Noob Qns on Pioneer AVH Headunits

Vinceh

(edited)

Im looking for replacement headunit, as mine spoilt.

Seems like pioneer is indeed market leader and popular.

My needs are basic. My sound system is stock toyota.

- rear cam

- rooftop monitor

- radio

- no need cd/dvd

- can accept usb thumbdrive video/mp3 preferred

- bluetooth calls

- steering wheel buttons control

- andriod/iphone mirror play

But there are so many many models?

How you guys differentiate?

Does high number mean it is a later version?

Thank you!

Edited by Lightsabre
↡ Advertisement
  • Praise 1

Neutral Newbie

sorry for hijacking your post, are JVC/Kenwood HUs good too? Hope to get some value for money recommendations. Seen some HUs from JVC/Kenwood/Pioneer below $200 for used/export sets on carousell.

• Praise 1

Neutral Newbie

Not really sure what to expect from HU as I have no experience with them.

-2-din touchscreen

-play songs from android phone (If can play from spotify even better)

-radio

-steering control

-can add reverse camera

-control via android phone (Is this called carplay or mirroring? If this is an expensive function then can forget it)

Navigation is optional. 

What else to expect from a HU?

Is avh-z series the most recent? I think avh-x series is the predecessor?

Between z5xxx and z8xxx and z9xxxx, what is really the difference? I ask because it seems all the functions are the same.

Is avh-z series the most recent? I think avh-x series is the predecessor?

Between z5xxx and z8xxx and z9xxxx, what is really the difference? I ask because it seems all the functions are the same.

there could be subtle difference in the media types playable, screen type and resolution, screen size, design, inputs and outputs (usb slots, dual screen, etc)