2019 3rd Generation BMW 1 Series (F40)

Wt_know

9 minutes ago, Theoldjaffa said:

Noob question. Is M135i considered a bona fide M car?

of course not la 

it’s simply M performance “tune” 4-pot engine for x35i .... 

///M where got 4-pot FWD one ... muahahahaha

5 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

of course not la 

it’s simply M performance “tune” 4-pot engine for x35i .... 

///M where got 4-pot FWD one ... muahahahaha

Thanks.

cos for Merc, a CLA 35 is still considered an AMG car although it doesn’t have a real AMG engine.

so I thought maybe BMW is similar.

5 minutes ago, Theoldjaffa said:

Thanks.

cos for Merc, a CLA 35 is still considered an AMG car although it doesn’t have a real AMG engine.

ok la ... the direction is going for downside engine

last time ... 4pot normal car, 6pot smooth smooth petrol head, real ///M at least 8-pot and 10-pot

now 4pot is entering YAM territory liao ... [laugh]

Just now, Wt_know said:

ok la ... the direction is going for downside engine

last time ... 4pot normal, 6pot smooth smooth, real ///M at least 8-pot and 10-pot

now 4pot is entering YAM territory liao ... [laugh]

What’s YAM territory ah?

4 minutes ago, Theoldjaffa said:

What’s YAM territory ah?

with factory ///M badge here there everywhere but not real ///M ...

so called YAM lo .... muahahaha

3 hours ago, Wt_know said:

with factory ///M badge here there everywhere but not real ///M ...

so called YAM lo .... muahahaha

Yah,like my M240i....😓

41 minutes ago, Davidtch said:

In the good ole days, it is 240 ///M Sports.

Now, M240.

Which 1 you like?

i want M110 .... sibei hiong ah!!!

16 hours ago, SZ_ford said:

330i for added space and more upmarket interior.

50 more hp in 135i.....i think performance difference between the 2 cars not heaven and earth .

in addition to RWD vs FWD, the gearbox is also a serious consideration for performance, agility and shiokness

135i = 8sp by Aisin

330i = 8sp by ZF [thumbsup]

2 hours ago, Wt_know said:

in addition to RWD vs FWD, the gearbox is also a serious consideration for performance, agility and shiokness

135i = 8sp by Aisin

330i = 8sp by ZF [thumbsup]

Aisin also buay pai right? To be able to go into an M-Performance car?

• Dislike 1

1 hour ago, Theoldjaffa said:

Aisin also buay pai right? To be able to go into an M-Performance car?

more like m-performance car get aisin gearbox to reduce cost to increase profit

aisin gearbox is mostly used in "fwd entry model" ... sushi rice vs german sausage

aisin gearbox is made for transversely mounted engine ... 

so 135i is entry level? [laugh]

1 hour ago, Wt_know said:

aisin gearbox is mostly used in "fwd entry model" ... sushi rice vs german sausage

I think ZF don’t have transverse AT GB. My R56 also 6 spd Aisin.

M135 torque (450nm) is higher than the limit of Getrag DCT. That’s why conventional AT has to be used.

It’s same for Mini JCW.

Edited by Davidtch

2 hours ago, Wt_know said:

Oic. But mine is longitudinally mounted engine with 8-speed Aisin gearbox leh 😅

36 minutes ago, Davidtch said:

I think ZF don’t have transverse AT GB. My R56 also 6 spd Aisin.

M135 torque (450nm) is higher than the limit of Getrag DCT. That’s why conventional AT has to be used.

It’s same for Mini JCW.

Good to know that the Aisin can tahan the torque.

my wheel torque is 330nm which is about 400nm on crank after factoring transmission losses? Shd be safe for my gearbox.

On 11/12/2019 at 4:00 PM, Theoldjaffa said:

Thanks.

OK, my viewpoint on M fake M and AMG half AMG etc.

Audi :  S and RS. So far very good! Clear cut! Even have S line.

BMW : Ignore what the model name says. Does the engine start with an S? Yes is real M. Anything else is half fark marketing spiel.

Mercedes : Engine hand built with signature or not? (note: C43 and A35 don't have). Yes is real AMG. Anything else is half fark marketing spiel.

Dunno why cant edit to add to my post above.

Just to add, I would be perfectly happy if my previous and current car :

S4 -> Call it A4 3.0T but all else same AND CHARGE ME LESS

M140i -> Call it 130i but all else same AND CHARGE ME LESS!!!