Hong Kong protesters demonstrate against extradition bill

Kopites

cancel the trip totally liao lor, what change to tsuen wan area, you siao is it?... [:p][laugh][laugh]

Near disneyland mah or book yuen long better near shenzhen crossing border lol

brick throw on full gear police with protective shield versus shooting rubber bullets in close proximity to the students/kids.

Still doesnt give u the right to attack police. When the police retaliates they cry foul play

They also destroying public properties

https://www.facebook.com/213440582045291/posts/2239687879420541?s=100013464244422&v=e&sfns=xmo

they are just kids.

poor children.

Hope it does not become like Arab Spring there.... but if it continues like this Singapore will be then the preferred choice for international companies to relocate..... good for the economy here but our cost of living will be compromised even more

And this, children, is exactly why you don't want to become a vassal to China.

Maintain good ties and economic relations but STOP right there.

Hope it does not become like Arab Spring there.... but if it continues like this Singapore will be then the preferred choice for international companies to relocate..... good for the economy here but our cost of living will be compromised even more

Yes hk cui sg will huat

copied and paste.

18 min ago

Amnesty International: Police must end excessive force against largely peaceful protest in Hong Kong

A police officer fires tear gas during clashes with protesters in Hong Kong on Wednesday.

A police officer fires tear gas during clashes with protesters in Hong Kong on Wednesday. PHILIP FONG/AFP/Getty Images

Amnesty International said police's use of forces against protesters in Hong Kong is "a violation of international law," adding that officers have "taken advantage of the violent acts of a small minority as a pretext to use excessive force against the vast majority."

Earlier today, police used tear gas and rubber bullets to push back against protesters rallying against a controversial extradition bill.

“The ugly scenes of police using tear gas and pepper spray against overwhelmingly peaceful protesters is a violation of international law. Police have a duty to maintain public order, but in doing so they may use force only when strictly necessary. Hong Kong’s police have today failed to live up to this standard," Man-Kei Tam, Director of Amnesty International Hong Kong, said in a statement.

The statement continued:

“The police have taken advantage of the violent acts of a small minority as a pretext to use excessive force against the vast majority of peaceful protesters.

Tear gas and projectiles like rubber bullets are notoriously inaccurate and indiscriminate and can result in serious injury and even death. They should only ever be used in a targeted response to specific acts of violence and never to disperse peaceful protesters.

This excessive response from police is fueling tensions and is likely to contribute to worsening violence, rather than end it. We urge the Hong Kong police not to repeat such abuses against peaceful protesters, and instead ensure people can legitimately exercise their rights. We also remind police that using force against protesters already brought under control is unlawful.”

Unlike the somewhat peaceful yellow arm bra lah...this time round considered very well planned, organized, mobilized.

Many came well prepared with protective gears...many water bottles at strategic points for both consumption and first aid against tear gas...

ladders? Seriously? Stools (for sitting type hor) more useful for peaceful protest right?

Bricks were thrown from a distance unprovoked it seemed.

Anyway, may peace be restored asap at the expanse of bro Vid’s smooth drive around the island...

Edited by mersaylee

Unlike the somewhat peaceful yellow arm bra lah...this time round considered very well planned, organized, mobilized.

Many came well prepared with protective gears...many water bottles at strategic points for both consumption and first aid against tear gas...

ladders? Seriously? Stools (for sitting type hor) more useful for peaceful protest right?

Bricks were thrown from a distance unprovoked it seemed.

Anyway, may peace be restored asap at the expanse of bro Vidâs smooth drive around the island...

disagreed in one point.

yellow umbrella was organised with so called leaders leading the occupation. "occupation central 3 scholars"? don't know how to translate..

this time round were unplanned occupations. The objective was to hold another protest March like Sunday. many businesses shut down. school suspended so that people can participated in the protest march.

however this morning the train skipped admirabilty station for about 10 plus minutes or so upon the instruction of the police. This incident angered many making their way there.

second, the suspension by the government admistration not to hold the meeting scheduled this morning also left the protestor up high and dry. No immediate objective. disperse or stay? ended up the easier route is to occupied the foo hai..junction leading to the government house.

my view ..no obvious leader or club leading the protest also couple with the police hard handling most likely the crowds will disperse by tomorrow morning.

Edited by Kopites

Sg can only go online say Ccb pap

i dont know man, i hope you wont be invited for kopi  ro nasilamak session tomorrow  morning hor.  

disagreed in one point.

yellow umbrella was organised with so called leaders leading the occupation.

this time round was unplanned occupation. The objective was holding another proteSt March like Sunday. many businesses shut down. school suspended so that people can participated in the protest march.

however this morning the train skipped admirably station for about 10 plus minutes or so upon the instruction of the police. This incident angered many making their way there.

second, the suspension by the government admistration not to hold the meeting scheduled this morning also left the protestor up high and dry. No immediate objective. disperse or stay? ended up the easier route is to occupied the foo hai..junction leading to the government house.

my view ..no obvious leader or club leading the protest also couple with the police hard handling most likely the crowds will disperse by tomorrow morning.

Indonesia recent riot, they close down SNS like whatsapp, facebook and insta to prevent the rioters to grow big. Its obviously these students and youngsters are being misled and manipulated by some to create chaos. Peaceful protest is acceptable but if they come with umbrella, mask, handkerchief, helmet, water bottle, brick etc, this shows that they were planning to do riot and fight the police

i dont know man, i hope you wont be invited for kopi ro nasilamak session tomorrow morning hor.

I am surprised to see some people here wish sg to turn into like this, protest and go riot at streets. It seems many people cant wait to vandalise public properties lol

copied and paste.

18 min ago

Amnesty International: Police must end excessive force against largely peaceful protest in Hong Kong

A police officer fires tear gas during clashes with protesters in Hong Kong on Wednesday.

A police officer fires tear gas during clashes with protesters in Hong Kong on Wednesday. PHILIP FONG/AFP/Getty Images

Amnesty International said police's use of forces against protesters in Hong Kong is "a violation of international law," adding that officers have "taken advantage of the violent acts of a small minority as a pretext to use excessive force against the vast majority."

Earlier today, police used tear gas and rubber bullets to push back against protesters rallying against a controversial extradition bill.

âThe ugly scenes of police using tear gas and pepper spray against overwhelmingly peaceful protesters is a violation of international law. Police have a duty to maintain public order, but in doing so they may use force only when strictly necessary. Hong Kongâs police have today failed to live up to this standard," Man-Kei Tam, Director of Amnesty International Hong Kong, said in a statement.

The statement continued:

âThe police have taken advantage of the violent acts of a small minority as a pretext to use excessive force against the vast majority of peaceful protesters.

Tear gas and projectiles like rubber bullets are notoriously inaccurate and indiscriminate and can result in serious injury and even death. They should only ever be used in a targeted response to specific acts of violence and never to disperse peaceful protesters.

This excessive response from police is fueling tensions and is likely to contribute to worsening violence, rather than end it. We urge the Hong Kong police not to repeat such abuses against peaceful protesters, and instead ensure people can legitimately exercise their rights. We also remind police that using force against protesters already brought under control is unlawful.â

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Criticism_of_Amnesty_International

Indonesia recent riot, they close down SNS like whatsapp, facebook and insta to prevent the rioters to grow big. Its obviously these students and youngsters are being misled and manipulated by some to create chaos. Peaceful protest is acceptable but if they come with umbrella, mask, handkerchief, helmet, water bottle, brick etc, this shows that they were planning to do riot and fight the police

I am surprised to see some people here wish sg to turn into like this, protest and go riot at streets. It seems many people cant wait to vandalise public properties lol

during their first umbrella movement all came unprepared. They were treated with baton, canon water jet, pepper spray, smoke grenade.

I don't think anyone here wishes singapore to be like Hong Kong now. we have empathy and support the hK children does not mean we want such event to happen in Singapore.

Edited by Kopites

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Criticism_of_Amnesty_International

Don’t worry too much...we are living in a fine city.

We only have yellow ribbon movement here.

To put people off... we have CWO lah, fake news act lah...if all else fail still got I Shall Act...

Hard for protests to remain peaceful. There's always a small bunch of troublemakers that escalate the peaceful protest into confrontation. Sometimes these are extreme elements within the protesting groups, but often these could also be "planted" by the authorities themselves to justify use of force to clear the protestors.

during their first umbrella movement all came unprepared. They were treated with baton, canon water jet, pepper spray, smoke grenade.

I don't think anyone here wishes singapore to be like Hong Kong now. we have empathy and support the hK children does not mean we want such event to happen in Singapore.

Actually I do wish we have the guts to stand up for our own rights. 

But yes, you guys are right. Gutless singapore is good for business.

Hong Kong is already part of China, outsiders no say one.  If it gets out of hand, China might just send in the tanks again.  We can only offer our sympathies.

And look on the bright side - Businesses running away from HK and HK becoming just another Chinese city probably will benefit Singapore.

Don’t worry too much...we are living in a fine city.

We only have yellow ribbon movement here.
To put people off... we have CWO lah, fake news act lah...if all else fail still got I Shall Act...

I thought we only have anti chope movement....