Tyre patching safe?

Hyde

1 tyre got punctured by nails.

Patching safe?

Or need to change new tyres?

Tyres only can change in pairs. Don't know if its worth it.

If patched up how long is the estimate lifespan of the tyre?

Patching safe?

it depends on the location of the puncture and the age of the tyres.

assuming the tyres are quite new and it can be repaired, you may go to a tyre shop that does internal patching. once, i went to a tyre shop where the worker used the worm method to plug the puncture from outside. air started to leak from the affected area after six months. from then on, i only go to tyre shops that do internal patching.

Patching safe?

patch only 10 buks +- 

if patch liao,

test no leak, then use first loh.

heng heng no problem tahan until next set.

if really slowly leak again then change also no too late right. [;)]

Patching safe?

nail holes no issue lah, can just patch and drive until next tyre change. 

But each tyre can only patch max twice, third time cannot patch liao, need to change it out.  More than 2 holes punctured also better to change it out. [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Patching safe?

it depends largely on the nature of the puncture

if side wall then better change

if ordinary type of puncture then go for simple patch

if you are so worried about patch, there are literally thousands of cars out their with repair patch

did not hear of reports exploding tyres or the likes from the repairs

usually if done properly, the repair patch cannot even be recognized, they last as long as you got enough money to maintain the car

nail holes no issue lah, can just patch and drive until next tyre change. 

But each tyre can only patch max twice, third time cannot patch liao, need to change it out.  More than 2 holes punctured also better to change it out. [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Or you die, I tell Radx

He got more than 2 holes

I read the worm method is temporary only... Fast fix until you get to a shop that can do internal patching.

Yes worms are temporary only. However many local workshop love the fast buck and will always tell you “ can one, I have done thousands and no problem”. And if there is a problem if the worm , it will be “I have done thousands, all no problem, don’t know why yours have a problem.”

In the end why risk it when a proper patch is but another $10-$15 more.

I only go to hurry or south east tires for an internal patch.

In the last 25ywars of driving, all my punctures are nails or screws. And the air leaks out slowly. What I do now is use a portable air pump and inflate the tire up and get it to one of the 2 shops above to do an internal patch. Never bothered to use the spare now.

Edited by Mkl22

Yes worms are temporary only. However many local workshop love the fast buck and will always tell you “ can one, I have done thousands and no problem”. And if there is a problem if the worm , it will be “I have done thousands, all no problem, don’t know why yours have a problem.”

In the end why risk it when a proper patch is but another $10-$15 more.

I only go to hurry or south east tires for an internal patch.

In the last 25ywars of driving, all my punctures are nails or screws. And the air leaks out slowly. What I do now is use a portable air pump and inflate the tire up and get it to one of the 2 shops above to do an internal patch. Never bothered to use the spare now.

Last time spare tire really give you an actual spare of your original tires.

Now the spare tires for cars are either a small yellow donut or a black donut. Its just what color.

Only lorries and pick up still give original spare tires

my previous set of tyres got punctured by nail within the first week, damn suay but used worm patch.

actually can drive but air leakage is slightly faster for that particular patched tyre lo, i.e after a week 3 tyres at 210 that tyre at 200.

but highly recommend internal patching.

Just to share my experience with tyre patching.

In my 18 years of driving, I've had a fair share of nails but they have all been slow leaks and I've always used worm patching.

TPMS alerted a low pressure on Tuesday, so I went to do a worm patch as usual at the petrol station workshop just outside my place.

But I decided to try internal patching today at Southeast Tyres.

10/10 to them and it's worth every cent!

here's the process:

First the worm is taken out and the Tyre is ground with a "stone"

post-1798-0-27583200-1560477436_thumb.jpeg

Next, use a metal brush to scrub off residual stuff

post-1798-0-59026500-1560477519_thumb.jpeg

Vacuum the shards away

post-1798-0-09782200-1560477559_thumb.jpeg

Spray some alcohol like stuff on the area

post-1798-0-48288400-1560477614_thumb.jpeg

Rub in some tar like paste

post-1798-0-46093200-1560477735_thumb.jpeg

The boss saw the worker's work, wasn't satisfied. Did it himself! Used a drill to drill out residuals. Great commitment to doing a sweet sweet job

post-1798-0-30521600-1560477833_thumb.jpeg

Patch is in

post-1798-0-63532700-1560477862_thumb.jpeg

Knead the patch down

post-1798-0-55306000-1560477908_thumb.jpeg

Apply some more tar stuff around the patch

post-1798-0-21143100-1560477937_thumb.jpeg

Cut off the outside and it's done!

post-1798-0-96737900-1560477963_thumb.jpeg

• Praise 13

Just to share my experience with tyre patching.

In my 18 years of driving, I've had a fair share of nails but they have all been slow leaks and I've always used worm patching.

TPMS alerted a low pressure on Tuesday, so I went to do a worm patch as usual at the petrol station workshop just outside my place.

But I decided to try internal patching today at Southeast Tyres.

10/10 to them and it's worth every cent!

here's the process:

First the worm is taken out and the Tyre is ground with a "stone"

attachicon.gifF2F5A47C-4831-44EB-B1DA-9671B7F6DF29.jpeg

Next, use a metal brush to scrub off residual stuff

attachicon.gif4ABDD937-AE90-40EE-8FB6-73E37D69CE97.jpeg

Vacuum the shards away

attachicon.gifE4F28A1D-B6AB-42D8-AA51-C4947C91733B.jpeg

Spray some alcohol like stuff on the area

attachicon.gifB2C8B7EE-5DDE-4A67-ACA6-83151CDC58FA.jpeg

Rub in some tar like paste

attachicon.gifEB52C741-EAFC-4830-BA62-5F796F9174D8.jpeg

The boss saw the worker's work, wasn't satisfied. Did it himself! Used a drill to drill out residuals. Great commitment to doing a sweet sweet job

attachicon.gifF63FD405-45A5-40E0-9D07-FE64BFF2EA7D.jpeg

Patch is in

attachicon.gif85E11C6C-618E-4A19-8E82-9D98C8B5FA98.jpeg

Knead the patch down

attachicon.gif6EE1EEB5-FD87-4A02-83F9-5A2281BF2885.jpeg

Apply some more tar stuff around the patch

attachicon.gif7E118410-BB79-4EFB-ADE3-166588440275.jpeg

Cut off the outside and it's done!

attachicon.gif45077DE1-FAAE-496B-AD17-BB78C092ACEE.jpeg

appreciate your sharing.. but my neck hurts after going thru your post!!  [laugh]

Did similar job recently for 25 bucks....

Which shop bro?

appreciate your sharing.. but my neck hurts after going thru your post!! [laugh]

Sorry ah. MCF got issue with portrait photos sometimes

I think the shop owner feel pressured when he saw you take so many pic. Must be posting somewhere where many ppl are watching hence must do a better job.

They have been doing internal patch exactly this way for years. Doubt they need the extra publicity.