What Did You Makan Today PT 6

BabyBlade

15 hours ago, 13177 said:

The oil they used also can lead to sore throat? Now then i know. Lol.

When the oil is not changed regularly, it turns dark brown i colour and the fried foods tend to cause soar throat!

6 minutes ago, PSP415 said:

Dinner. Tampines "putien" equivalent dishes at kopi tiam prices (Total bill $58 for 8 dishes) Tasty!

Looks good man. Which heng hwa restaurant is this?

20 hours ago, Lala81 said:

I thought 北杏 should be bitter. U just add a bit? 南杏 is the sweet one right? 

Yes 北杏 taste bitter as compared to 南杏, but just relatively. Somehow the bitterness get neutralize by the other one, so I normally stick with 50 / 50. You can start with any ratio and adjust to your liking. 

BTW dinner at JEM food court on level 5. This stall not bad. 

qFPQ7lp.jpg

Grill Squid Set @$9.90 after $2 discount (ongoing promotion).

o7gAEVL.jpg

• Praise 12

45 minutes ago, PSP415 said:

Dinner. Tampines "putien" equivalent dishes at kopi tiam prices (Total bill $58 for 8 dishes) Tasty!

20191208_194242_resize_21.jpg

20191208_194037_resize_97.jpg

20191208_194058_resize_59.jpg

20191208_194117_resize_66.jpg

20191208_194151_resize_66.jpg

20191208_194207_resize_67.jpg

20191208_194223_resize_83.jpg

20191208_194134_resize_72.jpg

How you eat putian till so cheap.

The hum at putian is very nice.

4 minutes ago, Tohto said:

The seafood i dunno. yeah the putien hum is nice.

The heng hwa restaurant in yishun doesn't have. 
There also seems to be another heng hwa eatery in Hougang lorong ah soo area. 

3 minutes ago, Tohto said:

This hum is also v nice.

Not taken at usual Putien restaurant but kopitiam styled at Blk 138 Tampines St 11. Most dishes are Heng Wah and popular "putien" items like drunken cockles, fried caramelized yam, bian rou tang are nice. Deep fried pork has garlic which is tasty.

Easy on wallet. 😂

3 minutes ago, PSP415 said:

This hum is also v nice.

Not taken at usual Putien restaurant but kopitiam styled at Blk 138 Tampines St 11. Most dishes are Heng Wah and popular "putien" items like drunken cockles, fried caramelized yam, bian rou tang are nice. Deep fried pork has garlic which is tasty.

Easy on wallet. 😂

Oh... I was thinking you're can so many dishes less than $100 in the real putien.

Since they got the star, price had became more expensive.

Edited by Tohto

13 minutes ago, Tohto said:

Oh... I was thinking you're can so many dishes less than $100 in the real putien.

Yeah the other putien dishes, the beef with their fried man tou, razor clams, hum all very good on their own.

If u want to eat the other heng hwa dishes, lor mee, mi fen etc. 
Just eat them here. I think it's nicer than putien.

https://www.google.com/maps/place/Heng+Hua+Restaurant/@1.4272907,103.8334076,15z/data=!4m5!3m4!1s0x0:0xfba8f36306c051d7!8m2!3d1.4272907!4d103.8334076

But very small HDB void deck eatery. 

13 minutes ago, Tohto said:

Yup. They have revised prices up and not as wallet friendly as b4. Generally quality maintained at the few outlets i go to.

These days, "putien" type of food have sprung up. There's a stall at Bedok Blk 85 that sells very nice Heng Wah bee fen and Lor Mee too.

13 hours ago, PSP415 said:

Yup. They have revised prices up and not as wallet friendly as b4. Generally quality maintained at the few outlets i go to.

These days, "putien" type of food have sprung up. There's a stall at Bedok Blk 85 that sells very nice Heng Wah bee fen and Lor Mee too.

Yes prices up quite a bit. I think I will give them a miss as their dishes are usually using cheap ingredients like bee hoon and peanuts... not worth it anymore.