Hong Kong protesters demonstrate against extradition bill

Kopites

1 hour ago, Wishcumsback said:

You need to be precise  - who are the HKer who "rejected" introducing national education in the SAR school.

Would you care to elaborate?

25 minutes ago, Davidtch said:

Depends on your interpretation of that phase you seems to be concern with. In PRC context:

https://baike.baidu.com/item/海外华人

海外华人有多种定义,可以是Overseas Chinese的译名,而在不同情形下有着不同认知。这个词可以代表着来自很多不同国家的公民,例如于印尼、泰国、马来西亚、美国等国家所出生的华人后代。Overseas Chinese也可以专指具有中国国籍但是定居在海外的中国人,但此时翻译为华侨。

47 minutes ago, Davidtch said:

Would you care to elaborate?

Simple - 7 years ago, HK gov had tried to introduce the same education program to their schools.

Who reject that ? Not the HK avg folks but a political groups AND some student groups - one of which was led by Joshua Wong in 2012.

At that time, western media took pains to claim the policy is an attempt of "brain washing by CCP" or put their backing on those who rejects the education by saying SAR gov  "lacks legitimacy in the eyes of many people."

https://edition.cnn.com/2012/07/30/world/asia/hong-kong-national-education-controversy/index.html

Today, with zero national education in HK schools, we see the result in the street, at the Universities and even between family members.

Need I elaborate more ?

Edited by Wishcumsback

7 minutes ago, Wishcumsback said:

Simple - 7 years ago, HK gov had tried to introduce the same education program to their schools.

Who reject that ? Not the HK avg folks but a political groups AND some student groups - one of which was led by Joshua Wong in 2012.

At that time, western media took pains to claim the policy is an attempt of "brain washing by CCP" or put their backing on those who rejects the education by saying SAR gov  "lacks legitimacy in the eyes of many people."

https://edition.cnn.com/2012/07/30/world/asia/hong-kong-national-education-controversy/index.html

Today, with zero national education in HK schools, we see the result in the street, at the Universities and even between family members.

Need I elaborate more ?

Thanks.

Under National Patriotic Education, 1 has to loyal to both country (e.g. Singapore) and party (e.g. Pxx).  There is no OR in btw.

Under CCP context, definitely no wrong.

https://www.hk01.com/社會新聞/398907/逃犯條例-九大校長聲明-困局非大學造成-政治僵局需政府化解

I can't find the English version.

「大學校長關於香港目前時局的聲明」全文-2019-11-15

香港目前正處於四分五裂的局面,不同社會團體、政黨,以至家庭及朋友之間均存在極大的分歧。過去一星期,本港出現的暴力和對立情況進一步升級﹕某些大學已被示威者所控制、校園內有毒的化學品遭拿走、教職員與同學因擔憂其自身安全而離開校園。這些事件正對大學造成最根本的挑戰。

任何政治觀點,都不能成為肆意破壞財物,威脅他人安全以至使用暴力的理據。令人遺憾的是,當前的社會紛爭,已令大學校園化身成政治角力的場所,而政府的回應至今未能有效化解危機。任何認為大學可以化解這場危機的期望是不切實際的,因為這些極其複雜而艱難的困局,並非由大學造成,亦無法透過大學紀律程序來解決。這些困局反映的是整個香港社會的分歧,政府必須牽頭聯合社會各界,以迅速和具體的行動來化解這一政治僵局,以恢復公共秩序和社會的安定。

香港是我們的家。我們呼籲社會各界共同努力,將和平與秩序帶回香港。

香港城市大學校長郭位教授
香港浸會大學校長錢大康教授 
嶺南大學校長鄭國漢教授
香港中文大學校長段崇智教授
香港教育大學校長張仁良教授
香港理工大學校長滕錦光教授  
香港科技大學校長史維教授
香港公開大學校長黃玉山教授
香港大學校長張翔教授

Edited by Davidtch

30 minutes ago, Davidtch said:

Thanks.

Under National Patriotic Education, 1 has to loyal to both country (e.g. Singapore) and party (e.g. Pxx).  There is no OR in btw.

Under CCP context, definitely no wrong.

Is that wrong for the Chinese gov to make its own political decision and national programs like SG does to our own ?

Has the Chinese socialist system result in poverty,  outbreak of large riots and social break down ?

It is okay for one to have differences in ideological terms, but who are you or me or any non-Chinese nationals to say how China should be run ?

Edited by Wishcumsback

32 minutes ago, Davidtch said:

https://www.hk01.com/社會新聞/398907/逃犯條例-九大校長聲明-困局非大學造成-政治僵局需政府化解

I can't find the English version.d

大學校長關於香港目前時局的聲明」全文-2019-11-15

香港目前正處於四分五裂的局面,不同社會團體、政黨,以至家庭及朋友之間均存在極大的分歧。過去一星期,本港出現的暴力和對立情況進一步升級﹕某些大學已被示威者所控制、校園內有毒的化學品遭拿走、教職員與同學因擔憂其自身安全而離開校園。這些事件正對大學造成最根本的挑戰。

I select just the 1st paragraph of the HK university statement - The last one is enough to get you shot not just by SG security, but also in US also.

Don't believe me ? Remember the shooting by US National Guards during the anti-Vietnam war demo in US ?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kent_State_shootings

og-image-filo.jpg

15 minutes ago, Wishcumsback said:

Is that wrong for the Chinese gov to make its own political decision and national programs like SG does to our own ?

Has the Chinese socialist system result in poverty,  outbreak of large riots and social break down ?

It is okay for one to have differences in ideological terms, but who are you or me or any non-Chinese nationals to say how China should be run ?

I didn't say it is wrong. I merely highlighted what you said earlier "At that time, western media took pains to claim the policy is an attempt of "brain washing by CCP" or put their backing on those who rejects the education by saying SAR gov  "lacks legitimacy in the eyes of many people.""

9 minutes ago, Wishcumsback said:

I select just the 1st paragraph of the HK university statement - The last one is enough to get you shot not just by SG security, but also in US also.

Don't believe me ? Remember the shooting by US National Guards during the anti-Vietnam war demo in US ?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kent_State_shootings

任何政治觀點,都不能成為肆意破壞財物,威脅他人安全以至使用暴力的理據。令人遺憾的是,當前的社會紛爭,已令大學校園化身成政治角力的場所,而政府的回應至今未能有效化解危機。任何認為大學可以化解這場危機的期望是不切實際的,因為這些極其複雜而艱難的困局,並非由大學造成,亦無法透過大學紀律程序來解決。這些困局反映的是整個香港社會的分歧,政府必須牽頭聯合社會各界,以迅速和具體的行動來化解這一政治僵局,以恢復公共秩序和社會的安定。

Edited by Davidtch

2 hours ago, Wishcumsback said:

There were 10x  more death in US alone due to gun violence in just 1 month vs over the last +5 months of violent protest in HK.

This isn't a joke. It is a Fact.

https://www.nytimes.com/2019/08/31/us/us-mass-shootings.html

Now tell me about freedom story. HA!

Democracy and guns.

"A free people ought not only be armed and disciplined, but they should have sufficient Arms and ammunition to maintain a status of independence from any who might attempt to abuse them. Which include their own government". I disagree. 

Say no to civilian gun ownership and ban weapons, I think it cannot prevents any tyranny. So, no need to ban democracy. 

1 hour ago, Wishcumsback said:

Need I elaborate more ?

Ok.That national education is everything and absolute important....Current state of HK is all because no proper national education. That is how your read. Noted.

3 hours ago, Wt_know said:

wah police also so beh tahan liao

If you work like them week after week, for the past 8 months, no off in lieu, extra hours to cover because of the protests. Risk of your family being doxxed, risk of you getting ambushed by rioters. You will go off the rails also one. Police also human, not only the young and purposeful errr protestors.

aiya. if dun like ccp, dun like china, dun step foot there loh.

dun use stuff make by china, dun take their rmb, dun even talk to prc. stay far away from them

like my dad, he dun like AM, he die also wont go europe or US, he wont use any thing make by them, ( no joke )

if u dun like china and ccp and keep use their stuff and take rmb. really (i dun know how to call it) 👎

Edited by Beregond

4 hours ago, Davidtch said:

Of course there is nothing stopping HKer going to China to work.  Similar question would be asked as well, what's stopping Singaporean going overseas to work?

Many Singaporeans have done so.  Actually it would be interesting to know how many Hong Kongers have migrated/work oversess as a percentage of the entire population and compare it with Singapore. 

20 minutes ago, Beregond said:

aiya. if dun like ccp, dun like china, dun step foot there loh.

dun use stuff make by china, dun take their rmb, dun even talk to prc. stay far away from them

like my dad, he dun like AM, he die also wont go europe or US, he wont use any thing make by them, ( no joke )

if u dun like china and ccp and keep use their stuff and take rmb. really (i dun know how to call it) 👎

Hate the country but love their product

又爱又恨