Dyson revs up hiring spree for Singapore electric car plant

kykh

Actually Singapore should build electric cars.

The argument against this is high cost of factory space and labour.

Factories need to be on the ground floor because heavy machines need to sit on a firm foundation.

So factories are usually single story buildings with maybe a second floor of office space.

But there is no reason why we cannot build a factory with a 30 story office block above it.

Its just that no one has thought about it. Factories are always single story so we just build them this way.

As for expensive labour that's another joke. If you want uneducated workers then we don't have those.

If companies want highly educated and highly trained workers then we have lots.

Some are sitting at home, some are driving PHVs and Taxis and some are security guards.

A lot others are just sitting in companies watching the clock.

Edited by Jamesc

Actually Singapore should build electric cars.

The argument against this is high cost of factory space and labour.

Factories need to be on the ground floor because heavy machines need to sit on a firm foundation.

So factories are usually single story buildings with maybe a second floor of office space.

But there is no reason why we cannot build a factory with a 30 story office block above it.

Its just that no one has thought about it. Factories are always single story so we just build them this way.

As for expensive labour that's another joke. If you want uneducated workers then we don't have those.

If companies want highly educated and highly trained workers then we have lots.

Some are sitting at home, some are driving PHVs and Taxis and some are security guards.

A lot others are just sitting in companies watching the clock.

I thought you want to said a lot of them are sitting in office surfing MCF.

That's true too.  [thumbsup]

This group makes very good top mgt at the new Dyson plant. Can manage their work yet surf MCF at the same time.

Why nobody thank PAP for luring these big companies into Singapore which creates job for our people? Even Trump pointed his finger at Singapore for stealing American’s job.

Google, Amazon Prime just to name a few who have set up offices here.

PAP is not perfect, but thank you PAP.

I wonder if they are looking for people who have experience in screws if they do I will like to apply for the job, I am sick and tired of living in a 3rd world country will be nice to move back to 1st World Swiss Standard Singapore.

Singapore is the best place to make electric cars because we have no recent history of making cars. No experience means no preconceived ideas and no bad habits on doing things the wrong way.

In the 70's UK took 36 months to build a cargo ship but Japan only took 18, Why?

Because in UK they built ships for many years and they had a lot of experience.

And bad habits and a strong union. If a man does welding that's all the does,

In Japan all the workers are trained in all the jobs. So the welder will also paint the ship and also do the assembling the bolts and all the other jobs needed.

We saw this problem in Singapore recently. A UK bus company won the contract here and found our bus drivers only do the same route and will not drive another route when short of manpower because of leave or MC by other drivers.

When Nissan build a factory in UK they put their car plant on the seaside city of Sunderland. They took out of job ship building workers who have never built a car. They never took out of job British Leyland workers who built cars all their lives.

Because the British Leyland workers would take 40 hours to build a car while ex ship builders would only take 15 hours.

An electric car is also closer to an e-scooter than a car with a petrol engine.

An electric car is an e-scooter with 4 wheels and seats.

Maybe they will attach 2 vacuum at each of the c pillar to power the car...

Good idea.

z5bb10vuc9qgqzunkgte.jpg

Why nobody thank PAP for luring these big companies into Singapore which creates job for our people? Even Trump pointed his finger at Singapore for stealing American’s job.

question really is after all those enticement to come to singapore, how many really stay ?

Is IBM still staying?

Is Compaq still here ?

Granted that its a sunset industry. There is nothing to be proud of unless they stay for the longer term.

You don't hear of National day or National Day rally speech with invites for those newly minted Singaporean at the national parade like the Facebook co founder .

Good idea.

z5bb10vuc9qgqzunkgte.jpg

Front suck in, rear suck out to move the car... Same time can help clean the roads... Sg will be a cleaner place to live...great idea Jamesc...

Maybe another version just mount one enlarged version of their fan/hair dryer in the roof. If we are hot or need hair job, can just stand behind

Tai tai version for those beehive hairstyle

I don't think this Dyson car will work and I do hope I am wrong. However, they should try motorcycle first. I see more potential in motorcycles than cars here. 

Sell motorcycle for what. Won't make money one. They also not targeting local market.

Why nobody thank PAP for luring these big companies into Singapore which creates job for our people? Even Trump pointed his finger at Singapore for stealing Americanâs job.

#fakenews

question really is after all those enticement to come to singapore, how many really stay ?

Is IBM still staying?

Is Compaq still here ?

Granted that its a sunset industry. There is nothing to be proud of unless they stay for the longer term.

You don't hear of National day or National Day rally speech with invites for those newly minted Singaporean at the national parade like the Facebook co founder .

True. IBM gahmen grant and incentives finish liao, gahmen don't want extend. So bye bye. But they also hire many ft instead of locals. So ccb pap

Did anyone consider how much will this car cost? Not sure if got import tax if made in Singapore..

EVs that come in already cost over 300k, not a car for everyone..

Sell motorcycle for what. Won't make money one. They also not targeting local market.

Hopefully we see electric bikes taking over cars and PMD on the road lor. So we only have electric bikes and bicycles. The rest are public transport one day. Pedestrians will have peace of mind walking on foot paths

https://www.bbc.com/news/business-50004184?fbclid=IwAR2x_KHHCVp9RrECLgpNEB27AzqaDHvcPKeieqFiO0pKTiUwRxsSSDaiDL0

Dyson has scrapped its electric car project

Dyson, the UK-based company best known for its vacuum cleaners, has scrapped a project to build electric cars.

The firm, headed by inventor Sir James Dyson, said its engineers had developed a "fantastic electric car" but that it would not hit the roads because it was not "commercially viable".

In an email sent to all employees, Sir James said the company had unsuccessfully tried to find a buyer for the project.

The division employs 500 UK workers.

Dyson had planned to invest more than £2bn in developing a "radical and different" electric vehicle, a project it launched in 2016. It said the car would not be aimed at the mass market.

Half of the funds would go towards building the car, half towards developing electric batteries.

In October 2018 Dyson revealed plans to build the car at a new plant in Singapore. It was expected to be completed next year with the first vehicles due to roll off the production line in 2021.

The company also planned to invest £200m in the UK in research and development and test track facilities. Much of that money has already been spent and Dyson said it would use the site for other projects.

The rest of the funds intended for the electric car project would still be spent on developing other products, including its battery technology, Dyson said.

'Not a product failure'

The first cars had already been developed and were being tested.

But in an email on Thursday, Sir James revealed that Dyson was closing electric car facilities both in the UK and Singapore.

The project employed 523 people, 500 of whom were in UK, and Sir James praised their "immense" achievements.

"This is not a product failure, or a failure of the team, for whom this news will be hard to hear and digest," Sir James wrote.

But, he said: "We have tried very hard throughout the development process, we simply can no longer see a way to make it commercially viable."

"The Dyson automotive team has developed a fantastic car; they have been ingenious in their approach while remaining faithful to our philosophies."

He said the firm was trying to find alternative roles for the workers in its home division, which makes things such as vacuum cleaners, fans and hairdryers.

Sir James said Dyson would continue to work on the battery technology, which was used in the car.

"Our battery will benefit Dyson in a profound way and take us in exciting new directions."

"In summary, our investment appetite is undiminished and we will continue to deepen our roots in both the UK and Singapore," he said.

"This is not the first project which has changed direction and it will not be the last."

• Shocked 2