Singapore Private Property prices still up or down? Part III

pChou

just as implementing cms can only slow the price increase, removing them will only slow the decrease

those negative cash flow ones, good luck if hoping for a u-turn if cms are removed... that is if you survive the initial price plunge and margin calls by banks first before ah gong reacts 

still too early in the virus crisis to have an impact on property yet... wait for it to pan out and hopefully it’s for the better

life is more important than asset prices now

😷

Edited by Enye

39 minutes ago, Enye said:

just as implementing cms can only slow the price increase, removing them will only slow the decrease

those negative cash flow ones, good luck if hoping for a u-turn if cms are removed... that is if you survive the initial price plunge and margin calls by banks first before ah gong reacts 

still too early in the virus crisis to have an impact on property yet... wait for it to pan out and hopefully it’s for the better

😷

People have been talking about margin calls since 2007. So far never heard anyone got it.

Want to preserve life also need a place to hole up right?

2 minutes ago, Showster said:

People have been talking about margin calls since 2007. So far never heard anyone got it.

Want to preserve life also need a place to hole up right?

wah guru... don’t panic lah

i m sure you are ok financially 🤗

2007 to now got no serious virus crisis.  financial crisis can lower interest rate pump liquidity

virus crisis can do what? esp when no cure... this one looks like it would be larger than sars in terms of spread and deaths

nobody taking holidays, companies cancelling business meetings, industry conferences cancelled across all industries globally. 

travel, dining, transport, retail, hotel   and other sectors will suffer severe hit if the current situation persists. 

now supply chain is patchy, inventories are piling up, factories are reducing operations due to swelling inventories and many yet to start up after cny except those for medical supplies ... impact on pnl will only show end of this quarter 

honestly it’s still early days yet ... businesses are still reporting a rosy picture based on 2019 financial year

🤭😓

20 minutes ago, Enye said:

wah guru... don’t panic lah

i m sure you are ok financially 🤗

2007 to now got no serious virus crisis.  financial crisis can lower interest rate pump liquidity

virus crisis can do what? esp when no cure... this one looks like it would be larger than sars in terms of spread and deaths

nobody taking holidays, companies cancelling business meetings, industry conferences cancelled across all industries globally. 

travel, dining, transport, retail, hotel   and other sectors will suffer severe hit if the current situation persists. 

now supply chain is patchy, inventories are piling up, factories are reducing operations due to swelling inventories and many yet to start up after cny except those for medical supplies ... impact on pnl will only show end of this quarter 

honestly it’s still early days yet ... businesses are still reporting a rosy picture based on 2019 financial year

🤭😓

How to panic??? 
Globally the liquidity is still seeking that little bit higher yield. Gold, hard assets. I have relatives who is ready for full cash to pay off a house without loan, waiting for that lobang without tax.

It will be really silly for anyone holding these to let go cheap, although some may need to. The numbers have already been shrunken to a bare minimum over so many years.

What does not rise that much really cannot fall as well. The reason why there was a dip in 2009 due to H1N1 -(Dorscon Orange I think), well, study what happened in 2007-2008.

Edited by Showster

1 hour ago, Enye said:

😷

it’s all about interest rates if u are talking about negative cash flow. Last time SARS interest rates were 4%?  If interest rates stay Low, hard to get negative cash flow.

lets see how this pan out. I suspect China is going back to work soon. Basically they find a way to treat or at least improve the disease outcome.

probably just forget about containment..

Edited by Wind30

51 minutes ago, Enye said:

wah you guys can go study history

but this is the reality now... and global business leaders are worried for sure 

let’s hope this will come to an end swiftly or ... 😓

https://edition.cnn.com/2020/02/05/business/shipping-coronavirus-impact/index.html

Everybody has to be worried if things get that bad that the only counter strategy is massive depreciation of currency.

On 2/8/2020 at 9:01 AM, Wt_know said:

if ah gong remove absd 

you will see people cheong showroom like cheong ntuc and empty the shelves .... lol

Reduce enough. No need to remove. Look at just a 3% reduction from 10% to 7% in 2017, it resulted in the infamous sledgehammer in 2018 from 7% to 12%. 

1 hour ago, Rskc said:

Reduce enough. No need to remove. Look at just a 3% reduction from 10% to 7% in 2017, it resulted in the infamous sledgehammer in 2018 from 7% to 12%. 

ABSD was never reduced from the onset. You might want to check the facts again.

The SSD was the only thing that was reduced.

1 hour ago, Showster said:

ABSD was never reduced from the onset. You might want to check the facts again.

The SSD was the only thing that was reduced.

You are correct. I mixed up  SSD and its holding period changes with the revision of ABSD from 7% to 12%. 

My bad.

11 hours ago, Rskc said:

You are correct. I mixed up  SSD and its holding period changes with the revision of ABSD from 7% to 12%. 

My bad.

ABSD is what's wrong to collect more .... there is only 1 way to go for ABSD

unless there is super duper glut of inventory and 0 sales per month

else ... ABSD is for those who can stomach it and buy more!

ABSD is also to curb stockpile ... without ABSD .... showster and friend probably each lup 10 units liao ... [laugh]  

buy buy buy ... that's your ticket to retirement .... huat ah!

Thereafter, the market recovers quickly and soar higher for 9 consecutive years, and average psf double up to $1,247 on average.

Got Mercs thread on property already leh. 

Why bother to dig up and create so many similar threads? People read so many similar threads also turn off. Just follow that thread will do. 

Why? Looking to switch investment? 

Still very shiok here. Just signed new tenancy at higher price, time machine to come back 2 years later. 

Sibor already dropped below 1%. 

But all the property gains likely used to top up stock losses. 

Edited by Showster

11 minutes ago, Throttle2 said:

Wow, one of the most popular threads in MCF went quiet for more than one whole f**king month.

now thats another new record 

It's a laggar mah, just like the real stuff. So that's why the stock market thread is the hottest now. This will be followed by the retrenchment thread in the next 6 months, then only afterwards is time for the property thread to come alive, probably towards end of year or 2021.