Ms Grace Fu & her Anti-Chope Movement

StreetFight3r

Minister of Culture, Community and Youth Grace Fu, who was the guest-of-honor, felt that such events are great in promoting a more gracious Singapore. She said, “It is not just limited to an event, but it is for us to bring this energy that can be put to great use in shaping the kind of society we would like to see.”

At the Kindness Carnival, Ms Fu stood by one of the new Ground-Up Movements (GUMs) called Anti-Chope Movement supported by SKM.

The founders of the Anti-Chope Movement said, “What an honour to stand with Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports Ms Grace Fu. While she holds up one of our cards with the #antichopemovement message! – ‘Please don’t chope!’.”

On their Facebook page, one of the founders explained why the movement was started, “What started out as a pet peeve, I have decided to take action and make a difference in hope to change social behavior, dissuading ‘chope-rs’ from ‘chope-ing’.”

“To ‘chope’ is not a life hack. In my opinion, it is an ungracious act carried out by individuals who are conforming to what everyone else is doing and taking to this advantage ‘ Singaporean-tradition’ of reserving a seat for selfish reasons… Seats at hawker centres, food courts, coffee shops, cafes and fast food restaurants are meant to be FREE-SEATING, free-for-all, it is a first-come-first get a seat (butt seated) basis; that is why you pay an economical price dining in places like that as opposed to dining in a restaurant,” it added.

“Please don’t ‘chope’. It is ungracious.”

Grace Fu caught ‘chope-ing’ public carpark lot with the help of a police officer

It’s strange that the founders of Anti-Chope Movement felt honored to have stood next to Minister Fu, the guest-of-honour at the SKM event, when Ms Fu herself was caught ‘chope-ing’ a public car park lot a couple of years ago with the help of a police officer.

post-141090-0-75097700-1559696669_thumb.jpg

In 2016, a resident while waiting for his wife at a public car park in Jurong, saw a man standing at a red season parking lot, reserving the season parking slot. The resident went up to ask the person what he was doing. The person identified himself as a policeman and explained that he was reserving the parking lot for a “VIP”.

The resident went back to his car to continue waiting for his wife. When the VIP arrived at the lot in a Mercedes, it turned out that the VIP was Minister Fu.

Like seats at hawker centres, food courts, coffee shops, cafes and fast food restaurants, the parking lots at any public carparks are meant to be parked on a “first-come-first-get” basis. That is why one pays an “economical price” parking at public carparks as opposed to parking in office lots with specially assigned car plate numbers.

When the news broke, many netizens did not approve having a policeman wasting his time ‘chope-ing’ a public carpark lot for Ms Fu.

In any case, since Ms Fu has sided with Anti-Chope Movement, she seems to be sending a message that ‘chope-ing’ seats in public eating places is ungracious but having a public servant to ‘chope’ a public carpark lot for her is ok.

Edited by StreetFight3r
  • Praise 23

Why do people 'chope' seats at hawker center leh? Too free or just love that particular seat? If you eat at fancy restaurants,  i guarantee you need not chope lah.

It is very difficult for high and mighty to understand the low class people problems simply got money no problem lah.

I dont think that she asked the policeman to chope the lot.

I think it is probably the superior of the policeman who wanted to make sure that there was a lot available for VIP.

I have never had an issue with choping although i personally dont do it.

In Hawker centers, i usually just sit where i find tissue papers.

The tissue paper is placed there by kind people for our use, isnt it?

I am also quite kind, i dont finish using the tissue paper and after my meal i leave it there for the next person.

many of them in white are hypocrites.

their rules apply to others, but not to themselves.

Hypocrisy unfortunately exist everywhere including MCF.

Rules are applied unevenly 

That is life, we have to accept.

Our politicians say unlike their USA counterpart do not enjoy post-appointment remunerations but please do kindly look at ex-government officials in various GLC and TH including related private companies.

Life goes on.

01-pot-calls-kettle-black.jpg

post-8794-1403702267.gif

wtf, what's wrong with choping a seat at hawker centre?

it's not as if we chope the seat the night before, or chope the seat for one full week or month

it's also considered first come first serve what, and it's more efficient given the time limit of a lunch period

[shakehead]

Although I don't usually chope seat cos I am alone mostly and I don't have tissue or bags with me, I can understand why people do it.

Nobody wants to go queue for food, and then holding a tray of food standing around waiting for seats. I know because I normally end up doing that during lunch hours.With a tray full of food, it is also quite hazardous standing around within a packed compound.

Sometimes I wish they have those tall table bench, so that I can eat while standing...but most food courts don't have that.

Edited by Icedbs

The main culprits and perpetrators of this choping behaviour are the office workers during lunch hours. The nearer the cbd, the worst the behaviour.

I think it stems from the "need" to eat seated together by these office workers.

If everyone can just buy their food, find any empty seat, eat up and go, there is no need to chope as everything will be more efficient.

Want to socialise, go to a restaurant and book a room. 

It is chicken or egg dilemma. 

If nobody chopes and willing to just share table, eat and go, the empty seats turnover will be higher and more efficient. 

Then chances of one holding a tray of hot food without a seat will be greatly reduced. 

Although I don't usually chope seat cos I am alone mostly and I don't have tissue or bags with me, I can understand why people do it.

Nobody wants to go queue for food, and then holding a tray of food standing around waiting for seats. I know because I normally end up doing that during lunch hours.With a tray full of food, it is also quite hazardous standing around within a packed compound.

Sometimes I wish they have those tall table bench, so that I can eat while standing...but most food courts don't have that.

I guess the ministar never has the chance to hold a tray of food walking around but cannot find an empty seat.  Some grasshoot already chope for her.  That's why can comment like that.

Like the French princess that said "Let them eat cake" when told the peasants had no bread to eat.

• Praise 11