Shift to new satellite base ERP system in 2020

Staff69

1 minute ago, weng0202 said:

If the idea is to just charge motorist for usage, cannot just make the tax for fuel higher meh. Stupid design with too many unnecessary gimmics. 

got KPI ... must do some high grass project then can promote ma? [sly] 

• Angry 1

14 minutes ago, Wt_know said:

i don't want the simi sai real-time traffic updates .... can car owner opt for single OBU like bike

please provide as an option leh ... [mad] 

no need to know charging locations and rates la ... just pay and pay ... know also no use ... unless dont drive only

st_20200909_cterp09a_594597.jpg

16 hours ago, Mustank said:

The touchscreen a lot of money one 😫

ah gong pay but is use our money to pay [:|]

What do you think Dr Goh would have done?

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/from-the-archives-goh-keng-swees-legendary-thriftiness

Actually if they wanna do like this, they might as well work with Pioneer or Sony.

th?id=OIP.dBR_2iMkICAbs2ScgmsDBwHaE0%26p

Used as a GPS, Stereo player, deduct my money machine and it is not obstructive.

24 minutes ago, weng0202 said:

If the idea is to just charge motorist for usage, cannot just make the tax for fuel higher meh. Stupid design with too many unnecessary gimmics. 

Then what about electric and hybrid cars?

The para mentioning IT specialist Larry Leong is not seen. In the printed ST , the last few paras refer.

He commented that the system is old fashioned. He said that App-based open platform would have been better and more cost effective.

IMG20200909100717.jpg

Edited by Fitvip

Why re-invent the wheel with another hardware? Why cant just write an APP and connect via handphone (GPS, payment system etc). Just make sure motorist download the APP and link up all the necessary interfaces when driving. 

51 minutes ago, weng0202 said:

The more holier explanation given was to reduce congestion. They never said to charge motorist more. 

But the simpler solution would have been not to throw back all those extra coes back into the pool... Which is then encouraging ppl to increase the vehicular population.... And then give them an excuse to charge more. 

I don't know where they got the idea that ppl will buy cars to park at home and pai-swee only.  

1 hour ago, inlinesix said:

Want to KPKB? Straight to Ministar

this is the only hope: so take a few mins to leave your complaint there, or forever be silent...

9 minutes ago, Ysc3 said:

The more holier explanation given was to reduce congestion.

What I think they really want to do, is make ERP 2.0 a technology showcase for Singapore - world's first GPS based vehicle charging platform. Urban planning. Future autonomous vehicles. Etc...

2020 technogy but still need to top up cashcard? 

In the end still have to deal with all the different cashcard, flashpay, vcashcard

Japan Taiwan etc all already using cashless billing for years omg...

31 minutes ago, Fitvip said:

The para mentioning IT specialist Larry Leong is not seen. In the printed ST , the last few paras refer.

He commented that the system is old fashioned. He said that App-based open platform would have been better and more cost effective.

IMG20200909100717.jpg

I think so too. Like just paste a QR code/NFC sticker at the windscreen.

Everytime before driving just scan and activate the app.

I think I can work in the govt leh! Damn. too bad I am not a scholar. 😅

39 minutes ago, Fitvip said:

He commented that the system is old fashioned.

Correct. Using a mobile based platform would have made perfect sense. Instead they're using an inflexible bespoke hardware platform.

The ERP 2.0 display technology and the whole cashcard payment platform is 10 years outdated already. What a flop.

But then again, we couldn't even figure out a local universal e-payment system, so why should cars be any different...

Edited by CremornePt

10 minutes ago, CremornePt said:

Correct. Using a mobile based platform would have made perfect sense. Instead they're using an inflexible bespoke hardware platform.

The ERP 2.0 display technology and the whole cashcard payment platform is 10 years outdated already.

yalor ... why not a stylo mylo kopi-o device mounted on the dash (not windscreen) ... sleek and flat ... no need smlj touchscreen

10 minutes ago, kobayashiGT said:

I think so too. Like just paste a QR code/NFC sticker at the windscreen.

Everytime before driving just scan and activate the app.

I think I can work in the govt leh! Damn. too bad I am not a scholar. 😅

It would be quite dumb to have spent more than $556 mn to acquire some "old fashioned"  tech!😅

Edited by Fitvip

Only idiots can come up with such a messy, complicated solution.  Everything is made smaller, except LTA's 3 piece machine with a separate PROCESSING UNIT.  Our mobile phones can do everything the LTA's IU does, and 1000 times more.

It is just incredible how stupid the people in LTA are.  As if badly designed roads/junctions are not enough, now they will put in the ugly IU to remind us ALL THE TIME how idiotic they are whenever we are in our cars.

43 minutes ago, Alfc said:

Why re-invent the wheel with another hardware? Why cant just write an APP and connect via handphone (GPS, payment system etc). Just make sure motorist download the APP and link up all the necessary interfaces when driving. 

Cos no money to be made with app.... new hardware, new project, new lengthy development... you know how much GDP that contribute?

Edited by Volvobrick