What Did You Makan Today PT 6

BabyBlade

24 minutes ago, Othello said:

for home cooks, which is your favorite Soy Sauce ? Those cheapest range available really CMI to me. I chanced upon this Taiwan brand which I like --> 

IMG_20200407_142530249.thumb.jpg.1dfc6386f4e4f35750635e03ea2ba54a.jpg

After I finish this, I want to try those premium ones 

Kwong Woh Hing

P1080797.thumb.jpg.01b9d2158a6b2db66c0b5efcd2ae73b4.jpg

Nanyang

c0e549_be721457bbdc47f29cf40863aa274626_mv2_d_3648_2736_s_4_2.jpg.704627ee3e25e8b741b0d5aa38ab5737.jpg

I don't cook often. So I don't use cheap Soya sauce.

I use kct soya sauce best grade. Honestly I don't cook enough to tell the difference between brands. I can say kct has more flavour  than tai hwa. 

Dark sauce I got the kct one also. But my mum recommends tiger brand the top grade one. So i use both. 

Lunch. 卤肉饭. More Taiwan style.

Pretty decent effort this time. Give myself 7/10. My wife liked it. 

Leftover onion went to fry eggs. Haha one time gao Tim 11 eggs. No food wastage! 

20200407_133659_compress41.jpg

20200407_130526_compress9.jpg

20200407_134916_compress49.jpg

20200407_134412_compress81.jpg

• Praise 18

6 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Leftover onion went to fry eggs. Haha one time gao Tim 11 eggs. No food wastage! 

looks yummy !! Did you caramelize the sugar ? 

1 hour ago, Lala81 said:

Wah,  looks good!!! [thumbsup]

The picture give an illusion like those Taiwan roadside hawkers doing business, looks like one big pot..... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

1 hour ago, Lala81 said:

Is the taukwa nice? I bought from NTUC, not nice. I tried a few brands and I think only wet market ones can jiak

Edited by Cloud9

11 hours ago, Othello said:

I like Wai Wai, where you buy from ? I bought once from Redmart (Have stopped buying from them liao), and hardly see them on the shelves outside.

Can't remember 'cos I usually buy months ago.  

Agree with u that it's hardly seen, only sold in certain shops. Even for ntuc, only certain outlets have it.  

1 hour ago, Othello said:

looks yummy !! Did you caramelize the sugar ? 

Yeah. I think it's bit too sweet. Next time less sugar. 

42 minutes ago, Cloud9 said:

Is the taukwa nice? I bought from NTUC, not nice. I tried a few brands and I think only wet market ones can jiak

Mine from market as well.

I can't remember whether it's fortune or unicurd tau kwa that is better. But it has a reasonable long expiry date. So that can be kept in a fridge for a month. So that's the trade off benefit. 

But yes the wet Market one taste nicer. 

59 minutes ago, Tianmo said:

Wah,  looks good!!! [thumbsup]

The picture give an illusion like those Taiwan roadside hawkers doing business, looks like one big pot..... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Who knows. Maybe one day need to be refugee. Sell food by roadside to earn a living... Ha. 

OK lah. I don't cook often. So need to study a bit more before I cook something new. I usually watch like at least a few different videos to watch different ways of preparing. Steal some tricks here and there. 

4 hours ago, Tohto said:

First day of CB cook fried rice for lunch.

20200407_122836.jpg

What's this? 橄榄菜? Your taste buds very international chinese (Taiwanese + China) 

6 hours ago, PSP415 said:

👍salute. Really a good daddy n hubby. Nothing like home cooked meals especially when they turned out ok.😅🤪😂

Guess Covid-19 made time slowed down in a way to create "more" time for something so "simple" as preparing meals for loved ones.

Its a good way to stay sane and occupied with things other than Covid-19 too.

Keep safe and eat well.

Safe ride

I'm still working my usual hours. But going over to our parents less and no swimming lessons for my kids, so have to cook more often. 

Plus since have a larder, better use it. 

12 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

What's this? 橄榄菜? Your taste buds very international chinese (Taiwanese + China) 

Yes. I think 橄榄菜 from HK.

1 hour ago, Cloud9 said:

Taukwa from ntuc and market, taste got different de? I only buy from ntuc.

Just now, 13177 said:

Taukwa from ntuc and market, taste got different de? I only buy from ntuc.

Hmm I think main issue is moisture content. Very water logged for the packaged ones. U cna probably open them up and dry them in the fridge for half a day before usage. Since tau kwa is usually for pan or deep frying. 

Also I prefer the market one. Firmer. Don't break open so easily when u manipulate them. 

45 minutes ago, Lala81 said:

Hmm I think main issue is moisture content. Very water logged for the packaged ones. U cna probably open them up and dry them in the fridge for half a day before usage. Since tau kwa is usually for pan or deep frying. 

Also I prefer the market one. Firmer. Don't break open so easily when u manipulate them. 

Taukwa from SS not bad. Can match some of the wet market ones!