Huawei. Mate 30

steveluv

Huawei Mate 30 Pro’s design revealed in official poster
By Habeeb Onawole - Aug 26, 2019

The Huawei Mate 30 will be rocking a very unique look when it launches later this year. After months of leaks, we now have a clear look of the phone thanks to a leaked official poster.

The poster which was shared on Weibo shows the Mate 30 Pro will have a wide notch similar to that of the Mate 20 Pro. We can make out about three cameras inside the notch. We bet the phone has a 3D face unlock system for security.

The Mate 30 Pro has an IR blaster and a microphone at opposite ends of the top. There are also antenna lines too. The display is shown to curve to the sides and the bezels are quite thin. The phone does look really gorgeous but we are more excited about the back.

Huawei-Mate-30-poster.thumb.jpg.471dd35a132c6fa9bc5b4fd819b881cd.jpg

The Mate 30 Pro will come with four rear cameras that are placed in a circular housing. The phone has a significant camera bump which we believe has an important function explained below.

Earlier today, Android Authority reported that Huawei and Honor may be working on Moto Mod-style cases for its phones. These cases were discovered on the Bluetooth SIG website which has a listing of several cases. The model number of these cases hint at their functions. For example, there is a game case, a snorkeling case, a health case, and an amplification case. These cases will connect via Bluetooth 4.2 and provide additional features. The listing is even more detailed and reveals the health case will have features like blood pressure monitoring, glucose-level monitoring, temperature measurement, and heart rate measurement.

The model number also reveals these smart cases will be available for different phones as the codenames are included in the model numbers. The codenames for some of these yet-to-be-announced phones are Anna, Elsa, Noah, Ark, Sulawesi, Maxwell, Emma, Keira, Yarlung, Zangbo, Volga, Danube, Titian, Palawan, Pascal, CHA, PEN, Piaget, Kelly, Audrey, Catherine, Eagle, Ruby, Bugatti, Baikal, etc.

Based on the design of the Mate 30 Pro, we believe it will be the first device to come with these smart cases and the cases should flush with the camera bump when attached.

The Mate 30 Pro also has what appears to be a Xenon flash and a smaller circ

For me, leakages of flagship phone models are getting more and more meaningless. With borderless LCD display, all phones look very similar, only difference being the notch or lack of it. And the features are all similar also. This phone boast fantastic camera specs, but not that deal breaker for me. And the top models from China also getting more ex nowadays. Think cannot go wrong just getting any flagship model lah.

Was looking to buy Mate 30.... now without Google apps  and Google services, can skip this phone liao

Google says Huawei Mate 30 can't be sold with Google apps and services

The latest news doesn’t sound good for the company’s immediate future with Google services on Android. According to company executives speaking to Reuters, Huawei is going ahead with the Mate 30 launch without Google Play apps and services.

According to Reuters, a Google spokesperson said the Huawei Mate 30 can’t be sold with the licensed version of Android or Google apps and services due to the US ban. The 90-day postponement of the ban does not apply to new products, which the Mate 30 qualifies as. Earlier this month, Richard Yu said the Mate 30 did not receive certification to use Google Play Services before the trade ban was put in place. They are considering using Harmony OS if the ban is not lifted.

Reuters says it’s possible that Huawei could use AOSP to get around the ban, but as we’ve previously reported, that may not be true. Huawei is still planning to unveil the Mate 30 line on September 18th, but as they did with the Honor 20 Pro, the launch date may be delayed.

There is a lot of confusion and uncertainty with Huawei right now. Obviously, losing Google’s immensely popular apps would be a big blow. Great hardware is important, but at the end of the day, it’s apps that we use the most. Losing key services such as Google Maps would be a deal-breaker to many Huawei fans and potential buyers. We will continue to track this story as it develops.

https://www.xda-developers.com/huawei-mate-30-without-google-play-apps-services/

Edited by Stooky

I cheapo .. looking at getting the P30 lite or the Y6 pro 2019.

P30 lite is 6mb with 128 gb while y6 pro is 4mb and 64gb

Has a better camera and expendable to 512 external storage with better batt.

Has NFC and fingerprint sensor.

More importantly, has VoLTE that I can finally use on the TPG SIM.

But after its more than twice the price of the Y6 pro. but at least its future proof till trump tells Google no.

Edited by Sdf4786k

It's official: the Huawei Mate 30 phones are launching on September 19
By David Nield 2 hours ago Mobile Phones

Mark your calendars.

We've already heard plenty of rumors and speculation around the Huawei Mate 30 Series phones, but here's something official: a launch date of Thursday September 19, with the unveiling happening at an event in Munich.

That's per the official Huawei Mobile Twitter account, so it's time to mark it on your calendars, book some time off work, or do whatever else you need to do in preparation.

The launch date tweet and accompanying preview site are encouraging us to "rethink possibilities" – so make of that what you will. There's also extensive use of what looks like a camera lens graphic, suggesting the Mate 30 phones will come packing some serious photo-taking capabilities.

We will of course be bringing you all the news as it happens from the Mate 30 Series event, and no doubt we're in line for plenty more leaks and rumors between then and now.
Some of the shine of the launch event is likely to be taken off by the news that the Mate 30 phones probably won't be able to use Google apps and services, thanks to the ongoing trade disputes between the US and China.

It's possible that Google will apply for an exemption for the Huawei Mate 30 handsets, but if not, Huawei is going to have to rely on its own HarmonyOS. We won't know exactly how this is going to play out until we see the phones themselves.

We're expecting both a Mate 30 and a Mate 30 Pro, at least. Previous leaked images point to a circular housing for the rear-facing camera, which could pack in as many as four individual lenses.

Other rumored improvements include faster wireless charging, but most attention is going to focus on exactly what software and apps the Huawei Mate 30 phones come running.

https://www.techradar.com/news/its-offi ... ptember-19

9 hours ago, steveluv said:

Mark your calendars.

We've already heard plenty of rumors and speculation around the Huawei Mate 30 Series phones, but here's something official: a launch date of Thursday September 19, with the unveiling happening at an event in Munich.

That's per the official Huawei Mobile Twitter account, so it's time to mark it on your calendars, book some time off work, or do whatever else you need to do in preparation.

The launch date tweet and accompanying preview site are encouraging us to "rethink possibilities" – so make of that what you will. There's also extensive use of what looks like a camera lens graphic, suggesting the Mate 30 phones will come packing some serious photo-taking capabilities.

We will of course be bringing you all the news as it happens from the Mate 30 Series event, and no doubt we're in line for plenty more leaks and rumors between then and now.
Some of the shine of the launch event is likely to be taken off by the news that the Mate 30 phones probably won't be able to use Google apps and services, thanks to the ongoing trade disputes between the US and China.

It's possible that Google will apply for an exemption for the Huawei Mate 30 handsets, but if not, Huawei is going to have to rely on its own HarmonyOS. We won't know exactly how this is going to play out until we see the phones themselves.

We're expecting both a Mate 30 and a Mate 30 Pro, at least. Previous leaked images point to a circular housing for the rear-facing camera, which could pack in as many as four individual lenses.

Other rumored improvements include faster wireless charging, but most attention is going to focus on exactly what software and apps the Huawei Mate 30 phones come running.

almost same time as iphone 11.

6 hours ago, Sdf4786k said:

almost same time as iphone 11.

so is it a good time to buy a mate 20 Pro cheap now? ^_^[:p][laugh]

Or sld I stick to my idea of an OPPO reno 256GB? ^_^

Edited by Tianmo

17 hours ago, steveluv said:

Mark your calendars.

Really hope Huawei mate 30 and mate 30 pro to be able to use Google services. If yes, I will confirm buy mate 30 Pro when my contract is due for renewal at end Dec. If not really pity sia. Such a good phone.. Haiz.. 

Edited by Yewheng

Huawei Mate 30 Pro Looks Gorgeous in New Renders — Four Cameras and All
By Jesus Diaz 3 hours ago Phones 

Strong features packed into a neat design

oSdzWhwNQwrgwJVQcgpgta-1024-80.jpeg

This is the new design of the Huawei Mate 30 Pro. On the front it is all screen except for a small notch. 

On the back, it looks like a compact camera, which makes sense given Huawei's photo expertise and because it is rumored to have “breakthrough” video features. Love them or hate them, Huawei is making some excellent iron lately.

At least according to master rumormonger Ice Universe, who usually is spot-on on his predictions. In a tweet, the galactic cat pointed out that he is “looking forward to a breakthrough in video shooting”. If this means that Huawei has implemented its best-of-class depth of field and low-lighting photographic abilities into the Mate 30 Pro’s video mode, users will be very happy.

But for now, we only know for sure how the phone will look, thanks to these exclusive renders by @onleaks for Indian tech site Pricebaba. The renders are in line with a recently leaked marketing poster made public by Ice Universe. I’m digging the back design. Instead of doing the ugly square pirate patch found in early renders of the iPhone 11 and the Pixel 4, Huawei has chosen to embrace a symmetric camera look that reminds me of the Canon Ixus compacts, but more elegant and ultra-thin. I like the sharply cut top and bottom ends too.

According to the rumors, the camera module will have two 40-megapixel sensors, plus an 8-megapixel telephoto lens and a Time-of-Flight sensor capable of capturing three-dimensional information of the scene to make depth of field effects.

The first 40MP sensor will allegedly have a lens with variable aperture from f/1.4 to f/1.6, with a RYYB pixel layout, same as the current king of the photographic hill, the P30 Pro. According to Sony — the sensor manufacturer — the RYYB layout collects 40% more light than standard RGGB sensors. A RYYB sensor uses can capture there times more light as a standard RGGB sensor, since the Y pixels are made of two red and green pixels each.

The second 40MP sensor is the same as the first, but with a 120-degree ultra-wide lens. The telephoto will offer a 5x zoom, according to the rumors posted by reliable leaker @Onleaks. On the front the rumor is that there will be three sensors, perhaps to enable facial id and selfie depth of field effects.

gzjAGFmf3hsUJMgAjEguNb-650-80.jpeg

The display — which is a curved OLED similar to the one used in Samsung Galaxy phones — is estimated to be a whopping 6.6 inches, again according to @Onleaks. The entire package will be allegedly powered by the latest HiSilicon Kirin 990 chip, which has a built-in modem.

The phone will include a 4,500mAh battery with 25W wireless charging and fast 55W wired charging. It’s all pretty solid — except there is no headphone jack. The bottom has a USB Type-C pro, microphone, speaker, and the SIM card tray.

H9EYcKddEpUUMuzcZnuSnb-650-80.jpeg

It is expected that the Mate 30 Pro will run an open source version of Android. Google confirmed that it has not licensed its apps for pre-installation in the Mate 30 and Mate 30 Pro following the U.S. Department of Commerce’s “Entity List” that bans American companies from doing business with the Chinese company. 

Mate 30 users will be able to download the apps on the internet like they do in China — where Google apps are not included in Huawei terminals — installing an app shop like Aptoide, Google Play, or directly from any APK repository, like APKmirror.com. It’s a nuisance, but an acceptable one.

We will know more about the Mate 30 line when it is announced on September 19 in Munich, Germany.