Goodyear Eagle F1 Asymmetric 5

Blueray

in a scenario, driving halfway.. kena obstacle and F1A5 tyre has sidewall issue.. hence tyre flat.

after mobile service replaced my tyre, should I still keep the broken tyre/attempt to find warranty for it?

On 2/28/2022 at 1:15 PM, Mkl22 said:

well i have tried both.

20-25k km is a tad too long and will have caused some uneven wear of the rears. more so for a fwd car.

Such that they become noisy when moved to the front.

why would the rears have uneven wear? high negative camber? toe in/out? or bushings worn, thus alignment went off? 

actually its a good practice to do rotation every 10k, as it's a perfect opportunity for the tyres to be inspected for uneven wear, damage etc.

for my AWD car, i would rotate every 8-10k, until i had a mechanical LSD installed in the rear a few years ago. With the rear LSD, the rear tyres wear out almost at the same rate as the fronts (i don't usually put high neg camber on my fronts for daily drive) so i can rotate at 15-18k or so. Then i would make sure the tyres are checked whenever the oil is changed or other work is done on the car at wkshop.

4 hours ago, markw12 said:

in a scenario, driving halfway.. kena obstacle and F1A5 tyre has sidewall issue.. hence tyre flat.

after mobile service replaced my tyre, should I still keep the broken tyre/attempt to find warranty for it?

side wall bulging? how old is it? hit debris on the road or something?

no harm bringing it back to the shop for a diagnosis but don't have high expectations for warranty claim.

Warranty claim is mostly nice to hear only and for show cos end up, it will be a wear and tear issue unless you had a problem just right after the purchase. 

Just now, Mkl22 said:

Claiming warranty on tires is no different to trying to claim warranty on condoms.😂

it's user's problem or sway ... either way ... ownself claim ownself ... :grin:

On 2/28/2022 at 1:10 PM, Hamburger said:

I personally feel rotation at every 10k is needless. 

Halfway through the life span of 20k to 25k just switch once would do. 

I rotated when hit 20k

and planning to change at 40-45k km

now my tyre tread for all tyres about the same depth

C923D40B-7AC4-44AF-AE7B-BFF21A1F8B4F.jpeg

3 hours ago, Thaiyotakamli said:

I rotated when hit 20k

and planning to change at 40-45k km

now my tyre tread for all tyres about the same depth

C923D40B-7AC4-44AF-AE7B-BFF21A1F8B4F.jpeg

actually just see the thread indicator can judge easily. 

if the indicator almost reach the surface means need to replace liao

38 minutes ago, Beregond said:

i use a digital one to measure thread depth to see wear. can measure when the tire is new the center and left and right side thread depth.

i know its boliao... but i get a kick out of observing the different wear on different wheels.

39 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

i use a digital one to measure thread depth to see wear. can measure when the tire is new the center and left and right side thread depth.

i know its boliao... but i get a kick out of observing the different wear on different wheels.

I got mine manual sponsored from sgcarmart😂

1 hour ago, Beregond said:

Last time i use finger poke in can see need change anot

Then i poke my neighbouring car tyre realised their tyre lagi less tread

7 minutes ago, Beregond said:

he make sense??

I always put new ones at the front.....

Front drive cars tend to understeer. So with old tyres at the back causing oversteer, the 2 effects should shui shui cancel out each other and we should get very neutral handling!

😄

11 minutes ago, Beregond said:

he make sense??

much more so when wet. if dry, then you get a nice oversteer. if wet good luck controlling the snap oversteer

@Mkl22 you are very correct to said that.

first we must understand the rationale of Tire warranty?

is a Quality assurance by the manufacturers, i personally wont and buy a Products has No Warranty especially Risk like quality failure will lead to some kind of Danger.

and some cases tire failed are due to drivers negligent like poor maintenance like  low pressure , wrong tire size , tire punctured repair by not recommended way (external repair).

i am very sure if you are the Manufactures you wont accept claim when is due to Wear and tare or Improper use of your Products.

just my Persoanl POV