Commuters to undergo security screening at MRT stations

ChaosMyth

SINGAPORE: Commuters may soon be required to put their belongings through an X-ray scanner and walk through a metal detector before entering fare gates at MRT stations. 

This is part of enhanced security screening being tested at several stations, the Land Transport Authority (LTA) said on Monday (Nov 5). 

post-186600-0-41602000-1541408209_thumb.jpg

The trial will begin on Nov 12. 

LTA said the data from the trial will enable it to "streamline and optimise its security screening processes, and reduce the future impact on daily rail operations". 

"We will also collect feedback from commuters and public transport operators to improve the effectiveness of future security operations and emergency exercises." 

LTA chief executive Ngien Hoon Ping said the authority will continue to enhance its security measures to ensure that the transport system remained safe and secure for all commuters. 

"By the end of this year, public transport operators will also progressively introduce the use of handheld metal detectors in their security checks at bus interchanges and MRT stations," he added

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/commuters-to-undergo-security-screening-at-mrt-stations-as-part-10898938

Lol, machiam taking aeroplane lidat.. lol.. on a serious note, who's gonna pay for the new machines and labor to do this screening??

Then next time enter any premises also need to scan everything?

Scanner vendor sure huat liao... Dunno who they are.. hmmm...

This is playing into the bad guy's playbook,to make your life as uncomfortable as possible until you give in to them, n do their bidding to stop the inconveniences..

Lol, machiam taking aeroplane lidat.. lol.. on a serious note, who's gonna pay for the new machines and labor to do this screening??

Then next time enter any premises also need to scan everything?

Scanner vendor sure huat liao... Dunno who they are.. hmmm...

This is playing into the bad guy's playbook,to make your life as uncomfortable as possible until you give in to them, n do their bidding to stop the inconveniences..

In response to your last para, a bit of a philosophical tangent, but just imagine...in a world without "bad guys" or any ill-intent at all, you:

- wouldn't need locks on your house, cars or drawers

- wouldn't need passwords or antivirus software on your PC. Think of the speed increase.

- wouldn't even need legal contracts. A simple handshake would do, even to buy or sell a house.

Terrorism is just the new bugbear we're all supposed to be paranoid about. But if you really think about it, we need to jump through hoops in our daily lives simply because most humans are scum. Lol (sad laughter).

Is not so bad if all just guai guai do it....

Is always those few idiots that think they no need scan then kena tarik back or scan some don't scan all

China already have and is not that bad

Shxt what will happen to be my metallic balls

what will happen to cai png mistaken as C4

SINGAPORE: Commuters may soon be required to put their belongings through an X-ray scanner and walk through a metal detector before entering fare gates at MRT stations. 

This is part of enhanced security screening being tested at several stations, the Land Transport Authority (LTA) said on Monday (Nov 5). 

attachicon.gifexercise-station-guard-2018-photo-1.jpg

The trial will begin on Nov 12. 

LTA said the data from the trial will enable it to "streamline and optimise its security screening processes, and reduce the future impact on daily rail operations". 

"We will also collect feedback from commuters and public transport operators to improve the effectiveness of future security operations and emergency exercises." 

LTA chief executive Ngien Hoon Ping said the authority will continue to enhance its security measures to ensure that the transport system remained safe and secure for all commuters. 

"By the end of this year, public transport operators will also progressively introduce the use of handheld metal detectors in their security checks at bus interchanges and MRT stations," he added

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/commuters-to-undergo-security-screening-at-mrt-stations-as-part-10898938

Edited by Ash2017

more for heightened security where the threat level is very high. Good to allow commuters to get use to such screening, so that when there's a need the flow will be smoother. 

I think this is bulls**t. Calling bulls**t on this.

If they have money to spend on all the security equipment and personnel, why not spend that on maintenance instead? Why not just make sure the trains don't break down? That should be their priority.  [shakehead]

In response to your last para, a bit of a philosophical tangent, but just imagine...in a world without "bad guys" or any ill-intent at all, you:

- wouldn't need locks on your house, cars or drawers

- wouldn't need passwords or antivirus software on your PC. Think of the speed increase.

- wouldn't even need legal contracts. A simple handshake would do, even to buy or sell a house.

Terrorism is just the new bugbear we're all supposed to be paranoid about. But if you really think about it, we need to jump through hoops in our daily lives simply because most humans are scum. Lol (sad laughter).

hmm this could only happen if we were like ants under the control of a queen ant.  [laugh]

Sounds like a sci-fi show. "We are hive, we are legion"