How much is your outstanding housing loan?

Karoon

mortgage  

165 members have voted

1. 1. how much left?

• > 2 mil
    • 1.5 - 2mil
    • 1 -1.5 mil
    • 750k - 1mil
    • 500 - 750k
    • 250 - 500k
    • 100- 250k
    • below 100k
    • paid 8)

5 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

but sinkie mindset is hdb pay finish liao must upgrade condo ... take another 20 years loan 

sibei song ah!

Exactly.leh.

A few of my friend like that.

1 is couple no kid.

1 got 3 kids. 

Both in 5 rm now..settle.hdb.

Looking at condo. ( all the condo they looking at got smaller floor space then their 5rm hdb).

I ask them why want exit 1 rats race just to enter another...

12 minutes ago, Beregond said:

Exactly.leh.

1 is couple no kid.

1 got 3 kids. 

Looking at condo. ( all the condo they looking at got smaller floor space then their 5rm hdb).

ok what ... sell 1 x hdb, buy 2 x condo .... 1 to live, 1 to collect 5-figure rental 

not true meh?

3 minutes ago, Beregond said:

Exactly.leh.

1 is couple no kid.

1 got 3 kids. 

Becos they are Rats....heehhee

aiyah people want to “upgrade” to private property mah.... 

let them lah, so that CNY time they can say that they live in “condo” very say bin..

So who has paid their mortgage loan including not touching CPF?

kee chiu!  Gong xi ni. You can retire liao....muayhahahaha

Edited by Throttle2

must be quite good feeling if one doesn’t have any home loan left and CPF not touched... no I’m not in that category  😢

even if one uses his OA for housing, they should always look to maximize their returns from the SA to boost their retirement funds.

Shouldn’t be difficult if you start hitting the max salary cap of 6k for CPF contributions by early late 20s/early 30s?

should easily hit close to 200k in SA if you top up irregularly or do some investment for your SA by 40? 

This amount would then most likely be sufficient for your CPF life based on today’s regulation. 

17 minutes ago, Dp26 said:

must be quite good feeling if one doesn’t have any home loan left and CPF not touched... no I’m not in that category  😢

even if one uses his OA for housing, they should always look to maximize their returns from the SA to boost their retirement funds.

Shouldn’t be difficult if you start hitting the max salary cap of 6k for CPF contributions by early late 20s/early 30s?

should easily hit close to 200k in SA if you top up irregularly or do some investment for your SA by 40? 

This amount would then most likely be sufficient for your CPF life based on today’s regulation. 

High flyer! If can hit max salary cap of 6k in late 20 and early 30s siah!

On 7/27/2020 at 4:54 PM, Beregond said:

Exactly.leh.

1 is couple no kid.

1 got 3 kids. 

maybe they got lots of money?? At the end of the day, I think the house is the most useful thing you can spend your money with...

If don't spend money on house, spend on what? Watch? Food? Tours? Cars? 

8 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

maybe they got lots of money?? At the end of the day, I think the house is the most useful thing you can spend your money with...

If don't spend money on house, spend on what? Watch? Food? Tours? Cars? 

Early retirement? 😉

5 minutes ago, Beregond said:

Early retirement? 😉

ya lah, how old are your friends? If they are relatively young, they might not be thinking about retirement.

I agree It is nice to be able to retire early but I am getting old. 

4 minutes ago, Wind30 said:

ya lah, how old are your friends? If they are relatively young, they might not be thinking about retirement.

I agree It is nice to be able to retire early but I am getting old. 

40+ if housing loan settle now, when u reach 60s could have a huge lump sum of cash plus a already settle house.

beside, u have all the choice to sack your boss anytime u not happy with him

instead if  u go into another 20-30 years loan. u scare your boss sack u , not the other way round. and when u reach 60s, u could have a property, but maybe much lesser cash. 

but like u say every 1 got different plan and consideration. u dun understand, but just respect their decision

i am the lepak type😆

10 minutes ago, Beregond said:

40+ if housing loan settle now, when u reach 60s could have a huge lump sum of cash plus a already settle house.

beside, u have all the choice to sack your boss anytime u not happy with him

instead if  u go into another 20-30 years loan. u scare your boss sack u , not the other way round. and when u reach 60s, u could have a property, but maybe much lesser cash. 

but like u say every 1 got different plan and consideration. u dun understand, but just respect their decision

i am the lepak type😆

at 40s, sell 1 hdb buy 2 condo 

at 60s, sell 2 x condo at $2M each ... $4M cash

buy $1M clementi hdb ... retire with $3M cash 

no meh?

7 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

at 40s, sell 1 hdb buy 2 condo 

at 60s, sell 2 x condo at $2M each ... $4M cash

buy $1M clementi hdb ... retire with $3M cash 

no meh?

Think is easy. 1 of my uncle did the exact same thing. During  his peak when his business good

He got 1 landed. 2 condo 1 hdb.  Left with 1 hdb in the end.

what make u think u can smoothly pay installment for all your property during this 20-30 years period?

He is not the only case. Got many others. Of course this is a more extreme 1.

I

Edited by Beregond

On 7/27/2020 at 4:54 PM, Beregond said:

Exactly.leh.

1 is couple no kid.

1 got 3 kids. 

Did they sell their HDB?

1 minute ago, Voodooman said:

Did they sell their HDB?

1 commited. 1  Haven't.  With the covid 19. All pause.  Now need  rethink lol

The 1 that went ahead save every single cents for their monthly  allowances  。

new wish every single servicing  tyres is done jb. 

All shopping 。fuel top up jb. Thats  why i cannot understand  why 活到这样辛苦。

1 hour ago, 13177 said:

High flyer! If can hit max salary cap of 6k in late 20 and early 30s siah!

Bro, actually, dont need to be really high flyer. Medium high can already.

i am sure quite a few people here hit that.  And actually hitting that 20 yrs ago and hitting that today is also very different.

today starting pay can be easily $3-4k, 20 yrs ago, starting pay for similar position is half.