Speed limit 4 PMDs, bicycles to be cut to 10kmh on footpath

RogerNg_185295

he is from any of your constituency? you voted him you don't complain...

ivory tower...

The Ministry of Transport (MOT) has no plans to ban Personal Mobility Devices (PMDs), despite calls from some Members of Parliament to remove them from footpaths due to the increasing number of reports of accidents to pedestrians.

Read more at https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/no-plans-to-ban-pmds-on-footpaths-ministry-of-transport-11510182

Edited by Kopites

my solution very simple.

force all pmd onto the road and see whether will they behave (ride) in proper manner. stupidity have no cure.

getting very angry after going through the news again.

so MOT want to protect pmd safety and not pedestrian! pardon my fault word..fxxk..

On the other hand... [:|]  [furious]  [furious]

Parliament: Town councils can ban the use of PMDs at void decks

SINGAPORE - Town councils can ban the use of personal mobility devices (PMDs) at void decks if they feel these devices threaten the safety of residents, said Senior Minister of State for Transport Lam Pin Min in Parliament on Tuesday (May 7).

While the Active Mobility Act governs the use of PMDs and bicycles in areas such as footpaths, it exempts other places such as void decks - including lift lobbies and mailbox areas, he said.

This is because they are deemed as "not critical for connectivity", he noted.

"Thus, town councils can set and enforce their own rules on the usage of personal mobility devices in such areas, including banning their use," said Dr Lam, responding to a question by Mr Murali Pillai (Bukit Batok).

Mr Pillai asked if the Transport Ministry would consider taking the lead in imposing regulations in such areas, suggesting that there would be "no real difference" in the approach of the different town councils.

He noted that just last month, a 65-year-old woman was hit by an e-scooter rider while checking her mailbox at the void deck of Block 186 Bukit Batok West Avenue 6.

Workers' Party chief Pritam Singh (Aljunied GRC) asked if the Active Mobility Act could be extended to cover the use of PMDs at void decks, noting that imposing the force of law would be more effective than having individual town councils come up with their own rules.

"We have an elderly population, it's going to grow in the next 10 years, and I believe that if the ministry takes the lead, then you will have lesser chance of untoward incidents happening," said Mr Singh.

However, Dr Lam said town councils should have the flexibility to decide whether to ban PMDs, noting the differing configuration of void decks at different places.

"If the town council feels that the banning of PMD use at void deck is necessary, then it can be done under the town council by-laws."

Ms Lee Bee Wah (Nee Soon GRC) asked if town councils could be empowered to take enforcement action against errant PMD riders in town centres, which are covered by the Active Mobility Act.

Dr Lam said that while the Active Mobility Act does not currently allow for town council staff to be appointed as public path wardens, the Transport Ministry is in discussions with the Land Transport Authority and the Attorney-General's Chambers to see if this can be amended.

Ms Joan Pereira (Tanjong Pagar GRC) and Ms Lee both asked if Singapore could follow the example of cities such as Paris, which will ban the use of e-scooters on pavements from September this year.

However, Dr Lam said the Republic has to tailor its regulations to the local context, while continuing to study the approach taken by other countries.

Banning PMDs from footpaths and restricting their use to roads would pose a greater risk to riders as well as motorists, he said, noting that in February, the speed limit for PMDs and bicycles on footpaths had been reduced from 15kmh to 10kmh as part of efforts to enhance safety.

Ms Lee asked what advice the LTA could give pedestrians, such as the elderly or children, who might be particularly vulnerable to speeding PMDs.

Dr Lam said pedestrians should be alert to the presence of PMD users while riders should stay within the speed limit and slow down when approaching crowds.

"I think we just have to exercise graciousness, caution as well as to act responsibly when we share the use of common spaces such as footpaths and even in shared paths," he said.

Separately, Dr Lam noted the Active Mobility Advisory Panel is considering stronger measures to ensure that PMD riders working for food delivery services will be covered by third-party liability insurance when riding for work.

In a Facebook post, the panel's chairman, Senior Parliamentary Secretary Muhammad Faishal Ibrahim, said more details will be announced later this year.

Tai%2040.jpg

On the other hand... [:|][furious][furious]

SINGAPORE - Town councils can ban the use of personal mobility devices (PMDs) at void decks if they feel these devices threaten the safety of residents, said Senior Minister of State for Transport Lam Pin Min in Parliament on Tuesday (May 7).

While the Active Mobility Act governs the use of PMDs and bicycles in areas such as footpaths, it exempts other places such as void decks - including lift lobbies and mailbox areas, he said.

"Thus, town councils can set and enforce their own rules on the usage of personal mobility devices in such areas, including banning their use," said Dr Lam, responding to a question by Mr Murali Pillai (Bukit Batok).

Mr Pillai asked if the Transport Ministry would consider taking the lead in imposing regulations in such areas, suggesting that there would be "no real difference" in the approach of the different town councils.

He noted that just last month, a 65-year-old woman was hit by an e-scooter rider while checking her mailbox at the void deck of Block 186 Bukit Batok West Avenue 6.

Workers' Party chief Pritam Singh (Aljunied GRC) asked if the Active Mobility Act could be extended to cover the use of PMDs at void decks, noting that imposing the force of law would be more effective than having individual town councils come up with their own rules.

"We have an elderly population, it's going to grow in the next 10 years, and I believe that if the ministry takes the lead, then you will have lesser chance of untoward incidents happening," said Mr Singh.

However, Dr Lam said town councils should have the flexibility to decide whether to ban PMDs, noting the differing configuration of void decks at different places.

"If the town council feels that the banning of PMD use at void deck is necessary, then it can be done under the town council by-laws."

Ms Lee Bee Wah (Nee Soon GRC) asked if town councils could be empowered to take enforcement action against errant PMD riders in town centres, which are covered by the Active Mobility Act.

Dr Lam said that while the Active Mobility Act does not currently allow for town council staff to be appointed as public path wardens, the Transport Ministry is in discussions with the Land Transport Authority and the Attorney-General's Chambers to see if this can be amended.

Ms Joan Pereira (Tanjong Pagar GRC) and Ms Lee both asked if Singapore could follow the example of cities such as Paris, which will ban the use of e-scooters on pavements from September this year.

However, Dr Lam said the Republic has to tailor its regulations to the local context, while continuing to study the approach taken by other countries.

Banning PMDs from footpaths and restricting their use to roads would pose a greater risk to riders as well as motorists, he said, noting that in February, the speed limit for PMDs and bicycles on footpaths had been reduced from 15kmh to 10kmh as part of efforts to enhance safety.

Ms Lee asked what advice the LTA could give pedestrians, such as the elderly or children, who might be particularly vulnerable to speeding PMDs.

Dr Lam said pedestrians should be alert to the presence of PMD users while riders should stay within the speed limit and slow down when approaching crowds.

"I think we just have to exercise graciousness, caution as well as to act responsibly when we share the use of common spaces such as footpaths and even in shared paths," he said.

Separately, Dr Lam noted the Active Mobility Advisory Panel is considering stronger measures to ensure that PMD riders working for food delivery services will be covered by third-party liability insurance when riding for work.

In a Facebook post, the panel's chairman, Senior Parliamentary Secretary Muhammad Faishal Ibrahim, said more details will be announced later this year.

Tai%2040.jpg

cool down Bros!

I read from.cna comments pmd can be spotted at bus terminal. I hardly take bus..but if really so than this MOT must be stir fry held responsible.

Edited by Kopites

Only when he/his kids/wife/parents kena knocked down on pavements and suffer serious injuries then he will act. Kow TCSS.

Maybe they don't even walk on pavements?

he is from any of your constituency? you voted him you don't complain...

ivory tower...

The Ministry of Transport (MOT) has no plans to ban Personal Mobility Devices (PMDs), despite calls from some Members of Parliament to remove them from footpaths due to the increasing number of reports of accidents to pedestrians.

Read more at https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/no-plans-to-ban-pmds-on-footpaths-ministry-of-transport-11510182

MOT have failed to protect the public safety and interest by allowing PMD on walking pavement.

Our founding father used to said Singapore is safe that you can walk and jog outside at night...but not anymore with PMD around.

I am angry like everyone here. mind our words okie. I don't want to see anyone get into trouble.

Yes is totally wrong! pedestrian safety should be the top priority of every government. if citizen safety is the least priority then achieving certain Kpi than we all do need to take a good hard look at our selves. our vote. our government. our future.

Edited by Kopites

This Lam Pin Min talk machiam Singapore is the size of USA...... Each town is big enough to have their own law and regulation..... 

Next time might as well allow gay sex law to be decided by each town council....

Jiak liao bee....  <_<

Tai%2040.jpg

This Lam Pin Min talk machiam Singapore is the size of USA...... Each town is big enough to have their own law and regulation.....

Next time might as well allow gay sex law to be decided by each town council....

Jiak liao bee.... <_<

stupid or dump? I have no word to describe.

this side of the road under one town council. across the road another town council? so how? pmd ride see the marking on the road to decide ride or not ride?

lost for word. Feel like insulting my intellectual capability.

Edited by Kopites

this side of the road under one town council. across the road another town council? so how? pmd ride see the marking on the road to decide ride or not ride?

Not stupid, not dumb. This type very smart one. No need to be the bad guy. Don't make decisions (that will sure make some people unhappy). Tai chi to someone else. Essential skills to be a silver servant.

And now apparently essential skills to be a politician too.

So the safety of my family and children depends on the PMD riders to practice graciousness? From observation, majority are the si gina and almost none of them practice that.

Last time got Malboro Tan screwed up  Singaporean's life with policy that make their first home expensive. Now, the next policy to screwed up Singaporean life is from LTA,  by putting them into hospital or coffin on a Pedestrian Path or void deck which were deemed safe.   They are creating dangerous environment everywhere.

I am totally clueless why we are concern of PMD rider safety instead of pedestrians. Who choose to endanger life first leh? So next time i got a new play thing, everyone else got to consider my safety ok?

Jiak liao bee.... <_<

Whenever I saw his name, it never fails to remind me of what I heard folks at coffeeshop and hawker center called him. Lam Pxr Bin :D

And does TC have the power and resources to deal with errant PMD users?

So the safety of my family and children depends on the PMD riders to practice graciousness? From observation, majority are the si gina and almost none of them practice that.

Last time got Malboro Tan screwed up Singaporean's life with policy that make their first home expensive. Now, the next policy to screwed up Singaporean life is from LTA, by putting them into hospital or coffin on a Pedestrian Path or void deck which were deemed safe. They are creating dangerous environment everywhere.

Exactly. Safety of human is less important than their Carlite KPI...

He added: “Therefore, banning the use of active mobility devices on footpaths is not the solution. We do agree that active mobility plays an important role in our vision to making Singapore a car-lite society.

I am totally clueless why we are concern of PMD rider safety instead of pedestrians. Who choose to endanger life first leh? So next time i got a new play thing, everyone else got to consider my safety ok?

If you look at the bigger picture (from the MIW perspective), banning PMD will even affect the economy (since there are many unemployed doing food delivery using PMD for a living), and not to mention, opening up another can of worms (high unemployment rate, high % of FT, social support for the poor, etc. etc.)

So PMD is for food delivery? Beside PMD, I am sure bicycles can also do the same job lah. Don't transfer 1 risk to another. Tackle at it's source.

Before the advert of PMD, Taiwanese has always been using scooter or bicycle for food delivery.

What makes us so special? 

Cycling is too menial a form of transport?

If no more PMD, everyone currently doing food delivery will rather sit at home and wait for handouts? 

What logic? 

So PMD is for food delivery? Beside PMD, I am sure bicycles can also do the same job lah. Don't transfer 1 risk to another. Tackle at it's source.