The true cost of driving in Singapore

awhtc

I calculated the monthly cost of ownership is abou 1300 to 1500.

So it is not wrong to say you will need about 6500 gross income, be it household or individual to own a car.   33% for housing, so 20++% for car.  The rest of the 30~40% for consumption and SAVING !! 

In recent times, eParking also jack up the cost, cannot play universal coupon liao.

thats why I dont have savings  [bigcry]

every day thinking maybe tomorrow end of the world liao  :a-rip:

PS. morning got my license immediately fly down to AD put Dep liao  [drivingcar]

PHV is the answer  :XD:  best is at Nite Club ..... got tips some more . 

PHV is the answer :XD: best is at Nite Club ..... got tips some more .

Yeah I know you moon lite-ing as valet

Thats why the correct Nite Club is important .  :XD:  

which one is good??

Ever since Marquee opened Singapore River got few more Merlions at night!  [laugh]  [laugh]  [laugh]

the news article should say best is dun marry and have kids

I calculated one can save 1 mil in 30 years at least. 

best saver scenario

can pay for a ferrari when one is 55 years ago, assuming start work at 25. 

Like that many Sgporeans will not have cars

assuming most earn 120k-150k here even in MCF ( i know i know, many will say forummers here are on min 500k annual salary, but most are big cannon fairies)

then not many 60k cars to choose

Attrage or Bezza will be best seller

most?............ ouch! [bigcry]

my buddy used to say if no car not smoking non gaming casino 4d toto dont use branded goods no chionging etc [drivingcar]

he said in 30 years can save 1 million liao  [:p]

but after 3 decades we check our childhood friend whom dont touch the above also dont even have half million lor  [lipsrsealed]

why huh  [shakehead]

remind of the old joke...

A: how long have you been smoking?

B: 20 years

A: do you know that if you hadn't started smoking, you'd have saved enough money to buy a Ferrari now

B: do you smoke?

A: no

B: then where's your fxxking Ferrari?

most?............ ouch! [bigcry]

remind of the old joke...

A: how long have you been smoking?

B: 20 years

A: do you know that if you hadn't started smoking, you'd have saved enough money to buy a Ferrari now

B: do you smoke?

A: no

B: then where's your fxxking Ferrari?

this is the joke me used to "sour" my buddy lor  :grin:

somehow somewhere money will be gone one lah  :yeah-im-not-drunk:

Don't own a car, public transport is so convenient, you can save a lot.

Don't bother looking at that new EC/condo development, you will slave the rest of your life paying it off. Be happy with your HDB.

Don't have kids, you have to slog to support them for 25 yrs minimum.

Don't hire that helper, you and your wife can cope, just requires sacrifice

Don't need to go cafes/fancy eating places. Humans eat to live. Hor fan at your local coffeeshop is good enough

Don't need to pay money to travel, there's the internet, it's as good as being there yourself!

Whoever can live according to ALL the above maxims will fit the golden model envisoned by govt and can withdraw their CPF in full. Best is if you can spend that money and arrange for your ashes to be scattered into the sea so they don't even have to waste a slot in Mandai after you have passed.

Everyone has their own poison, everyone has something that is technically a want but to them is a need. And our govt is well aware of that. I just don't like that owning a car is framed solely as a liability to your eventual retirement. As posters above have stated, there are a thousand ways people can spend their money un-wisely. Not all of us can achieve greatness and do something that can benefit all of human kind, but we sure as hell can spend our own money and try to drug ourselves into thinking we at least did some worthwhile "living" in our lifetime.

• Praise 15

Don't own a car, public transport is so convenient, you can save a lot.

Don't bother looking at that new EC/condo development, you will slave the rest of your life paying it off. Be happy with your HDB.

Don't have kids, you have to slog to support them for 25 yrs minimum.

Don't hire that helper, you and your wife can cope, just requires sacrifice

Don't need to go cafes/fancy eating places. Humans eat to live. Hor fan at your local coffeeshop is good enough

Don't need to pay money to travel, there's the internet, it's as good as being there yourself!

Whoever can live according to ALL the above maxims will fit the golden model envisoned by govt and can withdraw their CPF in full. Best is if you can spend that money and arrange for your ashes to be scattered into the sea so they don't even have to waste a slot in Mandai after you have passed.

Everyone has their own poison, everyone has something that is technically a want but to them is a need. And our govt is well aware of that. I just don't like that owning a car is framed solely as a liability to your eventual retirement. As posters above have stated, there are a thousand ways people can spend their money un-wisely. Not all of us can achieve greatness and do something that can benefit all of human kind, but we sure as hell can spend our own money and try to drug ourselves into thinking we at least did some worthwhile "living" in our lifetime.

Welcome to Sillypore

500k is cheap

Imagine if u are family of 4

Mrt and bus daily $20, figures include if u take grab occasionally

per month will be $600

One year $7.2k. 50 years will be $360k le

Difference $140k divided 50 yrs= $2.8k per annum

Monthly $233

Daily $7.77.

Then measure time saved compared to taking public transport and convenience.

Aiya....Chris Tan neber count over 30 yrs his salary how much? In comparison, $500k to enjoy a few cars over one's working/productive life is peanuts

This kind of "what if" talk imo is full of hot air. If you dont spend on a car you will surely spend it on something else. Like for smokers and non-smokers do you see non smokers being a lot well off than smokers? When they dont spend on ciggy. You might as well say what if you dont eat or drink you save a whole lot more. LoL....

Having a car in sgp obviously is more than how big you look at the 5cent coin. It's about having the control of time in your hands aka time management. It's also about efficiency as you dont have to waste time waiting for a bus or train, having to go thru every bus stop or train stations along your journey. It's freedom to go anywhere in the shortest time possible with a car w/o spending the whole day waiting and travelling. What you are buying is also your piece of personal space, the privacy that you cant have in a bus train or even the taxi...while on the go.

You can go on forever on the "what if" you dont spend on. Why bother to buy a HDB when you grow old and opt for the lease buy back scheme? Dont get married and dont have children and lease everything from housing, furniture and car. You die a boring lonesome individual who has plenty to spend on old age but is that your goal in life?

So Chris Tan no drive car?

CPF must be very happy with him parking 500k with them.

CPF will be very happy if you do the same.

Chris tan belongs to the same league as Mr. "faster cheaper better". They like to stare at their cpf account and arm chio. [laugh]