Fiat Ownership - Good and bad?

Mengster

Hi folks, 

probably feeling a tad suicidal or something but was wondering if any of you here owned fiats before?

I saw a listing for a used Fiat 500 manual and got me tingling abit. Was wondering if it is really as horrific as it was thought to have been?

Or perhaps in some ways, the drive and ownership is somewhat rewarding? or the tradeoffs perhaps? 

Some tips of the trade or some some? 

Any tip would be good. Thanks 

fiat_500c_convertible_1_2_pop_2dr_2015_f

Not sure how many giving the advice are Fiat owners or have owned a Fiat before. Don't think there are many left in this forum anyway.

This is my own personal experience so might not be the same for everyone.

I bought a brand new Punto Mk2b 1.3 Speedgear (CVT gearbox) from TTS in 2005. Drove it for 8 years, very problem free, only replaced the power steering in the 2nd year under warranty and shocks on the 6 or 7th year of ownership, can't remember exactly. Rest is just normal servicing every 10k at TTS for first 5 years then at Alfa Sportivo. Clocked about 130k on it. Considered very reliable to me.

Traded it in for a Alfa 159 2.2 JTS Selespeed in 2013. Quite a few problems but since you're asking about Fiat, no need to list down. Drove the Alfa until end of COE.

Now I'm back to a Fiat Punto Evo 1.4M, currently 8 years old. Having been driving it for more than 2 years, clocked over 40k on it so far. No part failures or problems so far, just normal servicing every 10k at Alfa Sportivo, plus did a major servicing at 160k last year. Also considered very reliable to me.

Maybe I'm just lucky with Fiat? [laugh]  You can PM me if you have more questions.

Edited by Easyrider

America Texas Youtube Mechanic "Scotty'' will say "NO". [thumbsdown]  :a-noway:  :a-t2622:

Scotty sometimes a bit biased leh, like kanna sue liao

but he is a joy to watch

I prefer Mat Watson for car reviews

Not sure how many giving the advice are Fiat owners or have owned a Fiat before. Don't think there are many left in this forum anyway.

I bought a brand new Punto Mk2b 1.3 Speedgear (CVT gearbox) from TTS in 2005. Drove it for 8 years, very problem free, only replaced the power steering in the 2nd year under warranty and shocks on the 6 or 7th year of ownership, can't remember exactly. Rest is just normal servicing every 10k at TTS for first 5 years then at Alfa Sportivo. Clocked about 130k on it. Considered very reliable to me.

Traded it in for a Alfa 159 2.2 JTS Selespeed in 2013. Quite a few problems but since you're asking about Fiat, no need to list down. Drove the Alfa until end of COE.

Now I'm back to a Fiat Punto Evo 1.4M, currently 8 years old. Having been driving it for more than 2 years, clocked over 40k on it so far. No part failures or problems so far, just normal servicing every 10k at Alfa Sportivo, plus did a major servicing at 160k last year. Also considered very reliable to me.

Maybe I'm just lucky with Fiat? [laugh]  You can PM me if you have more questions.

Thanks man.. think this is at least some bit of  beefing.. Envy your Punto and a manual too.. Congratulations. 

Used to drive a Punto for about 1 year. It was 9 years old and worked well except for 2 things:

1. Radiator was leaking, I had to fill it up every week. I don't think it's a Fiat problem.

2. It took a while to upshift from a cold start. Probably the start of some gearbox problem. If possible, I would put it into reverse and idle in the carpark for about a minute, then drive off. That helped to fix the problem until the next drive. It was a 9 year old car so you can say it survived until end of COE.

The only ppl giving u encouragement drive alfas. Good luck.

I owned the Alfa Sprint and Guiletta overseas b4. They were crap. Blame it on my misguided youth

Back in Sg years later, itchy backside (and short bout of amnesia), thot give tony italiano another chance. Went to checkout the firecracker Fiat Punto GT. It overheated during the test drive.....lol

I owned the Alfa Sprint and Guiletta overseas b4. They were crap. Blame it on my misguided youth

Back in Sg years later, itchy backside (and short bout of amnesia), thot give tony italiano another chance. Went to checkout the firecracker Fiat Punto GT. It overheated during the test drive.....lol

during a test drive? how hard were you drivint that thing? 

Got sent this.67921584_10156615547663269_3694672709314

LOL....

Punto GT of course drive it like i stole it lah. Otherwise why even bother w tony italiano?

LOL....

Punto GT of course drive it like i stole it lah. Otherwise why even bother w tony italiano?

Some people buy fast cars to drive slowly so people can see them in a fast and expensive car. 

I second the above.

Had a manual Fiat Uno during late 1990s - early 2000s.  If I recall correctly, it had no electric-powered windows, and an air con that was temperamental on rare occasions.  in the four odd years of ownership until it was scrapped, the only one time it broke down was when the plastic radiator hose broke (literally into two) and had zero coolant left - I don't remember much of it now, but quite an experience as I was on the highway and panicked when I noticed the engine temperature shooting straight from 1/3 hot to absolute red hot, complete with steam seeping out the front of the bonnet!  [laugh]

Otherwise, I would say the Fiat Uno was a trouble free and reliable car to own with no major issues.  The car was maintained like any other normal cars, serviced faithfully at every 10,000km at the usual mechanics (that weren't even Fiat specialist).  At that time, it was my 'pocket rocket' as the Uno was pretty light, yet feeling very fast considering its power-to-weight ratio.  Being small, it was zippy and easy to park.  Many a times, I drove it like it was stolen too.  Many good, fond memories of this little bugger  :D

If you have the car checked well prior your pulling the trigger, you should be fine.  It does sound like you have your heart settled on the Fiat, just trust your instincts and come back to share your experiences.  

Good luck!  [thumbsup]

I second the above.

Had a manual Fiat Uno during late 1990s - early 2000s.  If I recall correctly, it had no electric-powered windows, and an air con that was temperamental on rare occasions.  in the four odd years of ownership until it was scrapped, the only one time it broke down was when the plastic radiator hose broke (literally into two) and had zero coolant left - I don't remember much of it now, but quite an experience as I was on the highway and panicked when I noticed the engine temperature shooting straight from 1/3 hot to absolute red hot, complete with steam seeping out the front of the bonnet!  [laugh]

Otherwise, I would say the Fiat Uno was a trouble free and reliable car to own with no major issues.  The car was maintained like any other normal cars, serviced faithfully at every 10,000km at the usual mechanics (that weren't even Fiat specialist).  At that time, it was my 'pocket rocket' as the Uno was pretty light, yet feeling very fast considering its power-to-weight ratio.  Being small, it was zippy and easy to park.  Many a times, I drove it like it was stolen too.  Many good, fond memories of this little bugger  :D

If you have the car checked well prior your pulling the trigger, you should be fine.  It does sound like you have your heart settled on the Fiat, just trust your instincts and come back to share your experiences.  

Good luck!  [thumbsup]

Hi Verceroy,

I truly wish that I can let my heart lead the way. but the heartstrings and purestrings at constant tug-o-war it is a maddening situation. Really wish to sink into a feisty little fiat but think it looks pretty gloom as the wife has seen it and not impressed. gotta grovel quite abit more.. strange how the mini and fiat though similar in cache seem to be so different to so many people. 

I owned a Fiat Bravo T-jet for about 5 years. very good drive. FC was reasonable. 

Maintenance cost was ok cos I buy original parts from stockist for my servicing

one thing I encountered was that not many mechanics know how to service Fiat cars as its not common. initially some may not even know where the oil filter is located; so you as the owner need to learn and guide them 

Hi folks, 

probably feeling a tad suicidal or something but was wondering if any of you here owned fiats before?

I saw a listing for a used Fiat 500 manual and got me tingling abit. Was wondering if it is really as horrific as it was thought to have been?

Or perhaps in some ways, the drive and ownership is somewhat rewarding? or the tradeoffs perhaps? 

Some tips of the trade or some some? 

Any tip would be good. Thanks 

fiat_500c_convertible_1_2_pop_2dr_2015_f

I Google for the common issues this car has....

Summary of Problems 

Brakes
Electrics
Gearbox / clutch
Suspension

Other small parts give problem are driver side door handle breaks easily. True enough I saw the part to be one of the most popular on US amazon(What I read are UK reviews). Also saw power windows parts in amazon. Maybe all these fall under "electrics".

Enough said.

I Google for the common issues this car has....

Summary of Problems 

Brakes
Electrics
Gearbox / clutch
Suspension

Other small parts give problem are driver side door handle breaks easily. True enough I saw the part to be one of the most popular on US amazon(What I read are UK reviews). Also saw power windows parts in amazon. Maybe all these fall under "electrics".

Enough said.

Thanks man.. european cars have always had issues above.. though personally haven seen one with all of them. One of the many worries I guess.. To delve into it.. one must be really committed. 

Is there a Fiat and Alfa forum (Singapore) still?

I did a Google and didn't really see any.

Can try go talk to them if there is.

There is a Alfa Romeo facebook group called " The Serpent Pit" (many younger owner than the AROC).

I am not member.

if you like, you may try.

Hi Verceroy,

I truly wish that I can let my heart lead the way. but the heartstrings and purestrings at constant tug-o-war it is a maddening situation. Really wish to sink into a feisty little fiat but think it looks pretty gloom as the wife has seen it and not impressed. gotta grovel quite abit more.. strange how the mini and fiat though similar in cache seem to be so different to so many people. 

When Fiat 500 was launched by TTS in SG years back.... i was itchy bitchy too....but Head won over Heart.

Still turn my head when seeing a 500.

Hi Verceroy,

Wife don't approve = half the battle lost  [:p]

I had a MINI before too, can't say anything bad about it as I got it brand new and manual no less.  Friends whom had it did complain of the usual problems faced with MINI ownership, another headache altogether worthy of a new thread  [lipsrsealed]

Wife don't approve = half the battle lost  [:p]

I had a MINI before too, can't say anything bad about it as I got it brand new and manual no less.  Friends whom had it did complain of the usual problems faced with MINI ownership, another headache altogether worthy of a new thread  [lipsrsealed]

Tell me about it. Seen fair share of those before also. Just really wish to be able to get on the road with a ride that really sings and yet not feel too vanilla.