Possible claim after warranty?

Maddriver

Hi gents, would like to seek your advices and opinions. My car had a recall from Cycle on the urea tank issue and cycle had replaced during the warranty period. I had another urea injector replaced just before my warranty ends however today I had a fault code on the urea emission but the car no longer has warranty. Just passed the 100k mark.

My question is if the fault is again on the urea, can i still claim warranty from AD since recall issue has not being resolve which is due to manufacturer fault?

My car is a citroen diesel.

If car is serviced by them throughout, then I feel they would do it out of good will.

If not, I guess not obliged to.

If car is serviced by them throughout, then I feel they would do it out of good will.

Yes all servicing done at cycle.

There is a 12 months warranty on parts replaced by Cycle & Carriage.

Not sure if is the same part having problem. Will have to pay them a visit tomorrow.

If it's a different part causing the issue, ask for the diagnosis and  a quote.

If it's too costly, get a separate quote from Thomas and Partner, which specialises in Citroen and Peugeot. It'll be cheaper than at C&C. Thomas was  a mechanic at the previous Citroen distributorship before C&C took over.   

https://www.sgcarmart.com/directory/merchant.php?MID=11240

Edited by Vinceng

Yes, one of my car's CVT transmission failed just after warranty but Cycle repaired it out of goodwill although they charged me labour costs.

There is a 12 months warranty on parts replaced by Cycle & Carriage.

Yes, should still have warranty if the part was replaced by them.

Yes, one of my car's CVT transmission failed just after warranty but Cycle repaired it out of goodwill although they charged me labour costs.

Yes, should still have warranty if the part was replaced by them.

This is why I would always prefer to pay extra to do my servicing at AD vs outside.

https://www.peugeotforums.com/forums/308-2014-122/p20e8-fault-code-urea-tank-327132/

It's the issue with the urea tank. A problem with PSA cars. They will always have some kinda design flaw with their parts that's not easily rectified. Some things never change.

Whether you go to Thomas or AD they will not be able to solve your problem. Thomas isnt exactly cheap too. He knows very well what the AD is charging and he's only charging you marginally cheaper.

See one of the comments from the above link.

there is a known (undocumented) issue with 2.0 BlueHDI adblue tanks which were made between 2014-2017.

let me explain you the details: during driving it seems the vent valve system didn't work well. under-pressure was developed (i.e. :vacuum) . The urea pump now had to work twice as hard (if not more).
Eventually the pump would fail. you get P20E8... both engine and urea leds will turn on. error will tell you something about emission fault.
so PSA recignized the problem when pumps failure rate was too high. therefore , on end of 2017, they released a new AdBlue tank cap . this time with a small pressure release valve (a white circle in the middle of the cap)

However, if your pump is too worn-out... it won't help you. most likely a worn pump will fail prematurely.
By then you will need to replace pump (alas ... there is no pump part number so you need to buy the whole adblue tank. expect £800+ price tag outside warranty).
So far Peugeot hasn't release a formal TSB but I know they are considering. Afterall, its not a safety failure and it is not a cheap wiring loom. worst thing is engine polluting the air for 700 miles (you will start to smell it).
in your model replacing the cap wasn't sufficient. The whole tank ventilation system was redesigned.
A new PSA part number was created for the upgraded tank. search for the new tank part number. your dealer will tell you exact number.
Other models of PSA also suffer from same issue, howeve, sometimes an early cap replacement saved the pump.
I know that I bring it a bit late for the first post and it doesn't bring comfort but at least you know what happened...

The urea tank in uk already cost so much. Cant imagine the cost over here.

If going w/o the adblue doesnt affect your engine and only affects the environment, just ignore the fault code. No point spending that money knowing the problem will come back. Unless the parent company have come up with a permanant fix.

This is why I would always prefer to pay extra to do my servicing at AD vs outside.

Good advice.

Especially if your car breaks down a lot always service at ad.

If car never breaks down can save money and service outside.

https://www.peugeotforums.com/forums/308-2014-122/p20e8-fault-code-urea-tank-327132/

It's the issue with the urea tank. A problem with PSA cars. They will always have some kinda design flaw with their parts that's not easily rectified. Some things never change.

Whether you go to Thomas or AD they will not be able to solve your problem. Thomas isnt exactly cheap too. He knows very well what the AD is charging and he's only charging you marginally cheaper.

See one of the comments from the above link.

The urea tank in uk already cost so much. Cant imagine the cost over here.

If going w/o the adblue doesnt affect your engine and only affects the environment, just ignore the fault code. No point spending that money knowing the problem will come back. Unless the parent company have come up with a permanant fix.

Phew!! the urine tank cost $1,800 here..No choice i need to rectify it cos there is a count down 2400km. The engine will cut off once it hit 2400km, unless 3rd party workshop knows how to bypass it.

Cycle replaced with the 3rd gen urea tank and although car is no longer under warranty, they replaced it FOC.

Phew!! the urine tank cost $1,800 here..No choice i need to rectify it cos there is a count down 2400km. The engine will cut off once it hit 2400km, unless 3rd party workshop knows how to bypass it.

Cycle replaced with the 3rd gen urea tank and although car is no longer under warranty, they replaced it FOC.

Congrats!

On 5/21/2019 at 4:46 PM, Maddriver said:

Hey bro, 

Good to hear that. I just want to share that I encountered the same problem as you before. C&C changed it for me for free as well. But the message that the UREA tank is acting up just flashed on my car screen last week. I tot the adblue was running low so I bot a 10liter pack to fill it in. But even after that, the message still flash. 

I am going to bring the car in for checkup later. Like u, my warranty is over too.

My car is a C4 Grand Picasso fyi

I ever goto C&C to claim for my side mirror, as it will not fold properly.

So they said can claim and ordered the part.

Then they fix it, but hor, the mirror no longer fold liao.  I asked why, they said actually the side mirror is not claimable as my mirror is an aftermath mirror with auto fold - Grade A counterfeit wor 

The original mirror for my car's variant is no auto fold feature wor.

Anyway, they still fixed it lor.  I kind of like C&C la, except their servicing package is really out of this world lor.