DSG Gearbox & Manoeuvring in carpark

Naresh

I am new to a DSG gearbox (been only a week) so would welcome some advice.

1. When going up the incline in HDB car park, my VW Golf 1.4TSI seems remarkably reluctant. I do know why this is happening - as I approach the incline I need to slow down (brake) and turn right to get onto the slope. The DSG gearbox thinks I am going to stop, so it is not in the right gear as I complete my turn. Opening the throttle slightly does not move the car up the incline, and with more throttle it moves too quickly.

2. Also I have noted that when going down the incline in HDB car park, when you take your foot off the brake, and step on the accelerator, it seems reluctant to get going again. Again, I do know why this is happening... the DSG gearbox thinks I am going to stop, so it is not in the right gear as I complete my turn

Have you encountered the same issue, and do you have any techniques, or is it just a matter of getting used to it?

Been driving AT & CVT, and none of them had this issue.

Thanks in advance,

Naresh.

↡ Advertisement
  • Praise 3

Switch to manual or out to L if avail.this should ensure minimal or no half clutch on slope

Yes, I can try that.  [nod]

The VW DSG transmission has tiptronic mode, and I can using shift lever.

• Praise 1

New.

It is not gearbox issue, the shifts on the road are very smooth.

I have driven a VW 6 speed DSG for 9 years plus and I think it's just a matter of getting used to.

• Praise 1

It's the software or programming of the gearbox. The DCT or DSG is good for straight line acceleration but if you want it to down shift it will not do as anticipated or it will take ages. It only shift down as if to prevent the engine from stalling in a particular gear.