Liverpool Football Club - It is time to end the 30 year wait

Akula

Chelsea also lost in its opening home UCL game vs Valencia.  So, both teams will be looking to get back to winning ways.  Chelsea is at home so it will be more well rested. Pool played its strongest hand at Naples so most of the players will need to play again at the weekend.  

57 minutes ago, Fooblack said:

The curse of Naples struck again. Ancelotti joked that Pool will win the UCL again this year as Napoli beat Pool last season in the corresponding fixtures. 

Pool didn't play too badly and good value for at least a point. Another late game drama leads to a hotly disputed penalty which should been a clear dive any given day.  VVD's loose pass was uncharacteristic and Lorente gave the scoreline further inequity to Pool.  

Pool's away form in the UCL has traditionally been poor and not helped by this latest set back. This put the pressure back to Pool to ensure that they do not drop further points otherwise the last couple of games will require Pool to get results. 

Ancellotti has long history with Pool leh, sometimes he wins, sometimes we win...

i hope his prediction will come true this time.

5 hours ago, Shorty said:

How was it a penalty even aft var checks?... That was a dive sia. 

from certain angle u keep rewatch, the right thigh of the attacker contact against the left thigh of the defender and he fall over.

but if u go back a split sec he indeed look like losing balance ( but he never fall down )

its the contact with the defender that cause him to fall.

Edited by Beregond

9 minutes ago, Fooblack said:

Chelsea also lost in its opening home UCL game vs Valencia.  So, both teams will be looking to get back to winning ways.  Chelsea is at home so it will be more well rested. Pool played its strongest hand at Naples so most of the players will need to play again at the weekend. 

Just hope that Pool's EPL form is better than Chelsea and we'll manage to get the better of them on that night. Actually, with Hazard gone, Chelsea's attack is definitely weaker than it was, so if we play a controlled game and snuff out any of their attacks before they manage to come too near, should have chance.

imo it wasn't a penalty. replays clearly show AR getting a touch on the ball first then the attacker comes into contact with AR's thigh and falls over 

Last season, we lost away to Napoli at start but end of day we won the Champions League.

This season story repeat....so we are going to Istanbul to win the Champions League again.

Even Carlo Ancelotti told Klopp it will be so, after the match...lol

15 hours ago, Robin said:

imo it wasn't a penalty. replays clearly show AR getting a touch on the ball first then the attacker comes into contact with AR's thigh and falls over 

the challenge looks like a legit penalty in real time and that's what the ref spotted. We can be a bit sympathetic to the ref in this case. 

On replay and slow mo, it then became very clear that he player fell and liberally went into Robertson before the contact was made. That's why Klopp was adamant that it cant be a penalty because he fell before the contact was made.  

VAR in this current application parameters, can't over rule the referee's on field decision unless it was a "clear and obvious mistake" by the ref. This bar set so high is so subjective that not many folks out there can even understand how it will come into play.   The effect and influence of VAR is becoming a bit of joke due to these errors of judgement first by the on-field ref followed by the impotence of the VAR ref who can't overrule... 

4 hours ago, Hamburger said:

I have zero respect for Italian team. All wayang king. Pui.....

Klopp and all pool players should have known better that Italian football is full of trickery till the very end.

If Klopp has given instructions to slow down the game and revert to possession football towards the last 15 minutes, things may be different n at least Pool may end up with a point.

No doubt we don't lose too bad but the strong desire n motivation to beat the defending champions is alway there.

Still a good wakey up call to Klopp & Co to maintain complete focus in this European competition.

Lucky there are 5 remaining matches to redeem; but still a tough challenge lie ahead.

Edited by cashcow

Last season, we lost 3 away games - which was to all the other teams in the group. PSG was understandable, but Napoli we played so poor, and even against Red Star the weakest team, we lost by 2 goals...

As long as we play to the normal standard this year, we should still qualify comfortably, so we should just learn from the mistake, and focus on next games.

Chelsea's Abraham said Pool should be careful, as Chelsea is angry with their own UCL loss and will take it out on Pool this Sun...

I hope the guy will again have to eat his words, and Pool can walk away with 3 points this Sun.

3 hours ago, Atrecord said:

Chelsea's Abraham said Pool should be careful, as Chelsea is angry with their own UCL loss and will take it out on Pool this Sun...

I hope the guy will again have to eat his words, and Pool can walk away with 3 points this Sun.

Why get angry so easily, have a feeling his anger will continue to grow... 

Tammy Abraham is on fire for the last 3 EPL games scoring 7 goals so Pool's defence should be careful with him. 

2 vs Norwich, 2 vs Sheffiield united and 3 vs Wolves.  Let's see if he can keep up with stronger defenders this sunday. 

38 minutes ago, Cauldron said:

Blunder from a pool loanee

Nothing new 

Really Buay tahan him 

UCL final Commit mistake and still use concussion as an excuse 

Maybe this time he has a more fantastic reason