Cab companies could be allowed to bid for COEs

Lotr

COE prices are unpredictable. ARF, VES and GST etc are more predictable revenues compared to COE.

A growing public transport needs a bigger budget to maintain. These operations are often running on losses.

Hence, the government may rely more on VES and satellite ERP to increase taxes on vehicles to subsidize public transport.

Its fake news if it harms the gahmen but useful information when it supports the gahmen

So we can clearly see where this one is going...

Double standard

If you don't accept and move on, you will be put in jail or be sued to court because you didn't pay 200k income/other tax. It happened to many people.

Quote first .

not sure if this is fake news. 

Edited by RH1667

Yep. 50 to 60k could be the norm by next year.

Yeah... worry our jobs first. Remember the 10 years economic cycle.

I find it weird that LTA first removed taxis from bidding under Cat A in 2012 as it drove up COE prices.

Then why allow taxi companies to bid again in Cat A?

Defeats the key objective.

Or is the new objective now is to deliberately drive up COE prices too create incremental revenue?

I find it weird that LTA first removed taxis from bidding under Cat A in 2012 as it drove up COE prices.

Then why allow taxi companies to bid again in Cat A?

Defeats the key objective.

Or is the new objective now is to deliberately drive up COE prices too create incremental revenue?

To be consistent with phv, it is either phv and taxis bid coe, or taxis and phv don’t bid coe.

Maybe they thought releasing the coes made available for taxis will be better. Whether it is to drive coe up or down, will have to depend on data.

If so happen taxis don’t need so much, it might actually drive coe down. So it’s not necessarily one way. After all, taxi companies are not like those phvs, which have so much cash to burn due to investors.

not exactly true, we will get our chance to exercise our voting rights once every few years.  If PAP still gets 70% or more, means most sinkies still can accept govt's policies such as POFMA, CPF etc etc... 

true!  As i said in previous post, More we speak about these policies more the topic will become political 

Must be PHV companies KPKB to Gahmen say unfair to them Teksi only need to pay PQP. Want Gahmen move PHV to same like Teksi. So now Gahmen going to make same lo.

Cover story #opinion

Why worry about COE? Better worry your jobs. Bills to pay.

If you can't keep up with bills then indeed shouldn't talk coe. Then you come to this thread gong simi :)

Really meh? I still find it so difficult to get a teksi/grab when I need one.

this i agree! esp in punggol sia....CCB [thumbsdown]

Think they foresee a economy slow down. So must squeeze those people who drive. But taxi/phv are making money, coe is a cost thus the companies can incr price to cover. Household drivers r not making money out of coe, so taxi/phv should pay more

Yup but if the gahmen force the public to pay the price commercial users are willing to pay they make even more $$$

Win win win (for gahmen)

Just curious, how come public buses such as SBS transit, SMRT, etc do not need to bid for Cat C COE for their fleet? Is it because they are 'public transport'? If so, then current system that Taxi, which is also 'public transport', being excluded from COE bidding is correct, no?

This is not true. Garmen wants them to buy cars, but not at cheap prices. They want them to pay expensive COE, ARF Road Tax, Petrol Dutiesnyo support the high celery.

If really car lite and all stop buying, the coffees will probably have at least 10 Bn shortfall.

Donald Trump still has a lot to learn from Singapore. We can impose "tariff" of 300% to cars coming to Singapore, but the trade war between USA and China only 25% and they making so much noise.....