Shift to new satellite base ERP system in 2020

Staff69

an average joe who live in jurong west need to travel to tampinese need to pay more for erp 2.0

compare to a person who live in marina bay condo drive to changi airport?

The new system maybe means people better find job near to their house, so even you drive also incurred short distance which you will pay lesser.  [rolleyes]

what happens when car breakdown and get tolled away

like that i am sure will also be charged

who are exempted from charges ~ gov vehicles, ?

I'm waiting for clarity on a few things:

- who pays for damage to the solar film - it can't be a one price compensation, I'm sure a RR solar film costs more than a Hyundai / Toyota

- is this scheme island wide, and who determines where the boundaries are

- are they time dependant

- PDPA issues - will the info stored be used to track individuals

- are there any health issues with this system?

The scheme should be far more transparent than the silly taxi surcharges, you need a PhD to understand them. 

KNN govt think people in Sg so free , enter CBD like going dating or what ni ?? No wonder marriage rates and procreation down, tio boh @Jamesc  [laugh]  

Edited by BanCoe

Govt can now collect distance-based road usage, and speeding fine easier.

Good game to all your braking horse power.

Play Pokemon GO type of speed detection?

Have to allow buffer for technical errors I feel.

Edited by Showster

Orrr horrr all the speeding lorry pickup van bus people die liao

Or people will seriously consider to buy house near their workplace. Walk to work or take a bus few stops away.

Property near employment clusters huat!

Next up - push for electric vehicles!

The new system maybe means people better find job near to their house, so even you drive also incurred short distance which you will pay lesser.  [rolleyes]

Edited by Showster

This new IU looks like ICU monitor..

Maybe for dual use..

You mean ECG monitor .......... anytime can give heart attack and die on the spot  [lipsrsealed]

With satellite ERP, the government can track your every movement within Singapore.

This satellite thing, it is can only find in sg ah?

Not fake news

HSK just said over the weekend that govt will trust you with the truth and then the govt will work with u and for u.

Lol can feedback to REACH since govt will now work with u and for u

govt will thrust you and they will  REACH Orgasm    :XD:  .. Quite true  [nod]

Don't think so. Find that this is trying to make more money.

ERP was implemented to ease traffic congestion, not to tax every driver, including those who do not cause congestion. So now a mother who fetch a child to and fro school within her neighbourhood also kena taxes, even though she cause zero congestion. While those who use CTE and now charged no differently from other parts of Singapore who are not congested.  This will cause the CTE to be even more congested. Road pricing is supposed to be dynamic based on DEMAND to help ease traffic. Not based on some stupid fixed rule based on distance.

Could be a fairer way to collect tax for vehicle, hence, benefiting folks who really need a car for short commute.  

1 stone kills all the birds lah. 1st you going to pay more. 2nd, you will be tracked whichever corn you hide. Then, biz don't say no business, number of trips tell lots of story. Pay your taxes lah.

average joe supposed to take world class MRT, that is the masterplan.

an average joe who live in jurong west need to travel to tampinese need to pay more for erp 2.0
compare to a person who live in marina bay condo drive to changi airport?

I hope so. This cannot be solely based on distance. It should be dynamically priced based on the DEMAND of each road. Or else if it is a FLAT RATE across the country and than multiply by distance, then implement for what other than to make more money for the govt? The whole idea of ERP is to charge based on demand, i.e. more congested roads get charged more, so as to divert traffic and improve traffic flow.

the whole logic of distance based charging sounds easy....but the devil is in the details. If LTA can't balance the interests of all walk of society fairly, it will be a huge issue. Hope they had done their homework very well...