Next time no more driving license to carry around

The Traffic Police (TP) plans to stop issuing physical driving licences unless requested by motorists in its push towards digitalisation, said Senior Parliamentary Secretary for Home Affairs Sun Xueling on Monday (July 8).

As such, the Road Traffic Act will be amended so that motorists will no longer be required to surrender their physical licences if they do not have one, she added.

"Today, TP plans no longer relies on physical licences to ascertain an individual's driving qualifications. TP can access this information backend, using an individual's NRIC and date of birth," said Ms Sun, who was speaking in Parliament during the second reading of the Road Traffic (Amendment) Bill.

Other changes proposed in the Bill, which were previously announced by the Ministry of Home Affairs, include making clear in the law that a motorist's licence will be suspended or revoked four weeks from the date of notice, even if the motorist's appeal against it is still being processed.

This is because currently, some errant motorists delay the suspension or revocation of their licences by misusing the appeals mechanism, said Ms Sun.

"They file multiple unmerited appeals at different junctures, and through different channels. By doing so, they drag out the process, so that they can continue to drive in the interim," she said.

"But we need to remember, these are irresponsible drivers who have already been picked up for multiple offences leading to a suspension or revocation. To allow them to continue driving while they drag out the appeal process, is to put other motorists at risk," she added.

She said where possible, the police will process and respond within two weeks of receiving an appeal.

In addition, the Bill proposes that the licence suspension period be lengthened to up to five years from the current three-year period.

For full story please go to

https://www.straitstimes.com/politics/parliament-traffic-police-plans-to-stop-issuing-physical-driving-licences-unless-requested?utm_medium=Social&utm_campaign=STFB&utm_source=Facebook#Echobox=1562572268

First they do away the physical car log card, then road tax disc and now driving licence?

How about foreigner?

Why until now still does not require them to take the actual driving test like us? 

Just pass theory can liao when so many of them driving like it is their grand father road! 

First they do away the physical car log card, then road tax disc and now driving licence?

Now waiting for them to do away w COE next...
  • Praise 10

You go overseas, you want to rent a car, they want to see your licence.

How ?

PMDs are going at 120km/h on the road without driving license, why do we need a driving license huh ?Haha.

How ?

Get international license lor. $$$ again.

To be precise, it's international driving permit not licence. Still hv to show licence w the permit

How ?

Reading the first sentence, it seems to suggest that you could still request for the card if you wish once you have gotten your licence, which i believe many would.(Ill see if they will start charging for that...)

My license the laminate sibeh cui

dun bluff, you think in the 80s huh, laminate the paper licence, now is using card liao [laugh]

my plastic license....the photo disappear liao....

Physical licence is useful lo, cause can use it to exchange security pass. No need to take out IC.

The problem is that the world will not have database of Singaporeans holding driving license. So it makes no sense to totally abolish to become all digital.

If want go full force all digital in driving licence, then sg must ensure that the world can access that information too. Imagine in future when go overseas want rent car, car rental company said show me your driving license. Then the guy Singaporean said, I have no physical driving license only digital one. Then the car rental company give a confused look and said what digital license? No physical driving licence cannot rent car here.

Another scenario is, when driving in Malaysia. Stopped by Malaysia tp. Malaysia tp said you are speeding and want you to show him the driving license. Then you said I have no physical driving license, only digital one. Then the Malaysian tp also give a confused look and said better don't play punk, if not we can arrest you. Then how?

They are using the digital licence as an excuse to ask you to pay for it if you want to request for physical licence? Anyway, how much do we need to pay for driving licence when you passed your test ah?

The problem is that the world will not have database of Singaporeans holding driving license. So it makes no sense to totally abolish to become all digital.

If want go full force all digital in driving licence, then sg must ensure that the world can access that information too. Imagine in future when go overseas want rent car, car rental company said show me your driving license. Then the guy Singaporean said, I have no physical driving license only digital one. Then the car rental company give a confused look and said what digital license? No physical driving licence cannot rent car here.

Another scenario is, when driving in Malaysia. Stopped by Malaysia tp. Malaysia tp said you are speeding and want you to show him the driving license. Then you said I have no physical driving license, only digital one. Then the Malaysian tp also give a confused look and said better don't play punk, if not we can arrest you. Then how?

Agree. Physical licence is still a must especially those who like to go for self drive holiday. What apply to Singapore doesnt apply to other country. Accessing/Sharing of database might be challenging.

Don't worry about database sharing.  With recent track records, very likely the driving licence data will eventually be hacked and posted online.  All other govts will have easy access!