Bad idea to let cyclists ride into mall

kobayashiGT

Bad idea to let cyclists ride into mall

Sources: https://www.straitstimes.com/forum/letters-in-print/bad-idea-to-let-cyclists-ride-into-mall

lwx_funan_240519_5.jpg?itok=XUNFVGIn&tim

The new Funan mall will feature a 200m cycling path that runs through and around it.ST PHOTO: LIM YAOHUI

I read with shock and dismay about how the new Funan mall will allow cyclists to cycle in the mall (New Funan mall lets cyclists ride through it, May 22).

This is a very dangerous idea as customers shopping at the mall will be at risk of injury.

Who will monitor the cyclists so they do not speed or ride recklessly?

It is bad enough that pedestrians have to deal with reckless and speeding cyclists. Now, even mall customers have to deal with these dangerous riders.

Furthermore, these cyclists will jostle with customers and ride their bikes into lifts, causing a lot of inconvenience.

For safety reasons, cyclists must not be allowed into malls.

Can't they park their bikes and walk in the shopping centre like everyone else?

Hopefully, other malls will not take Funan mall's cue.

I, for one, will not patronise a mall that allows cyclists to ride around in it. My safety is more important than my shopping. This will encourage me to shop online more and avoid malls.

Susan Tan Lin Neo

st_20190524_24forumb_4863825.jpg

I think in today age, there must be a balance in mobility and convinences. It is convinent to ride in a mall, but safety could be an issue. Our govt approach is usually trial and error. Try first, if there is a mistake they will improvise. Nothing wrong with that. This problem is not just us. Even countries like US is also facing the same problem.

Susan is such a whinny pussy ............ 

Give it a few weeks, the mall will auto change mind one lah .......... Humans cannot have good things one, they sure fark it up themselves. A few incidents (accidents) will do nicely .......... Amen

Wonder if the mall's public liability insurance covers accidents caused by the bikes.

Dun ban yet. Wait for first few weeks for leotard vs PMD MMA fight to breakout first. Bought popcorn liao

1 of the worst ideal.

family shopping carrying stuff, kids walking here and there....

and if cyclist decided to stop at some shop. their bike park where?? inside??

dun make sense to park inside.

Dun ban yet. Wait for first few weeks for leotard vs PMD MMA fight to breakout first. Bought popcorn liao

yup, I will diam diam and  :a-popcorn:

Open space outside already plenty of accident involving PMD and people. 

Inside a mall??? Whose idea was that?

I simply won’t walk in

Becuase buy fromtaobao :XD:

Yes.... we know U........ will  "drive in"   [laugh] 

I simply won’t walk in

Seems nowhere is safe from this form of nuisance & terrors on wheels.

IMO, the only wheels permitted indoors are prams & disability mobility devices.

• Praise 11

I simply won’t walk in

same here, not going Funan.

let all the leotards congregate there.

Mall is theirs, they do what they want

My small money, they don’t want one lah

I go jb taobao Lazada qoo shopee

inside the mall is one story.

outside the mall is another story liow … imagine all the 2 wheelers plying one of the busiest roads in SG !