Marine Parade roundabout changes

post-141090-0-04769300-1558406049_thumb.jpg

post-141090-0-19850700-1558406060_thumb.jpg

post-141090-0-55519300-1558406065_thumb.jpg

post-141090-0-50852200-1558406072_thumb.jpg

SINGAPORE: Several measures will be put in place to reduce vehicular speed and improve pedestrian safety at the roundabout in Marine Parade where a fatal accident took place in March. 

Announcing the measures on Monday (May 20), the Land Transport Authority (LTA) said it will implement tighter turning angles that lower motorists' speeds before entering the roundabout. 

"To slow down motorists as they turn into Silversea condominium, the turning radius will also be tightened," LTA added. 

SINGAPORE: Several measures will be put in place to reduce vehicular speed and improve pedestrian safety at the roundabout in Marine Parade where a fatal accident took place in March. 

Announcing the measures on Monday (May 20), the Land Transport Authority (LTA) said it will implement tighter turning angles that lower motorists' speeds before entering the roundabout. 

"To slow down motorists as they turn into Silversea condominium, the turning radius will also be tightened," LTA added. 

The crossing point for pedestrians will be moved to allow them to cross further away from the main flow of traffic at the roundabout, said LTA. 

These measures are in addition to the road warning signs and speed regulating strips announced in the wake of the accident, which killed an 82-year-old pedestrian. 

Residents of Marine Parade had called for more safety measures, saying they have seen motorists drive dangerously at the roundabout, and that the pavement on the perimeter of the roundabout is too narrow. 

The two-lane roundabout has three exits that lead to Marine Parade Road, Amber Road and the Silversea condominium. According to residents, the roundabout is heavily used by drivers to get to the city via Mountbatten Road or towards Parkway Parade on Marine Parade Road.

never thought of this road as dangerous in particular. in fact i treat all roundabouts in sg as dangerous becuz we dun use it often enough to be very familiar with how a roundabout works. if want to compare which more dangerous im looking at newton circus. u see cars doing last min exits from inner lanes etc.... drivers not familiar with roundabouts, jus go slower, signal ur intentions, check b4 u exit. if its not safe to exit, just go another round. its a roundabout u can go on and on and on w/o obstructing anyone.

Indeed true, all roundabout in sg are dangerous. Think they should also look into other roundabout if need changes.

Change this roundabout to signal regulated zone something similar to Newton circus.

Safety comes first.

[drivingcar]

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/82-year-old-dies-after-accident-at-marine-parade-junction-11356576

WHO drives around a roundabout and mount kerb wan?! Sebei lao-yah. Trying to drift in a FWD car? LoL...KNS.

accident-at-marine-parade-roundabout--si

An eye-witness said the 82-year-old woman was flung into the air and hit her head on the windshield of the car. (Photo: Sandra Decasper)

According to witness Sandra Decasper, 38, the car mounted the kerb and hit the woman, who was on the pavement at the time.

"It was an horrific scene because of the violence of the hit," said another witness, housewife Simone Martin, 37.

Both witnesses, who are residents at the nearby Silversea condominium, said the woman was flung into the air by the impact, and hit her head on the windshield of the car.

IMO changing the roundabout do not put a stop to the stupidity of such drivers.

Until someone comes up with an effective medicine for stupidity, such accidents will happen regardless.

This particular roundabout is really nothing to shout or scream about. If one is alert, maintain safe speed limit and not create new road by mounting up kerb, its a breeze to use.

Miss an exit, just go round about again and again until u happy its the correct exit and before u get giddy.

Safe ride. The best designed circle or roundabout traffic system is rubbish to an idiot who thinks his/her way is best including crashing thru railings, speeding thru a circle machiam going on a straight lane, mounting kerbs and stopping completely at the roundabout because need to steady the pea brain sampang-ing inside all that brain juice.

Cheaper to just put a gentle hump before the entrance of each round about to slow down cars.

Change this roundabout to signal regulated zone something similar to Newton circus.

Safety comes first.

[drivingcar]

Change to signal regulated zone also same, cause some drivers still dont know which lane to go and do last minute exits at the wrong lane.

Safety comes first.

[drivingcar]

wads the signal regulated zone? 

Indeed true, all roundabout in sg are dangerous. Think they should also look into other roundabout if need changes.

should remove all roundabouts if thats the deal but even w/o roundabouts accdent can happen in a straight road too. ganchiong spider never check properly or too garang drive too fast up the kerb like the fatal accident. but good move to widen the pedestrian walk way when u have goodu drivrs around

Until someone comes up with an effective medicine for stupidity, such accidents will happen regardless.

This particular roundabout is really nothing to shout or scream about. If one is alert, maintain safe speed limit and not create new road by mounting up kerb, its a breeze to use.

Miss an exit, just go round about again and again until u happy its the correct exit and before u get giddy.

Safe ride. The best designed circle or roundabout traffic system is rubbish to an idiot who thinks his/her way is best including crashing thru railings, speeding thru a circle machiam going on a straight lane, mounting kerbs and stopping completely at the roundabout because need to steady the pea brain sampang-ing inside all that brain juice.

Edited by 13177

Cheaper to just put a gentle hump before the entrance of each round about to slow down cars.

Agreed totally.

The traffic at the roundabout is horrendous almost every time I go there on weekends. From marine parade direction, you would see cars go flat out to be the first to reach the roundabout because there’s a merging lane from 3-2 just before that.

Then come the part whereby cars on the inner side exiting the circle forcing others on the other side to slow for them to exit...

No bloody speed or lane discipline at all.

Agreed totally.

The traffic at the roundabout is horrendous almost every time I go there on weekends. From marine parade direction, you would see cars go flat out to be the first to reach the roundabout because thereâs a merging lane from 3-2 just before that.

Then come the part whereby cars on the inner side exiting the circle forcing others on the other side to slow for them to exit...

No bloody speed or lane discipline at all.

Actually, gentle humps may caused some accidents. Too gentle, no use, will still speed thru cos know liao, its gentle mah.

Not gentle oso problem, drivers jammed brake cos scared shocks absorbers or lowered springs or bodykit kena scrape. Then car behind no skull i mean skill to brake in time as followed so close, scare cold.

Best is, dun drive.

Local Drivers when come to Roundabout,all Confused :a-confused: Don't know which Lane to Exit or Entry to which Lane,thus always Accident happened,esp in Suntec City Roundabout....Even Newton Circus got Traffic Lights also alot of Accidents. [bigcry]

Newton circles now is safer as compared to few years back. The only thing I feel could be further improv is to have u-turn point for each of the main road before the roundabout. This will reduce traffic going though roundabout slightly and also a faster turnaround for drivers if they just want to go opposite direction.

Edited by Yewheng

Be careful at this roundtable. I have seen several drivers driving on the yellow path below, then going into the red path, causing accident with cars who wanted to turn in to Amber Road along the blue path.

post-100773-0-88569800-1558483552.jpg

Be careful at this roundtable. I have seen several drivers driving on the yellow path below, then going into the red path, causing accident with cars who wanted to turn in to Amber Road along the blue path.

attachicon.gifroundabout6.jpg

best is to drift round that roundabout....steady...then all stop and watch

with SUV, nowadays, even roadhump is dangerous.. no one slows down if its a SUV.

I see that only a death can cause changes.

Its kind of sad that what "trigger" a review.

with SUV, nowadays, even roadhump is dangerous.. no one slows down if its a SUV.

I see that only a death can cause changes.

Its kind of sad that what "trigger" a review.

tell me sth new lor.....defensive management and never proactive

Be careful at this roundtable. I have seen several drivers driving on the yellow path below, then going into the red path, causing accident with cars who wanted to turn in to Amber Road along the blue path.

roundabout6.jpg

You are right. But this kind of kuku driving can be seen not only at this roundabout (which i do drive past often), also others like the 3 at the national stadium (which i also drive past often).