Dyson revs up hiring spree for Singapore electric car plant

kykh

I will not be surprise if one day apple buy over this factory.

Agreed, anyone who has the capacity and technical know how can do a buy-over like property collective sale, this like one brother mentioned, ' a little far-fetched ' despite our lack of . . . however i see light at the end of the tunnel  [cool]

If Dyson cars are exempted from custom duties, COE and ARF, then Mai tu liao!

I like the way you think Volvobrick, given Sunny-pore nothing is for free, let alone complimentary concession to start-up, the work is endless, we have no resources, zilch and empty, everything will be a cost added.

One classic example say " Rubber "we may have to import from up north as cost effectiveness and reliability, come what may . . .one day when we start to negotiate like "water " price war all over again, not to mention on metal and aluminium parts.

Toyota now is working on hydrogen fuel cars.

Once the technology gets more cost effective and efficient in running, it will be introduced to the mass market.

3 hydrogen fuel cell cars are already available for sale or lease: Toyota Mirai, Honda Clarity (already 2nd generation), Hyundai Nexo.

They will be remembered as the fuel cell pioneers if and when the tech takes off.

Euro manufacturers seemed to have re-focussed on EVs for the time being.

Good for Singapore to be in the limelight again but not sure if all Singaporeans get to benefit from this. It may also results in higher petrol prices, higher electricity tariffs, 100% 3/4 tank check or maybe impose a not more than 3/4 tank rule for Sg vehicles coming back into the island. 

Is it gonna suck?

Or is it gonna blow you away?

i think these questions left most guys thinking same for BJ [lipsrsealed]

Most of these cars will be for export. SG market is peanut.

They won't care much for us. And our govt only care about petrol duty tax $$.

Dyson main market will be China. They want to be the Mercedes of electrical cars

Mercedes is making EQC in China to be price competitive.

Tesla is setting up Gigafactory Shanghai to be price competitive.

Not sure it is a good idea to set up shop if main market is China.

Edited by Davidtch

Does Singapore have the experience, expertise and economy of scale to produce cars?? Our South East Asia neighbours produce in total about 4million vehicles in 365 days last year. Dyson should have invest in Thailand instead, the Detroit of SEA with many years of experience and skilled workers.

Singapore ITE got automotive course, but Iâve never encounter any Singaporean mechanics in my years of car ownership. Hard truth.

why would Dyson need to produce so many like Honda and Toyota in Thailand? Thier branding are never meant for the mass! Look at the pricing of their vacuum , fan and hair dryer you know their business proposition

Electric cars are high tech products , you need to be associate with global city and develop nation as part of the brand and marketing thus I Guess why Mr Dyson choose Singapore not Bangkok

Edited by D3badge

Charging and battery are the 2 key things to resolve. Of course price is the most important.

1000 or 2000 charging stations also cannot solve the charging problem unless they ensure these are spread evenly all over the island.

For.a.start, they should design something for those in landed property to charge from their 13 amp plug

An exchange program?? [confused]  [confused]

Despite Brexit, Dendrobium Commits To Building Electric D-1 Hypercar In The UK

A few days ago, Dyson announced that it would build its first ever electric car in Singapore rather than in the UK. On the other hand, Singapore-based Dendrobium has reaffirmed that their D-1 EV hypercar will be manufactured in Great Britain.

The D-1 was designed by Williams Advanced Engineering on behalf of Singapore’s Vanda Electrics, which doesn’t have any history nor expertise with vehicle manufacturing – part of the reason why they tuned to the UK, despite all the challenges centered around Brexit.

“I am just back from meetings in mainland Europe and Brexit is unquestionably causing real issues in investment in the UK. Both British and overseas investors are shying away from committing to technology developments in the UK, mainly because of the uncertainty of the financial and commercial landscape,” stated Dendrobium CEO, Nigel Gordon-Stewart.

He then went on to add that his company is committed to manufacture in Britain and that the British government “continues to do its best providing Research and Development tax credits and various grants specifically for EV and PHEV UK technology and product development operations.”

“In my opinion, Dyson’s planned manufacture in Singapore seems very wrong,” concluded Dendrobium’s boss, who feels that British engineering is “without doubt, the best in the world, and needs to be focused here in the UK to enable dominance in the biggest and most dramatic change in personal mobility in over 100 years.”

If the production version of the D-1 adheres to the announced specs, then it will put down no fewer than 1,800 HP (1,825 PS) and a whooping 1,475 lb-ft (2,000 Nm) of torque, while weighing just 3,858 lbs (1,750 kg) thanks to the use of carbon fiber, advanced composites and alloys in its construction.

23a815b0-dendrobium-building-hypercar-in

6cf76c31-dendrobium-building-hypercar-in

That one is built by Williams what. Unless u think the entire Williams racing team want to shift here.

Anyways, the Dyson thing. Prob here to jiak gahmen subsidy money, hire many amdk, den few years later jiak finish, close shop, say oops car Market too difficult, amdks go back to UK with fat fat bank account.

You willing to pay bmw/merc money to buy a Dyson car meh? A brand new manufacturer with zero experience in automotive. Might as well buy bmw/merc. Atas.

Buy Dyson ppl make fun of you during cny.

Edited by Mockngbrd

Charging and battery are the 2 key things to resolve. Of course price is the most important.

1000 or 2000 charging stations also cannot solve the charging problem unless they ensure these are spread evenly all over the island.

For.a.start, they should design something for those in landed property to charge from their 13 amp plug

That’s most stupid idea as it takes more than 8 hrs.

Nowadays there are 150w charger which can partial charge EV in 15mins.

That one is built by Williams what. Unless u think the entire Williams racing team want to shift here.

Anyways, the Dyson thing. Prob here to jiak gahmen subsidy money, hire many amdk, den few years later jiak finish, close shop, say oops car Market too difficult, amdks go back to UK with fat fat bank account.

You willing to pay bmw/merc money to buy a Dyson car meh? A brand new manufacturer with zero experience in automotive. Might as well buy bmw/merc. Atas.

Buy Dyson ppl make fun of you during cny.

Are you saying MIW kam gong

Thatâs most stupid idea as it takes more than 8 hrs.

Nowadays there are 150w charger which can partial charge EV in 15mins.

So I it impossible to charge from a bousehold single 60 amps DB?