Eye surgery - cannot drive

Lotr

On 6/3/2023 at 8:20 PM, inlinesix said:

I had red eye regularly.  See GP so often that i was referred to Retina Specialist.

I had retina detachment.  Kenna scolding from specialist for sleeping late regularly.

It's ok to kena F if chio enuf to justify...literally lagi worth it...😁

On 6/3/2023 at 1:56 PM, Lala81 said:

You think you know. But you don't really. That's just the helicopter view looking in. You have to really hear the gossip within the department/fraternity. 

You ask any of my surgeon friends whether they would let their family members be operated upon in public. The answer is only if it's a named surgeon. Every hospital surgical department has subpar surgeons. That's just a fact.

Similarly in private. Just because the guy has good eq and very friendly = a good surgeon. 

Someone who can write a lot of academic papers and is highly regarded professor can be a subpar surgeon. Haha got quite a lot of  examples. 

Yes volume load is another key factor. Some pte surgeons are not that good as well. 

I don't pretend I know who's really a good surgeon. Even us doctors mostly only Tia gong.

Only those who work in the same OT or under them before really know. 

surgeons are big gossip kings/queens lol. Since they spend most of their lives in hospitals. 

Bro, Bro therock has a point. 😊 Both private and public have its positive points and play certain roles in healthcare. Most importantly, I don't believe I heard "he said, she said and my friends said". I believe in my own ears.

I accompanied my relative to a pretty known specialist in private practice who advised my relative to go to public as NO PRIVATE hospital or clinic has that latest technology/equipment to perform that complicated investigation that my relative needed. Whole Singapore only 1 public centre has it. Not hearsay. 

If you need speed, private is the way to go of you go money. But not everything private can do. 

Cheers.

Edited by Rskc

I had red eye regularly.  See GP so often that i was referred to Retina Specialist.

I had retina detachment.  Kenna scolding from specialist for sleeping late regularly.

U is #1 MCFporner lah 🤣🤣

On 6/3/2023 at 7:47 PM, Lala81 said:

Get your eyes checked is good sometimes. Cos some things are silent. 

I got my eyes checked last year by my friend cos of something mentioned by optometrist 5 years ago pre covid. Since I bring my kids to eye checkups. 

Turns out I have quite severe retinal lattices. My friend said I may need lasers as I get older. Higher risk for retinal detachment as I age. 

My father in law has retinal detachment on follow up for many years. So I'm glad I found out early. 

Yes, getting your eyes checked is very important, esp when you are aging. At least have it checked and do the test and scan to see your eyes status. Then from there follow doctor advice to go back for regularly checkup. I have been going for eyes checkup at SNEC yearly but lately doctor tell me i can go back once every two years since my scan and tests show ok.

On 6/3/2023 at 10:39 AM, Lala81 said:

The best surgeons are in private. Overwhelmingly. Cos the pay and the admin bs gets to everyone. 

The majority of senior surgeons who stay in public, either want to climb the administration ladder or are just lazy to do more. Either way you aren't getting surgeons who just want to do more operations. Obviously the skills will get worse even if they were good in the first place (which often they are the weaker ones in the first place).

All surgeons got ego one lah. There must be a reason they willingly accept lower pay or don't want to establish their own name out there. 

Not saying the public surgeons can't get good one. But just lower chance lor. 

Does it mean you are going to suffer bad complications? Not necessarily. But maybe your surgery recovery will take longer. Your joint movement is worse than it could be if the surgeon was more skilled. Time under anesthesia or tourniquet is longer. 

What is acceptable vs what is good is very big for the one going under the knife. 

You know the less established private surgeons go back to public hospital maybe few times a month to 'keep their hands warm' or to help their old department. 

Sad that with the forever increasing hospital insurance charge.... cannot affort anymore. Every year increase with my age for cash payment. 

Had downgrade my insurance plan to government only. 

Edited by Tohto
  • Sad 1

On 6/4/2023 at 11:10 AM, Tohto said:

Sad that with the forever increasing hospital insurance charge.... cannot affort anymore.

Had downgrade my insurance plan to government only. 

Overall the public system is still very good. No worries. 

I'm still seeing ncc yearly as a subsidised patient lol. 

Why am

i not surprised… u Jin stubborn like cow/bull/buffalo.

anyway I had bilateral cataracts at SNEC. Truth be told they do it like tooth extraction and is a norm procedure. eyesight 6/6 since then

If at all, the latest techniques are much more refined and almost risk free.

On 6/3/2023 at 11:02 AM, BanCoe said:

Can’t remember the myopia thingy but astig was there …..  but I can go about doing normal things without glasses on …. Only at night I wear them ( ok in the day too as my work is outdoor and the transitions help) a little instead of having sunglasses….. kinda used to them ….. like feel naked without them 🤣🤣

U said it urself

u COCKeye😂

On 6/3/2023 at 11:13 AM, 13177 said:

No wonder hearsay go private still better than govt esp if kena big health issue, example like cancer. The medicine they used, the surrounding, the service etc aid in better recovery and the feeling of getting the treatment is more comfy. But the money spend would be scary also.

I have a colleague tio cancer, went to one of the best surgeon in private. And can see that my colleague recovery rate very good and back to work quite fast. Lucky my colleague has comprehensive insurance coverage.

Trust me, even in pte u get cbk quacks… so it’s who you know with a track record that holds its weight 

ask @Sp4wn , I have been his dr Whisperer for the longest time 😂😂

On 6/3/2023 at 11:13 AM, 13177 said:

No wonder hearsay go private still better than govt esp if kena big health issue, example like cancer. The medicine they used, the surrounding, the service etc aid in better recovery and the feeling of getting the treatment is more comfy. But the money spend would be scary also.

I have a colleague tio cancer, went to one of the best surgeon in private. And can see that my colleague recovery rate very good and back to work quite fast. Lucky my colleague has comprehensive insurance coverage.

Sorry ah, I know a few clowns who to me have bad bedside manners and keep u at random cos of ur health, ie , cancer…. So dun tar the entire pte comm as Godsend… 

On 6/3/2023 at 2:10 PM, Lala81 said:

That's why the most effective referral is always word of mouth. 

Having a surgeon friend always help. 

Anyway best is to get 2nd opinion. Some pte surgeons also like to chop everything. There's always pros and cons in every system. 

I go by the old adage

”its not how much u know but WHO you know”

On 6/3/2023 at 7:45 PM, mersaylee said:

No leh...the beedeos I've watched macam arcade game liddat with the piak piak sound whenever the "surgeon" (more like shooter) trigger the laser beam at the bigger floaters...they'd leave the smaller ones alone...usually they'd execute some 300 shots per session...🤔

That’s YAG laser

And shd be done for post cataracts 5yrs after lens replacement 

On 6/4/2023 at 12:02 PM, RadX said:

Trust me, even in pte u get cbk quacks… so it’s who you know with a track record that holds its weight 

ask @Sp4wn , I have been his dr Whisperer for the longest time 😂😂

For private or govt, true that the doctor you seeing must have track records or maybe thru recommendation. Not randomly get a doctor.

My Mom had her cataract done by Pte doc at the then East Shore Hospital …. I won’t mention the name ( there is only one there ) ….. fast forward about 15 years later when my mom touched about 80 … the lens became cloudy / obscured … requested the same doc if he can do a “ replacement “ ….. said cannot …as it’s a very very delicate surgery . Only 1 doc in SNEC can do it ; but she is also in Pte practice and visits special cases in SNEC  

On 6/4/2023 at 12:01 PM, RadX said:

U said it urself

u COCKeye😂

Ooiii …… now is almost Bulls Eye 🤣

On 6/4/2023 at 12:32 PM, BanCoe said:

My Mom had her cataract done by Pte doc at the then East Shore Hospital …. I won’t mention the name ( there is only one there ) ….. fast forward about 15 years later when my mom touched about 80 … the lens became cloudy / obscured … requested the same doc if he can do a “ replacement “ ….. said cannot …as it’s a very very delicate surgery . Only 1 doc in SNEC can do it ; but she is also in Pte practice and visits special cases in SNEC  

First of all bro

you don’t need to replace it when the view gets obscured 

second there are many who can do IOL replacement and do it well 

they are in the major institutions 

third the fact that he didn’t offer YAG should set off alarm bells..

by the way I’m very uncomfortable when people say public cos technically after the 90s they are no longer public or charitable 

So being a restructured hospital, they also have P&L targets

Edited by therock

On 6/4/2023 at 12:32 PM, BanCoe said:

Sekali cannot do it becos ownself's eyesight also no good oredi...😂

On 6/4/2023 at 12:41 PM, therock said:

First of all bro

you don’t need to replace it when the view gets obscured 

second there are many who can do IOL replacement and do it well 

they are in the major institutions 

third the fact that he didn’t offer YAG should set off alarm bells..

by the way I’m very uncomfortable when people say public cos technically after the 90s they are no longer public or charitable 

So being a restructured hospital, they also have P&L targets

Mate …… I can’t remember the technicals as it happened like almost 10 years back …. The 1st lens had turned “milky or obscured “ and needed to be replace ….that’s all I know/ remember…. And my mom had glaucoma onsetting and a litany of other eye issue due to diabetes for almost 50 years ……Had thoughts of suing but later karma happened and his name came in the press for negligence from other patients and also cheating his partners….. Oh well live and let live