Drivers who service their car should learn and read up more

carloverguy2017

The idea of the topic is reasonable, but the thread title and how the message is put forward is just pure arrogant and full of oneself.

Again i almost wanted to click "dislike", but on a second thought just fark it. -_-

Exactly!

I was at a service outlet ( not to be mentioned ) and while leisurely sipping my coffee, the mechanic walks to a man beside me and told him he should perform engine flush because his mileage is time for him to do engine flushing.

So the man asked for the price of engine flushing and then verbally agree to let the mechanic proceed with the additional work done.

Before I can finish my coffee, the mechanic walks back to the man again.

He then mentioned that the spark plug not so good. He suggest change all since doing engine flushing.

The man ask for the price again.

The man realise it is a bit expensive so he is a little rejecting the offer.

The mechanic immediately assure the man not to worry as he will ask the shop boss for discount.

Came back shortly and say the management agree to give discount on the spark plugs for $xx amount.

Hearing that there is discounted price, the man agrees again.

OK I don't wish to stereotype people out here, but the car is just beside you, you should stand up, demand to see the condition of the spark plug, judge for yourself if it is rightful to change.

However all this while, that man's butt was stuck to the seat. He never took a blink of an eye to look at his car, nor ask for more detail opinion. He readily accepts.

Engine flushing, whether it is legit or snake oil, you should also judge.

But looking at the man's reaction from the proposal, he seems to be nullified of his knowledge of cars, even basic servicing.

He would listen to what the mechanics says. His only concern is price.

That is no way you should even offer your car to a service outlet or workshop to take your hard earned money.

Sometimes ignorant is bliss.

But when comes to ignorance of basic car care, it is blitz.

I would like to learn but agent workshop does not allow customer to go in. They only call and explain the problem, need to make decision in phone, unless I sleep at the lounge for few hours waiting time...

This same guy may be a top corporate lawyer ripping off other clients at 1000/hr.

Or an aesthetic specialist making ur wife pay 500 for a Botox jab.

This is how the economy works.

You may be informed in cars, housing, investment but others may be informed in their own specialty.

Some people just don't have the time to be a "master of all trades" .

I was chatting with a female doctor driving a Merc. She said she just changed her tyres at cycle and carriage. Stupid u may think. But she simply doesn't have the time to care about the 50% markup.

Changing tyres at AD isnt faster than at normal ws.....maybe the normal will be faster as there wont be many cars. Most prob she trust and only knows the AD workshop.....

some owers lets the ws pick up their car in the morning and sent the car back to the owner in the afternoon......some owners even sent their car to the ws and leave it immediately for shopping/movies/business and comes back a few hrs later to pick it back. Not wrong lar....but certainly not smart. People like me will stick around to see whats is happening and check if the damaged item is really from my car. My pay not big hence am willing to stick around and make sure the ws di what is necessary...ð¢ð¢ð¢

some people value their time more.

i understand the mechanics of things but i send to my dealer in d morning n collect in the late noon because i value my time.

and car works for me not the other way round

I know ntg.. just go to trusted workshop..

Agree, a trustworthy and capable workshop is very important. A lot of time i will just tell the workshop to do preventive check like look for belt fray, leak symptom, check battery and alternator charging capability etc, i will leave it to them to advise me. Of course i know a bit of here and there so that i know what they are talking abt before making decision. By the way i just replace my boot release actuator this morning myself. This is how i stay cheapo as well.

https://www.mycarforum.com/topic/2693958-w212-owners-please-check-in/page-7

but the thing is even if the mech bring the spark plug right to the guy, he also dun know how to judge the conditions.

like some bro say we cannot be the master of all trade.

my dentist send me invitation letter to go check up and do teeth maintenance every 6 mth.

1 time 80buks. is it necessary?? i dun know i am not dentist

but last time before i register my account there, i went 3 years once, my teeth still in very good condition. ever since i register , 6 mth must go once.

if u get wat i mean.

Dental for my case under ah kong. So I don’t really care. But need to have skilled dentistry else teeth belongs to me n that part I really care.

it's time for u to change ws.

you may be next in line to get slaughter.

I was at a service outlet ( not to be mentioned ) and while leisurely sipping my coffee, the mechanic walks to a man beside me and told him he should perform engine flush because his mileage is time for him to do engine flushing.

So the man asked for the price of engine flushing and then verbally agree to let the mechanic proceed with the additional work done.

Before I can finish my coffee, the mechanic walks back to the man again.

He then mentioned that the spark plug not so good. He suggest change all since doing engine flushing.

The man ask for the price again.

The man realise it is a bit expensive so he is a little rejecting the offer.

The mechanic immediately assure the man not to worry as he will ask the shop boss for discount.

Came back shortly and say the management agree to give discount on the spark plugs for $xx amount.

Hearing that there is discounted price, the man agrees again.

OK I don't wish to stereotype people out here, but the car is just beside you, you should stand up, demand to see the condition of the spark plug, judge for yourself if it is rightful to change.

However all this while, that man's butt was stuck to the seat. He never took a blink of an eye to look at his car, nor ask for more detail opinion. He readily accepts.

Engine flushing, whether it is legit or snake oil, you should also judge.

But looking at the man's reaction from the proposal, he seems to be nullified of his knowledge of cars, even basic servicing.

He would listen to what the mechanics says. His only concern is price.

That is no way you should even offer your car to a service outlet or workshop to take your hard earned money.

Sometimes ignorant is bliss.

But when comes to ignorance of basic car care, it is blitz.

This same guy may be a top corporate lawyer ripping off other clients at 1000/hr.

Or an aesthetic specialist making ur wife pay 500 for a Botox jab.

This is how the economy works.

You may be informed in cars, housing, investment but others may be informed in their own specialty.

Some people just don't have the time to be a "master of all trades" .

I was chatting with a female doctor driving a Merc. She said she just changed her tyres at cycle and carriage. Stupid u may think. But she simply doesn't have the time to care about the 50% markup.

Actually this one very true. I know of people who only see and value the car as an appliance, hence choose not to invest time and effort into learning about something that only seems to depreciate until it becomes worthless after 10 years. Even for me, I like cars alot and am quite informed about the way they function and the car industry in general, but for me, food is food and I don't bother to research for discount and reviews before going to a place to eat. However, I have friends who couldn't care less about their cars but go all out in finding the best place or discounts to eat and being informed in the type of food that is served, even the portion sizes and quality of ingredients, so that they don't spend blindly. So it does hold true that not everyone is a master of all trades. Quite an interesting viewpoint.

Agree, a trustworthy and capable workshop is very important. A lot of time i will just tell the workshop to do preventive check like look for belt fray, leak symptom, check battery and alternator charging capability etc, i will leave it to them to advise me. Of course i know a bit of here and there so that i know what they are talking abt before making decision. By the way i just replace my boot release actuator this morning myself. This is how i stay cheapo as well.

ya trust very important.

if the ws u dun trust, they say this and that not good need replace.

u also struck, 

change , u scare tio scram.

dun change u scare car break down.

but from my experience, i can tell u even your most trustworthy WS  also need make money 1.

just that they dun make u spend money liao, car still never do properly, and knife not sharp only.

if 1 want to alway have the best deal in every thing u buy,

every thing must make sure its the cheapest.

i think like that live quite sad huh.

There will always be one mountain higher than another.... 

There are car owners in USA that will laugh their teeth out at the TS haolian about knowing all about car and servicing and dissing people who cannot be bothered with their cars. 

These are the people who do their own servicing, oil change, suspension change, repairs all in their own home garage. 

Different strokes for different folks. Don't teach other folks how you stroke. 

ya trust very important.

if the ws u dun trust, they say this and that not good need replace.

u also struck,

change , u scare tio scram.

dun change u scare car break down.

but from my experience, i can tell u even your most trustworthy WS also need make money 1.

just that they dun make u spend money liao, car still never do properly, and knife not sharp only.

if 1 want to alway have the best deal in every thing u buy,

every thing must make sure its the cheapest.

i think like that live quite sad huh.

I will sure let them make money, but i will do the easy stuff like simple repair myself. And i will buy the mechanics kopi and pay them extra kopi money as a token of appreciation for good work done, these days they refused to accept my kopi money

Cannot say cheapo.

Some DIYs can make us learn some things. 

There will always be one mountain higher than another.... 

There are car owners in USA that will laugh their teeth out at the TS haolian about knowing all about car and servicing and dissing people who cannot be bothered with their cars. 

These are the people who do their own servicing, oil change, suspension change, repairs all in their own home garage. 

Different strokes for different folks. Don't teach other folks how you stroke. 

Many car owners in USA are lucky to have a garage in their house to play such things with their cars.  :TT_TT:

You can always find a few friends to share rental of industrial lot or shop lot to play such things with their cars.

I think @Ahbengdriver mention that before.

spark plugs ?

most uninformed people heard about it.

So it's not uncommon for workshop to leverage on it, push them into changing.

They'll probably try to do it to the diesel car owner and they will agree as well. [laugh]

:a-good:  Cheapo here also, changed speed sensor myself which cost less than $50

workshops quoted me gearbox repair (>$2.5k) and ECU replacement ~$1k (and no guarantee will solve problem) [grin]  [crazy]

Just need to google abit to decide what to try but has be handy in the 1st place lah and got spare time  [nod]

Likewise for my motorbike, agent recommended replacement display cluster when my speedo needle is not moving, ended up I found that the connector (between the wire from display and speed sensor) is no good, redo it and worked fine since then....FOC but wasted quite some time figuring how to strip  :a-m1524:

So I dun really trust mechanics anymore, if I can DIY, I will just do it to my own satifaction :yuush:

Edited by Gunzy

Not only that, when meet with mechanic that is half pass 6.. That one also headache..

That's why find those recommended one by friends or online reviews, and stay with them for long.