .. 

Well sometimes you see all these things and you think about it Singapore don't have such problems. Should be thankful. However living in a country like Thailand for more than 15 years now I still find this is a better place to live, more relaxing, more fun, more opportunities for business as the market is huge. Medical facilities here is world class and like in Singapore you buy medical insurance so there is no difference.  You noticed I haven't even mention cost of living.

9 hours ago, steveluv said:

Well sometimes you see all these things and you think about it Singapore don't have such problems. Should be thankful. However living in a country like Thailand for more than 15 years now I still find this is a better place to live, more relaxing, more fun, more opportunities for business as the market is huge. Medical facilities here is world class and like in Singapore you buy medical insurance so there is no difference.  You noticed I haven't even mention cost of living.

for sure .. i cannot disagree that it is really a nice place to stay ..

only the system sometimes gets to me .. like within 24 hours of arriving must go to immigration to put in TM30 and so on ..

i always think the people are simple (not in a bad way but as in straightforward, not cunning in general) friendly and helpful .. feel safe mostly - from petty muggings, break-ins and so on that some people are concerned with in malaysia .. always feel safe walking on the streets at night .. and malls, beaches and hills are all within a short drive away ..

properties are cheap and as a bonus, cars (esp MIT) are cheap too! 😊

9 hours ago, steveluv said:

The missus wanted braised beef shank to go with beer so I made this evening

f4kilwa.jpg

na kin khun steve!

Today's Covid new cases

New Cases
Thailand 3,984 ( +949 )
Prison 75 ( -65 )
———————————————-
Total 4,059 ( +884 )

Deaths 35 ( +6 )

7FMHIhc.jpg

Thailand has basically gone to the dogs with this motherf**ker clueless Prayut at the helm. 

• Sad 1

My breakfast this morning

8.15am start preparation, herbs and spices
WZ2cjjY.jpg

The cooking

Chicken curry and pratha
0M121PZ.jpg

35 minutes ago, steveluv said:

My breakfast this morning

8.15am start preparation, herbs and spices
WZ2cjjY.jpg

The cooking

Chicken curry and pratha
0M121PZ.jpg

looks delicious .. have you thought of setting up a side-line catering business? 😉

40 minutes ago, steveluv said:

Today's Covid new cases

New Cases
Thailand 3,984 ( +949 )
Prison 75 ( -65 )
———————————————-
Total 4,059 ( +884 )

Deaths 35 ( +6 )

7FMHIhc.jpg

Thailand has basically gone to the dogs with this motherf**ker clueless Prayut at the helm. 

3 months already since this 3rd wave and its certainly not showing any signs of getting better ..

4 minutes ago, Mooose said:

looks delicious .. have you thought of setting up a side-line catering business? 😉

I think better sell screws 

this may or may not be sound advice but for sure it will not go because many of the visitors hoped to come by are from a place that makes SV 🤫

https://www.thaienquirer.com/28837/senior-doctor-warns-sinovac-should-not-be-considered-for-phuket-sandbox/

Senior doctor warns Sinovac should not be considered for Phuket sandbox

By Cod Satrusayang

June 22, 2021

Travelers who have been vaccinated with Sinovac should not be allowed to participate in Thailand’s ‘Phuket Sandbox’ program, a senior doctor told Thai Enquirer on Tuesday.

The Phuket Sandbox is due to open on July 1 and will be a major milestone in the government’s quest to reopen the country by October.

As it stands, tourists that have been vaccinated with AstraZeneca, Pfizer, Moderna, Johnson & Johnson, Sinovac, and Sinopharm vaccines will be allowed to enter Phuket freely.

However, a senior doctor at Siriraj Hospital says that the Sinovac vaccine should be taken off the approved list due to recent studies. (Read more here)

“The studies are pretty conclusive, this vaccine does nothing to prevent the spread of the Delta variant of the virus,” the doctor told Thai Enquirer on condition of anonymity.

“The Delta variant will be the dominant strand in the world before long and we cannot let people in who would spread this disease further.”

The doctor added that while the Sinovac vaccine likely helped to prevent severe symptoms, it was not enough to allow its use with the Phuket sandbox program.

“For our own people, it is okay because it helps the public health sector fight against severe symptoms and prevents deaths,” he said. “But in terms of foreign travelers, they could not have symptoms at all but still carry the disease and spread it.”

“That is why we cannot approve Sinovac for foreign travelers coming to Thailand.”

15 minutes ago, Mooose said:

this may or may not be sound advice but for sure it will not go because many of the visitors hoped to come by are from a place that makes SV 🤫

https://www.thaienquirer.com/28837/senior-doctor-warns-sinovac-should-not-be-considered-for-phuket-sandbox/

Senior doctor warns Sinovac should not be considered for Phuket sandbox

By Cod Satrusayang

June 22, 2021

Travelers who have been vaccinated with Sinovac should not be allowed to participate in Thailand’s ‘Phuket Sandbox’ program, a senior doctor told Thai Enquirer on Tuesday.

The Phuket Sandbox is due to open on July 1 and will be a major milestone in the government’s quest to reopen the country by October.

As it stands, tourists that have been vaccinated with AstraZeneca, Pfizer, Moderna, Johnson & Johnson, Sinovac, and Sinopharm vaccines will be allowed to enter Phuket freely.

However, a senior doctor at Siriraj Hospital says that the Sinovac vaccine should be taken off the approved list due to recent studies. (Read more here)

“The studies are pretty conclusive, this vaccine does nothing to prevent the spread of the Delta variant of the virus,” the doctor told Thai Enquirer on condition of anonymity.

“The Delta variant will be the dominant strand in the world before long and we cannot let people in who would spread this disease further.”

The doctor added that while the Sinovac vaccine likely helped to prevent severe symptoms, it was not enough to allow its use with the Phuket sandbox program.

“For our own people, it is okay because it helps the public health sector fight against severe symptoms and prevents deaths,” he said. “But in terms of foreign travelers, they could not have symptoms at all but still carry the disease and spread it.”

“That is why we cannot approve Sinovac for foreign travelers coming to Thailand.”

It's confusing.

Why Sinovac OK for own ppl and not so for foreign travellers? If spread, won't the locals still be OK as it (quote) "helps the public health sector fight against severe symptoms and prevents deaths"? (unquote) And iirc Delta variant already visited and for now, still visiting Thailand. 

My England these days having trouble keeping up with such cheem-ness. 😅

Covid-19 if I understand correctly no go school one, no see ICs. Heck care Thai ppl with Sinovac or foreign travellers with Sinovac. Just whack then see how. 

Stay safe, Steve. Eat eat eat😋😋😋🤭

36 minutes ago, PSP415 said:

It's confusing.

Why Sinovac OK for own ppl and not so for foreign travellers? If spread, won't the locals still be OK as it (quote) "helps the public health sector fight against severe symptoms and prevents deaths"? (unquote) And iirc Delta variant already visited and for now, still visiting Thailand. 

My England these days having trouble keeping up with such cheem-ness. 😅

Covid-19 if I understand correctly no go school one, no see ICs. Heck care Thai ppl with Sinovac or foreign travellers with Sinovac. Just whack then see how. 

Stay safe, Steve. Eat eat eat😋😋😋🤭

true what you say, but i think that guy is trying to step on two boats so to speak .. so as not to slap the gov too hard for only offering SV (and AZ) to the people .. on one hand try to justify the reason for not allowing SV vaccinated tourists to come in (low efficacy) yet not to upset too much the gov and the people who have already gotten the SV jabs.

yes, many local workers in phuket have gotten SV shots .. and it is indeed a risk that even whatever vaccinations anyone has had, they are all still carriers .. and can risk infecting locals ..

Edited by Mooose

Today's Covid new cases

New Cases
Thailand 3,138 ( -846 )
Prison 36 ( -39 )
———————————————-
Total 3,174 ( -885 )

Deaths 51 ( +16 )

7m7GGUA.jpg

7 hours ago, steveluv said:

Today's Covid new cases

New Cases
Thailand 3,138 ( -846 )
Prison 36 ( -39 )
———————————————-
Total 3,174 ( -885 )

Deaths 51 ( +16 )

7m7GGUA.jpg

https://www.thaienquirer.com/28886/leading-chula-professor-criticizes-governments-sinovac-obsession/

and now we know that SV cost the gov more than the mrna vaccines, so why choose a more expensive but less effective product?