Hong Kong protesters demonstrate against extradition bill

Kopites

maybe got a lot of people want to go. But see the traffic situation sianz ji pua liao.

One of the US army majors in Iraq noticed that protestors build up in the city square cos food sellers go there to sell food.

So what he did was prevent food sellers from selling in main square when the protest is building up  [laugh]

imagine if go there sell food and drinks, I think need to ferry a few times in a day for supplies. Sell there 3 days can go holiday for 1-2 months. Only thing must be prepared to run for your life... [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

the problem is if HK assimilation goes smoothly, it will make Taiwan less troublesome when the time comes.

the problem with the new law is, literally HK can send anyone back to which ever country where the supposed crime had committed as long as it valid. The hk courts cannot do anything else even if the requesting country got lousy legal system or poor human rights.

bro, you never try to understand the law.

only the court have the right to decide send or not send, and all the decision has to be according to the written law.

They listen ... to the mainland people [laugh]

Not mainland people.

Mainland communist party leaders.

Mainland people are just like you and me.

They want the same things we want.

bro, you never try to understand the law.

only the court have the right to decide send or not send, and all the decision has to be according to the written law.

When there is mistrust in the administration and mainland, it doesn't really matter whether the law has safeguards or is well drafted.

This flashpoint will have happened sooner or later. Either today or a few years down the road.

Though the timing with Tiananmen anniversary just last week was poor.

Not mainland people.

Mainland communist party leaders.

Mainland people are just like you and me.

They want the same things we want.

Massages and no MILs  [;)]

When there is mistrust in the administration and mainland, it doesn't really matter whether the law has safeguards or is well drafted.

This flashpoint will have happened sooner or later. Either today or a few years down the road.

Though the timing with Tiananmen anniversary just last week was poor.

Massages and no MILs [;)]

Yup exactly.

imagine if go there sell food and drinks, I think need to ferry a few times in a day for supplies. Sell there 3 days can go holiday for 1-2 months. Only thing must be prepared to run for your life... [:p][laugh][laugh]

Sell umbrella also good haha

I heard to minimise tear gas impact, u can put a line of toothpaste under ur eyes

This was taught by indo police on recent riot

if human right so big and protest got use.

barcelona independent already .

hk had too much freedom for their own good.

try doing the same stuff and see how the police treat u ,

i think hk police already being very nice compare to other place.

It is not Barcelona.  It is call Catalan Independent Referendum.  Catalonia includes Barcelona and Gerona.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Catalan_independence_movement#2017_referendum,_Declaration_of_Independence_and_new_regional_elections

law creating an independent republic—in the event that the referendum took place and there was a majority "yes" vote, without requiring a minimum turnout—was approved by the Catalan parliament in a session on 6 September 2017.[56][57][58] Opposition parties protested against the bill, calling it "a blow to democracy and a violation of the rights of the opposition", and staged a walkout before the vote was taken.[59] On 7 September, the Catalan parliament passed a "transition law", to provide a legal framework pending the adoption of a new constitution, after similar protests and another walkout by opposition parties.[60][61] The same day, 7 September, the Spanish Constitutional Court suspended the 6 September law while it considered an appeal from Mariano Rajoy, seeking a declaration that it was in breach of the Spanish constitution, meaning that the referendum could not legally go ahead on 1 October.[62][63]The law was finally declared void on 17 October[64] and is also illegal according to the Catalan Statutes of Autonomy which require a two third majority in the Catalan parliament for any change to Catalonia's status.[65][66][67]
The referendum took place on 1 October 2017, despite being suspended by the Constitutional Court, and despite the action of Spanish police to prevent voting in some centres. According to the Catalan authorities, 90% of voters supported independence, but turnout was only 43%, and there were reports of irregularities.[71] On 10 October 2017, in the aftermath of the referendum, the President of the Generalitat of CataloniaCarles Puigdemont, declared the independence of Catalonia but left it suspended. Puigdemont said during his appearance in the Catalan parliament that he assumes, in presenting the results of the referendum, "the people's mandate for Catalonia to become an independent state in the form of a republic", but proposed that in the following weeks the parliament "suspends the effect of the declaration of independence to engage in a dialogue to reach an agreed solution" with the Spanish Government.[71][72]

Massage and MIL are very good code words.

Massage is code for to pursue happiness, liberty and the lifestyle you want as long as it doesn't harm other people and

MIL is code for overbearing authority that must poke and disturb everything you do.

So @lala81 has very succinctly encapsulated what everyone in the world wants.

Everyone wants the first one and everyone don't want the second one.

Massage and MIL are very good code words.

Massage is code for to pursue happiness, liberty and the lifestyle you want as long as it doesn't harm other people and

MIL is code for overbearing authority that must poke and disturb everything you do.

So @lala81 has very succinctly encapsulated what everyone in the world wants.

Everyone wants the first one and everyone don't want the second one.

how about the 2nd one doing a 1st one on you?  [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Lol. U think the people care about the criminals?

How many percent of any developed city's population are actually criminals? Maybe 2-3% tops? 

Would that garner 1 million people.

Yes it's political. But politics are moving into civilian life. In china, political control and civilian life are intertwined.

The people are protesting specifically this part. So the PRC can haul up any HK citizen that is deemed to have committed a crime in their territory.

Imagine if your hot-headed son is one of the protestors throwing bricks. Anytime he steps into mainland china, he can be blamed for some imaginary crime and hauled back to mainland china even if he's doing his stuff in HK non-aware of what "crime" he committed.

As a parent, would you want something like this to happen?

Seriously, anyone who takes this at face value is naive. Haha I could probably sell him the air he/she breathes in.

Hongkongers are definitely not naive.

This provision also applies to any foreign national residing in HK or transiting through HK.

Supporter of the provision argues that HK court is the safeguard against indiscriminate extradition.

Unfortunately, HK court has been criticised for not toeing to party line.  I don't know how long could HK court remains independant especially when it is alway in shortage of judge.

Finally I manage to go read up a little on this extradition bill. 

I am not law train, so i read with layman understanding.

In layman term, the bill simply means any Hongkonger if committed an unlawful event in China and run back to HK, if caught will still be send to china for prosecution.  Vice versa for the PRCs. 

How wrong is such a bill?  Logically it sound all correct to me in a layman understanding.

Hongkongers need to accept the fact that Hong Kong is part of China, "one country 2 system" only last for 50 years from 1997, and will expire in 2047, like it or not, it is a fact. In 2047, HongKong will officially be run by communist, no running away from this. 

20 years ago, china needed HK as a bridge to the outside world, today HK is no longer as valuable as it was to the CCP gov.  Trying to pass the bill is just a political correct and a nicer way to transit control faster without breaking that 50 years promise. 

But if XJP can abolish  the 2 term President-ship and make himself the ever lasting lao da, what and who can stop him from breaking the 50 years promise set by DXP, who is a dead man now? 

Communist is he talk no you talk, XJP can always declare that time has change, and the 1 country 2 system policy is no longer needed now. And suddenly HK will come under communist rules, no need pass this bill that bill, is just he wants to do it or not only...  [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

It applies to foreigner also.  Don't anyhow CCB XBB hor. [lipsrsealed]

Finally I manage to go read up a little on this extradition bill. 

I am not law train, so i read with layman understanding.

In layman term, the bill simply means any Hongkonger if committed an unlawful event in China and run back to HK, if caught will still be send to china for prosecution.  Vice versa for the PRCs. 

How wrong is such a bill?  Logically it sound all correct to me in a layman understanding.

The bill is not the main issue.  The main issue for the HongKongers is that if they accept this bill which intervenes their current judical system, they are worried that more of such intervention will come in future.

In fact, for this bill, there seems to be many gates in place. Even if it is passed,  some legal committee in HK must agree to the extradition request before the suspect can be extradited. Also, they even assure that religious and political crimes will not be extradited.

However, nobody trust all these gates. All the people know is that if they accept this bill,  they are afraid that more of such legal intervention from China will come in the future. And they don't believe that the China legal system is fairer and better than theirs.

In short, this bill is just a trigger. Their protest is more of the unhappiness over the legal intervention from China.

Edited by Icedbs

The recent abduction cases didn't help improve trust. Many believe it will be used to arrest businessmen and activists who are not obedient, or stand on the wrong side.

https://www.ft.com/content/8e54c51c-e7a7-11e6-893c-082c54a7f539

I don't know how to trust a judicial system who made Interpol chief dissappear.

After his wife complains, interpol chief was "arrested".

Was in HKG from Monday and came back yesterday evening . Stay at Wan Chai area , things seems normal on the streets , people minding their own business . No issues taking a cab to the airport also .

Would think that as Long as you avoid the protest area , should be fine .

But frankly , unless it’s business trip or you have urgent matters to attend , why go there now for holiday.

Yes , heard about the money reward to attend the protest from staffs and suppliers there . It’s pretty clear that there is foreign government behind these protests .

Would think that only UK should be able to comment as they have the agreement with China Lor .

The rest should just shut up , if not happy , just dun go HKG or withdraw all your investment Lor . China did not force you to invest lei ...

There are a lot of Singaporean working or doing business in China.

Foreigner would always be disadvantage in a legal dispute with local PRC.

Good luck if cannot even run road to HK.

The bill is not the main issue.  The main issue for the HongKongers is that if they accept this bill which intervenes their current judical system, they are worried that more of such intervention will come in future.

In fact, for this bill, there seems to be many gates in place. Even if it is passed,  some legal committee in HK must agree to the extradition request before the suspect can be extradited. Also, they even assure that religious and political crimes will not be extradited.

However, nobody trust all these gates. All the people know is that if they accept this bill,  they are afraid that more of such legal intervention from China will come in the future. And they don't believe that the China legal system is fairer and better than theirs.

In short, this bill is just a trigger. Their protest is more of the unhappiness over the legal intervention from China.

haha when did any of the PRC arrests occur for political crimes. Nope. It's always for corruption, for killing someone in an RTA

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gui_Minhai

Corruption is one of the items that can be extradited btw.

I think there's about few hundred thousand policemen or minor officials in china willing to testify for the state that u tried to bribe them [laugh].

The only ones they charge for subversion are the ones they have already imprisoned.

Or else it's cheating or corruption. Like the fugitive chinese billionaire.

Think ICA needs to monitor the hongkee here.

Many of them been voicing their displeasure about what happened in hk and might create the same movement here, some comments even trying to stir or link it to Singapore

What happened in hk, stays in hk. Dont bring it here, not our fight and never will.

Think ICA needs to monitor the hongkee here.

Many of them been voicing their displeasure about what happened in hk and might create the same movement here, some comments even trying to stir or link it to Singapore

What happened in hk, stays in hk. Dont bring it here, not our fight and never will.

No worries, ISD will watch them.

Over here, who do they fight?