Worth it to sell 5 year old car (with high COE) and buy new

Wolverine23

correct but u get new fresh 10 years drive ownership

its actually very simple numbers driven, an excel spreedsheet with formulas and one u input the parameters like trade in value, redemption costs, new car installments etc the outcome cashflow analysis will tell u if u lose more or lose lesser...

Ha at the risk of stating the obvious and being a full cash preacher, u should have at least paid up your loan before you itchy hand change car bah. Or else it's just unwise personal finance management...

Buy car already donate a lot of tax to govt liao. Don't donate so much to finance company also lol.

[First time buyer]

.. Do you think it's more worthwhile to buy a new car at prevailing COE than a usedcar with COE around 60K.

For PI C-HR.

Would love to know your thoughts.

Thank you!

[First time buyer]

.. Do you think it's more worthwhile to buy a new car at prevailing COE than a usedcar with COE around 60K.

For PI C-HR.

Thank you!

If you are first time buyer, I suggest you to buy from AD.

Lesser hassle.

[First time buyer]

For PI C-HR.

Thank you!

Unless u are planning to drive for only 2 years and sell off for some specific reason, i would recommend buying new.

Especially since the used market, u have to decide on what is fair value for the car.

And your lack of experience may either make u overpay or get a lemon car.

correct but u get new fresh 10 years drive ownership

its actually very simple numbers driven, an excel spreedsheet with formulas and one u input the parameters like trade in value, redemption costs, new car installments etc the outcome cashflow analysis will tell u if u lose more or lose lesser...

Can you provide a spreadsheet for the benefit of all?

[First time buyer]

For PI C-HR.

Thank you!

Buy new since COE is lower now.

Used car more issues.

Nowadays no need to go Quotz or Motorist sg...your used car will always fetch around 2K plus whatever your paper value is...

sad fact but true..

and then the used car dealer who bought ur car will bump up the sale price by another 20K on sgcarmart...advise fellow bros dun let them take advantage of you (eg low COE price lah, bad market lah) if you intend to sell…

unscrupulous used car dealers!! :pissed-off:

Nowadays no need to go Quotz or Motorist sg...your used car will always fetch around 2K plus whatever your paper value is...

sad fact but true..

and then the used car dealer who bought ur car will bump up the sale price by another 20K on sgcarmart...advise fellow bros dun let them take advantage of you (eg low COE price lah, bad market lah) if you intend to sell…

quotz is ok, 100bucks to see the demand pricing bidded by used car dealers, not happy don have to sell even...

sad fact but true..

2k not true bro . Pls see their recent transactions available online. If coe drop further ~10K then b&b car can get paper value max.

recent example (26-June) : https://www.quotz.com.sg/biddingdetails?AID=26069   

*paper value $42881 and highest bid 62,400. Final deal should be more than $61,500

If 2k more than paper then better to trade in to AD to get used car bonus haha 

Edited by Mann123

Buy new car always bo hua. Cos the interest u have factor in liao. Say u loan 7 years, u sell at 5 years also means u the 2 years interest u paid liao. And usually u buy new car, need to loan even u rich. U say dun loan, they will jack up car price. So end up same.

Yeah agree..

Car loan usually is a non reducing loan, and each new car AD sold fetch more than 10k profit.These are money that not factored in and cannot take back.... Depre, interests and AD's profit....