Motor vehicles travel too Fast on SG Roads

On the road familiarity is the key to safety.

We all know singapore drives fast, and have the right of way with it comes to junctions.

BUT recent times, all these foreigners come with their bicycle rules, their give way rules, their flashing headlights=road used go first courtesy, foreigner drivers giving way to illegal road users, etc.

All these miss match driving styles between Singaporeans and FT/PR drivers, are increasing stress for everyone, especially pedestrians.

All along is when the green man is flashing, pedestrians jolly well cross faster, else once turn redman the car will be zooming pass  immediately.

Nowadays, I see FT/PR give ways to pedestrians when car driver has the legal right of way.

Also pedestrians, yaya can even scold car drivers for being impatient.

All these changes are BAD for the safety of everyone.

30km/hr in school zone? Singapore school zone is STILL public roads, not inside school area.

Does this expert even know that, singapore schools zone are fully enclosed and not many childs runs across roads, unlike inside of overseas big school compounds.

Singapore is a city, everywhere is 'small' neighbourhood roads. Her safety 30km/hr limit means every road will be limited. Except for the major expressway.

Singapore is humid and super hot.

Her Korean/Japan/British hot summer, is actually cooling in comparison.

She is talking nonsense, to get more people to walk and cycle in Singapore weather.

Each time, when I remove the bike protective cover and putting on my motorcycle helmet, under the hot sun, I am already perspiring. I hope she don't recommend motorcyclist to wear full leather jacket.

I remember last time got foreign male traffic expert also commented Singapore Motorcyclist are courting dead for improper wearing slippers and shorts/t-shirt when riding motorcycles.

Well.... there are limitation to what we should follows british style,  due to our hot weather and super expensive vehicles.

Cum here only for 5 days can give sexpert advice... I was once in London for a week I think I can tell May how to exit properly also.

Maybe that mouth full of simisai was here to look for a job or oredi found one with our garment...

Our founding pioneers worked so hard to...whoever chia this tcss amtl here ought to be slapped... where's the queue?

On the road familiarity is the key to safety.

We all know singapore drives fast, and have the right of way with it comes to junctions.

BUT recent times, all these foreigners come with their bicycle rules, their give way rules, their flashing headlights=road used go first courtesy, foreigner drivers giving way to illegal road users, etc.

All these miss match driving styles between Singaporeans and FT/PR drivers, are increasing stress for everyone, especially pedestrians.

All along is when the green man is flashing, pedestrians jolly well cross faster, else once turn redman the car will be zooming pass immediately.

Nowadays, I see FT/PR give ways to pedestrians when car driver has the legal right of way.

Also pedestrians, yaya can even scold car drivers for being impatient.

All these changes are BAD for the safety of everyone.

30km/hr in school zone? Singapore school zone is STILL public roads, not inside school area.

Does this expert even know that, singapore schools zone are fully enclosed and not many childs runs across roads, unlike inside of overseas big school compounds.

Singapore is a city, everywhere is 'small' neighbourhood roads. Her safety 30km/hr limit means every road will be limited. Except for the major expressway.

Singapore is humid and super hot.

Her Korean/Japan/British hot summer, is actually cooling in comparison.

She is talking nonsense, to get more people to walk and cycle in Singapore weather.

Each time, when I remove the bike protective cover and putting on my motorcycle helmet, under the hot sun, I am already perspiring. I hope she don't recommend motorcyclist to wear full leather jacket.

I remember last time got foreign male traffic expert also commented Singapore Motorcyclist are courting dead for improper wearing slippers and shorts/t-shirt when riding motorcycles.

Well.... there are limitation to what we should follows british style, due to our hot weather and super expensive vehicles.

Yup exactly right.

It's the humidity.

Coincidentally a few days ago I just watched a show on CNA where the host do a comparison between taking taxis & cycling from work to home trip.

Taking taxi took him 25 mins while cycling & mrt took him 90 mins (East coast park to Farrer park). During cycling from East coast park to Dakota mrt station, the host already mentioned it is very unbearable under the sun liao.

His conclusion, that he will even take taxi more as as he would have more time to do other things.

Why are we taking 'advice' from a tourist who's homeland is in shambles?

she's not simply a tourist.

most probably an invited guest speaker.

Guess who paid for her trip here?

Pubic Health Specialist. No wonder.

can take the other route:

speed limits should be increased so people have more time for exercise and sleep!

I never think people because they have white skin know more.

So many ignorant people do.

But I have exploited this myself.

When something cannot be done I used to bring my ang moh colleague to tell the client cannot do.

If I bring a local the customer will say it's because you don't know how to do lah.

But when it comes to adult educational videos I always say no to western films and style.

The missionary position is just not natural.

If it was God would make all the animals do it the missionary way.

Nature knows best.

And I am a naturalist.

Naturally lah.

she's not simply a tourist.

most probably an invited guest speaker.

Guess who paid for her trip here?

I know she supposed to be some 'expert' lah. But in the context of Sg, she talks like an ignorant tourist who onli experience the a/c side of sg

Brits are trouble makers.

In 1974 when Britain applied to join the EU General Charles de Gaulle refused to let the Brits join.

He said the Brits are just trouble makers and he was dead right.

Unfortunately he died in 74 and his silly successor let the Brit's in and now they have so much trouble with Brexit.

If only they listened to him we wouldn't have all this nonsense with Brexit now.

Edited by Jamesc

Don't know how to put in and don't know how to take out.

Reminds me of the longest running show in London.

No sex please we are British.

Motor vehicles travel too fast on the streets of Singapore, said a British expert as she called for speed limits on all non-expressways to be slowed to 30kmh.

A 10kmh reduction makes "the difference between life and death", public health specialist Lucy Saunders, 39, told The Straits Times.

Most speed limits here are capped at 50kmh, with those at elder-friendly Silver Zones and some school zones reduced to 40kmh.

The slower speed limit is part of Ms Saunders' mission to improve health by creating healthier streets.

"A street that works for people is a street that is good for health," she told ST last Monday.

This Healthy Streets approach has been adopted by her home capital, London, and she was in Singapore last week to share it with government officials and urban planners.

There are 10 indicators of a street that is appealing, inclusive and promotes better health.

It needs to have clean air, shade and shelter, places to stop and rest, and things to see and do. Pedestrians from all walks of life should find it accessible, easy to cross and not too noisy. They should also feel safe and relaxed while using the street.

A healthy street also needs to entice people to walk, cycle or use public transport instead of drive.

"Walking hasn't been given the status it deserves," said Ms Saunders, noting that four in 10 adults in Singapore are not getting the weekly minimum of 150 minutes' exercise.

"That can be fixed with two 10-minute walks a day," she added.

While Singapore has relatively low car ownership - there are more than 615,000 cars for a city of 5.6 million - many people still drive or take taxis for short journeys, when they could walk or cycle.

She disagrees that the heat in Singapore puts a damper on the desire to walk, saying the climate is a huge asset, given its relative certainty.

"I don't see strong winds that could blow you off a bike," she said, adding that South Korea's capital Seoul has a culture of people walking and cycling even during the hot summer.

So, how would she grade the streets of Singapore after her five-day visit here?

She gives them a B grade, adding jokingly: "The challenge is that everyone expects Singapore to get an A."

The city has many pluses, she said, including the availability of public toilets at MRT stations and an abundance of trees and plants to provide shade and visual interest.

Meanwhile, Singapore's national agencies have major plans in their drive to turn the island into a car-lite nation.

The goal of the latest Land Transport Master Plan is that by 2040, all journeys to the nearest town can be completed in less than 20 minutes, while nine in 10 peak-period trips are to take less than 45 minutes.

Another is to make the transport system here safer and more welcoming. Some of the planned projects to get Singapore there include an additional 100km of sheltered walkways.

Ms Saunders has more ideas on how to make the streets more people-focused, not car-centric. She suggested reducing the width of traffic lanes to no more than 3.2m. Some lanes here are 3.4m to 3.5m wide.

"The narrower the lanes are, the more drivers concentrate," she said, adding that the accident rate is likely to drop in turn.

Ms Saunders also recommended levelling the roads on which people walk, so their journeys are not interrupted by having to step up and down pavements whenever they cross a street. She added that more road humps can then be installed to slow cars down at junctions.

In London, "nobody drives, because there's not enough parking, it's too expensive and everyone's friends take public transport," she said. The sharp drop in car ownership and use was the result of a concerted effort over 20 years.

She is confident Singapore can get there too, as it provides dedicated public transport lanes on the roads and limits the number of parking spaces in specified areas.

As Ms Saunders puts it: "Cars are space-inefficient and driving is useless time. We should get to the point where we use vehicles for when we absolutely need to, like getting a piano from one end of Singapore to the other."

why she didn't comment on the PMD issue that people are facing here? Some PMDs can goes above the speed limit of the 30km/h she recommended for cars.

This is exactly "ANGMO KONG LANJIAO WAY!

Quote: In London, "nobody drives, because there's not enough parking, it's too expensive and everyone's friends take public transport," she said. The sharp drop in car ownership and use was the result of a concerted effort over 20 years.

Nobody drives in town, doesn't mean nobody owns 2 or more cars in their garage. Using and owning is different.

I always say this who talk about ppl not taking public transport and all wanna drive to jam the roads. My answer: I paid for an expensive item, with only 10yrs lifespan, you asking me not to use it? If cars are cheap piece of metal junk, i dont mind parking it at home when i am going to town to avoid jams, since i dont suffer depreciation over it. Doesnt matter OPC is cheaper, the issue is 10yrs lifespan, as long as there is an expiry date, ppl will utilize it to make their $ worth

Reason why the lousy smelly angmo would say the weather in SG is an asset, bcos its new to them, likewise if and Sgporeans would stay in a cold country, we also feel its good, cos we have been BBQed for many many many decades. VIce versa it works the same for those lousy smelly cheapo angmos

Lousy Brits aint trouble maker only, they still have the colony attitude til today, they still think that they are more superior. But hey, who watches La Liga/ Bundesliga/ Serie A? Almost all is on Barclays Premiere League, singing their "YNWA" louder than Majulah Singapura even when they came to Singapore to play against Singapore national team. You cant blame them for feeling superior. 

Edited by cmcex

why she didn't comment on the PMD issue that people are facing here? Some PMDs can goes above the speed limit of the 30km/h she recommended for cars.

Oh pls, she will say to be healthy riding on pmd, speed no 60km/hr no talking. Cos hairs of pmd rider must be hit so hard, at least 100 strands to be uprooted for better wind, i mean blood circulation to brain. Nothing to do with Radx ah.

Slow down to 30km/h......i see.

It's no wonder the British car makers all wound up or ought over..

British cars ok leh. Depends on marque. My one more than 10 times higher speed also can.